Bullhorn Technical Support Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Technical Support Analyst

Bullhorn Technical Support Analyst Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Bullhorn CEO Art Papas
Art Papas
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "An Almost Perfect Match"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work culture here is phenomenal! I finally "enjoy" going to work and my co-workers are amazing. We all have the same goals and have each others back. Such a welcome change from many previous companies I have worked for where you only looked after yourself. I was a little concerned when I started as a remote employee. There was a LOT of turn-over after they started their new fully remote position program... (October 2018). The expectations were not met initially. Management recognized the problem and quickly jumped in for action. They quickly made changes to reduce micro-management and overall employee morale. It is very obvious they care about their employees. Employees are encouraged to speak up when they spot issues and their feedback for potential solutions is very much heard and appreciated. I have never felt afraid to speak with anyone high up the "food chain" in the organization. The work is very challenging, and there is definitely a learning curve out of training to support their software (but they give you the tools to master it). I find the high volume of work interesting and never find myself bored! It's the worst feeling to go into work and feel bored out of your mind waiting for 5 and thinking "I have so many things I'd rather be doing". You definitely won't have that here. The benefits are top-notch! - Unlimited PTO: As long as your meeting your metrics, you can really use this benefit. As a support analyst, you get 10 reserved PTO days at the start of the year to pre-schedule time. After those 10 days, you can then request as much PTO as you need in a rolling 30 day period - Unplanned PTO: In support, in addition to the Unlimited PTO, you are given 10 unplanned "Life Happens" days (5 paid/5 unpaid). These are for sick days or issues that arise that are out of your control. These days can be used in 1/2 day increments. Be forewarned, once you use them all up, you are essentially turning in your immediate resignation. Your metrics are also not adjusted for time you take off, so also keep this in mind - Leave: Bullhorn offers generous FOUR-month fully-paid maternity and paternity leave. They encourage you to take the time you need to be well. They also have a very interactive process for any leave that does not fit the typical employee - Health Insurance: Bullhorn covers up to 90% of the medical insurance costs, as well as vision, life/disability, and retirement plans. The plan is very generous! - Giving back: You can take days off work paid quarterly to volunteer for causes you’re committed to - Extra Perks: If you work in one of their offices, free lunch on Wednesdays, free breakfast on Fridays, and monthly local outings. If you are a remote employee, they let you pick from 3 different "care packages". A very generous assortment of snacks, shirts, goodies, and a gift card each qtr - Remote: Even if you are primarily at one of their main offices, they will allow you to telecommute to assist with work/life balance - 401k: They match up to 3% if you contribute 6% - Performance-based bonus: Meet your metrics, and you can expect around 10-15% performance bonus. In support, you are judged on the following metrics: ** Adherence to Schedule - Operations assigns out your schedule, and this metric shows how well you match the mode you are scheduled to be in (inbound calls, backline time, meetings, breaks, lunches, etc. (They are currently running a pilot to do away with this goal as it was causing frustration for employees to have to enter so many "adjustments" when a call pushed you past your break/lunch etc.) ** Customer Satisfaction - How well you perform on customer surveys (there are some customers that can never be satisfied, management takes this into consideration and will remove a score that was not justified or if there was a legitimate error. ** Follow-on SLA - How you are meeting the service level agreement by responding to customers in a timely manner ** Quality - How you perform on your inbound calls and categorizing your tickets appropriately ** Ticket Closes - This metric is now adjusted for average ticket volume. It used to be a flat number and was not adjusted for actual volume until AFTER the end of the quarter. They have since changed the metric to reflect the average closes required based on the current average volume. This has tremendously helped with stress levels. For example, you might have been at 60% at the end of the qtr, only to be bumped up well past 100 after they adjusted for volume previously

    Show More

    Cons

    With the exception of the low salary, there are no real "cons" so to speak. Any I had initially are quickly being addressed. The salary is nothing to brag about (approx 15k lower than similar jobs). Granted they offset this a little with the benefits, expect a lower salary compared to other tech careers. They have mentioned they are doing another salary analysis, and it will be nice if changes are made. It's... unclear if there are any performance-based raises. As stated above, there is a LOT of work to be done. If you like to stay busy, you won't be bothered by this, but if you have issues with time management, you may struggle (even more so if you are remote) If you're brought on as a remote employee, you must be very self-disciplined. Not being able to run over to a co-worker for immediate assistance can be challenging, but if your creative and good at problem-solving, you will quickly overcome this. They are also implementing new programs to assist with this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more upfront in the interview process about what to expect. The work volume and skill level is much more intense then I was initially led to believe and is not in-line with salaries found elsewhere. I did take a pay cut to accept this job for the perks offered, but for the amount and level of work being performed, the salary should be substantially more. Continue listening to your support analysts. They are... the team that interacts with your clients the most. If they are stressed, it will show to the customers. Consider a longer training program and ease new hires in by stretching out the goal ramp a bit longer. Ease up on the QA metrics - While I understand every metric we are judged on is important, there are times when following the requirements does not make sense and makes for an awkward experience for the customer and analyst supporting them. Recapping a quick how-to (when the customer is receiving an e-mail recap anyway and you walked them step by step through the process) feels unnecessary.

    Show More
    Bullhorn2019-08-09

    Bullhorn Response

    August 13, 2019Chief People Officer

    We have been working hard - thank you for noticing.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job- Horrible Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the unlimited PTO, I love the perks and benefits of the job!

    Cons

    We are NOT paid enough for the amount of work we do. Even right now we’ve been extremely busy and taking over tickets for the London office and so many of us are overwhelmed. At this point, we have reached a pay/work inequity. The job is very complex. Even amazon pay $15 for their at home customer support agents and they aren’t doing anything near what we are doing. The truth is that I look for other jobs everyday... because I feel like I do way too much work for such little pay. Taking the unlimited pto can hurt your metrics because that time is not taken out for performance. Only one week per quarter. I feel so overworked right now and just need a damn break. I would feel much appreciated if we were actually paid fairly. Our competence level is nowhere near level 1. We are getting paid less than regular customer service positions in other companies. Support is the overworked backbone of this company. We keep your clients’ Software in order and we Keep them happy. Please consider the impact of Bullhorn without support and provide a better experience for your employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I did this interview because I remember Art saying in a meeting that he reads them. Well I am a current employee and although a lot of the issues in support have been addressed, we still feel overworked and underpaid. You all should really consider changing the aspects of the job descriptions, the requirements, the competency level, and the pay structure. Honestly, if I didn’t like the people and culture so much I... would have been left. Please please consider the aspects of the tier 1 support job and realize that this is a complex and complicated position in which the pay does not match appropriately. I understand the reasons for the high turnover rate. The duties of the ACTUAL job are far more advanced than what is initially believed.

    Show More
    Bullhorn2019-08-16

    Bullhorn Response

    October 11, 2019Senior Vice President, Global Support and Training

    We are in total agreement that Support is a key ingredient to Bullhorn's mission and our success. We also agree that we had opportunities with both job preparation and compensation. We are very excited about the recent compensation changes and training and onboarding enhancements that we have rolled out. If we are still missing the mark for you, please reach out to me directly so that we can work together to ensure this is an amazing work experience for you.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Looks Better on Paper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers: This is the entire reason I stayed at Bullhorn for two years. My teammates were some of the most hard-working, intelligent, and fun people I've ever met. Middle-Management: The immediate management at Bullhorn was made of the same stuff my teammates were. They were, again, fantastic. They truly cared about us as employees and did everything they could to make our experience positive. Progress... Views: Bullhorn tries hard to maintain a startup-esque environment. There is free food twice a week (1x breakfast and 1x lunch), weekly team events, plenty of time for team meetings and one-on-ones, balls to sit on, plenty of team-building events, drinking after hours, etc. Location: The immediate area around Bullhorn is rife with restaurants, parks, and nice scenario. It's not "in the city" but there is plenty to do if you want to take a walk on lunch or go somewhere to eat. Plus, there are tons of delivery options!

    Show More

    Cons

    Quick preface to the below cons: Bullhorn strongly encourages it's employees to present a positive face on social media. Many glowing reviews you see here are likely written by employees that were told to leave "wink wink honest" reviews on Glassdoor and other platforms about Bullhorn. Many employees do so because they love their immediate coworkers and immediate managers and/or think that a positive review will... further their position in the company. Unlimited PTO: When I was told this company had unlimited PTO, I'd never think I'd be listing it years later as a downside, but it is. Because your bonuses are performance based, you are "allotted" two days of PTO per quarter. Generally speaking, because the workload was so high from day to day, I felt that every quarter I had to make a decision: my bonus or my PTO. I was a high-performing member of the team and frequently maxed out my bonus, but if I took more than 3-4 days of PTO in a row it was not possible to meet those metrics. Workload: The company is in an eternal cycle of being understaffed. Each wave of new employees has been recruited under a different criteria. One batch might be customer-service focused and unable to handle the technical aspects of the job... The next batch will be technically minded but unable to properly communicate with customers. As a result, the turnover is very high and it wasn't uncommon to see half of a new training class disappear within a month of hitting the floor. This creates an endless cycle of "too much work" for employees that do decide to stay. Upper Management: There were one or two members of upper management who truly cared about staff. However, for every good member of management there was an extremely poor one. Several members of upper management came off like "used car salesmen," constantly lying and misconstruing the gravity of situations. In one particularly stand-out instance, the decision was made to fire several developers as we were over-staffed on the development side. After firing people we all knew, a member of upper management came out on to the floor and assured us that we'd still be getting free lunch once a week. At a company where coworkers are often good friends, this really highlighted how un-empathetic and out of touch these people were with their staff members. Upwards Technical Movement: Much like many call centers, if you start out in the 'call center' technical support role and want to be a manager, you'll have an easy enough path to get there. However, Customer Support is like an island that you can't get off of. There are no boats on the island and you better bet the other departments aren't coming over to Support Island with a boat even if your life depends on it. You can move into an L2 role from Support, but it's still a support role and it's also a thankless and overworked job. If you're wanting to become a developer or move into any more technical role, please trust me when I say this is NOT the place to do it. Additionally, as others have mentioned, I also had the unpleasant experience of finding men ALWAYS seemed to get promotions before women did.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work out the kinks between your departments: staff shouldn't be stuck in a single role forever because someone in upper management "burned a bridge" long ago with another team. Every member of upper-management should be figuratively on the same team: Bullhorn. The rifts between departments are causing you to lose incredible talent and leaving your lower-level employees feeling burnt out and hopeless.... Additionally, don't hire upper management just because they have an impressive resume with a larger corporation. Multiple years of experience with a larger corporation doesn't mean that person was or ever will be a good manager. Let them interact with their staff and make sure they have an actual soul before you decide they should be part of the company.

    Show More
    Bullhorn2019-05-29

    Bullhorn Response

    May 31, 2019Chief People Officer

    We are committed to delivering an incredible customer experience and, as the foundation, to delivering an incredible employee experience. Based on your comments, it would appear that we missed the mark for you. There is a significant gap between your concerns and our data: - Our capacity plans are modeled around our Tier 1s taking 1 week off per quarter; our employees actually average taking more than 1-week per quarter - The majority of our employees hit their bonus, with many achieving additional compensation, on a quarterly basis - Over the last year and a half over half of our Tier 1s have been promoted with many going to other departments outside of Support such as Development, Information Technology, Professional Services, and Sales While we have had many female promotions, it remains an important area of focus for me. We recently launched a mentoring program to assist all employees in realizing their career goals. I would welcome the opportunity to connect with you and learn from your experience. If you are interested, please reach out at kcastelda@bullhorn.com

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Tier 1 Shiz Show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Support Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn

    Pros

    Work from home. And... Yeah that's about it.

    Cons

    Training will not get you ready for the job. The main theme of training is do it yourself or you can't do the job. I understand the logic behind training your employees to be self sufficient but there's a huge difference between guiding your employees and being completely hands off. After shadowing a few tier 1s the overall consensus is this is a very stressful environment. The information is overwhelming and... even then you are just scratching the surface.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Properly train your tier 1s. Re-think the training process.

    Bullhorn2019-05-31

    Bullhorn Response

    May 31, 2019Senior Vice President, Client Services & Support

    Our Tier 1 role is a complex job. Due to the numerous variables with our customers (configuration and integrations), it is not possible to cover all of the potential interactions in training. Rather, we focus on investing in providing our Analysts with strong base knowledge, a robust knowledge management system, and on the job training and development. As the role has evolved, we are in agreement that there is a need to enhance our training approach. We are in the process of finalizing a revised nesting approach to double the length of nesting from 3 to 6 weeks. I value you as an employee and am committed to ensuring you have the support needed for you to succeed and thrive at Bullhorn. Please reach out to me directly at jr.stricker@bullhorn.com and I will personally engage to address this opportunity.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Disappointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, very nice people who mean well.

    Cons

    Leadership young. Was shocked when the F bomb coming out of the mouth of people. Unprofessional. Lacked depth and empathy that more life experience tends to bring.

    Advice to Management

    I have reached out to Art to discuss. I do hope he contacts me for some constructive feedback.

    Bullhorn2018-12-28

    Bullhorn Response

    January 8, 2019Leader and Talent Business Partner

    I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way about your experience at Bullhorn. I'd like to learn more about the incident your referenced. Can we please talk? megan.butler@bullhorn.com

  6. Helpful (12)

    "Company is great...if you're not a Tier 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are AMAZING Office vibe off the Tier 1 floor is great

    Cons

    HR won't do anything to help you get unplanned time for a medical necessity without using one of your call offs if operations declines your request for PTO Depending on the product you support, you're taking calls for something that is in a constant broken state. With certain products being forever broken, when you get cross trained you have to manage ticket queues of well over 40 as well as take calls for 8... hours a day because of hold times leaving you with no option but working overtime to get things done. If you don't keep up with everything, your supervisor will message you constantly asking for updates on tickets despite being on calls. There is no communication between leadership and Tier 1. Most things are kept secret, and it makes the floor feel like nothing is being done - especially when things get progressively worse. If leaders cannot relate to your situation, they will talk down on you and make you feel like less of a person because you don't meet their description of "normal"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the floor. The blow of most issues the floor is experiencing can be softened by keeping them updated on your decisions. Training for supervisors and leads on how to handle various issues an employee may being up is also something that should be considered, but communication with the floor needs to be addressed first.

    Bullhorn2018-08-29

    Bullhorn Response

    August 31, 2018VP of Support & General Manager

    As someone who started their career in T1, and who is now responsible for leading the T1 team - your comments concern me. While the majority of the feedback we receive is positive, it's really important to me, the company, and our culture that we learn from where we may have gone wrong. I want to hear your feedback. If you're comfortable, please reach out to me so we can have a discussion.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Could be a fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers. This is a great place to get started if you lack real-world technical experience.

    Cons

    The pay is below-market. Inter-departmental communication is lacking. The sales and third-party implementation teams don't have a clear understanding of product functionality, leading to dissatisfied customers and unnecessary technical support interactions.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication. Make sure third-party vendors know what they are selling and implementing. Retain good employees.

    Bullhorn2017-08-11

    Bullhorn Response

    August 11, 2017Director, Talent Acquisition

    One of the "pros" we often get is the ability every employee at Bullhorn has to make an impact. As a Technical Support Analyst, you're getting first-hand feedback from our customers- share it! If you're encountering problems that are due to implementation or sales errors, escalate it and help us figure out how to fix these. Take your own steps toward improving communication internally. We all have the power to improve our customer (and our employee) experience.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bullhorn Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only been working for Bullhorn for a little over 6 months now but from the time that I have started, I have seen nothing but the utmost importance placed on the work environment and happiness of its employees. While maintaining a professional environment, Bullhorn has found a way to make sure that employees, no matter what their roll, feel part of the team and that their ideas and concerns are heard. Weekly... one on ones and team meetings address updates and take feedback on all these updates from employees who are working with clients the most. Leadership works to develop your career within Bullhorn and helps decide what can be done to work toward your short term and long term goals within Bullhorn. Weekly free lunches, breakfasts, and monthly happy hours for the whole company to network and relax shows that Bullhorn is willing to invest in the happiness and mental health of their employees. And none of that is to mention the average satisfaction of our customers being at an abnormally high level which goes to show the quality of the training and leadership that goes into the daily functioning of Bullhorn. I have been very happy with Bullhorn in these first 6 months, and I hope to make it a long and happy career!

    Show More

    Cons

    I have thought long an hard about any downsides to life at Bullhorn and I have yet to think of any. The benefits are too good?

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing in caring about your employees and their future.

    Bullhorn2017-06-08

    Bullhorn Response

    June 20, 2017Director, Talent Acquisition

    So awesome that you recognize the correlation between the happiness of our customers and the happiness of all us employees: it truly is a cycle! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review :)

  9. "Challenging and"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gaining the plethora of knowledge that comes with the intricacies of the technical questions, issues, and requests that come with the CRM

    Cons

    There are hard set expectations that come with a support analyst role. This can be highly stressful and times with high call volume.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be as laid as possible while maintaining reasonable expectations.

    Bullhorn2017-04-28

    Bullhorn Response

    June 20, 2017Director, Talent Acquisition

    Being a Tech Support Analyst at Bullhorn means you are a product guru, and I'm so glad to see all that knowledge gained as a "pro!" We know it can be a stressful job at times; thanks for all you do!

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Fun Environment/People, poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Clayton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bullhorn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are really fun to work with and we get good benefits and there are perks such as lunch on Wednesday and breakfast on Friday. We go out for drinks on the company every first Thursday of a month.

    Cons

    A little too driven on experience when promoting. For younger people with little to no experience, it feels hard to make solid moves within the organization. Pay is low for the work we are expected to perform. The job can feel like a call center from time to time.

    Advice to Management

    Push for the advancement of your younger, brighter employees as their experience and drive at a young age is strong and deserving.

    Bullhorn2016-10-06

    Bullhorn Response

    October 7, 2016Talent Acquisition Manager

    Promotions aren't awarded from time in role, but from becoming an expert at mastering various situations and issues- many of which you'll only experience as you gain tenure in your position. If there are certain skills that you notice those being promoted have, talk to your Supervisor about how you can work on those. We're happy you enjoy the environment and people (Bullhorn employees are the best!) Keep working hard and raising your hand for new things.

    Show Less
Found 17 reviews