Cover image for Bunge North America
Logo

Bunge North America

Is this your company?

Bunge North America

Add a Review

Bunge North America Employee Reviews about "bunge"

Updated Sep 29, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 343 of over 343 reviews
3.7
62% Recommend to a Friend
Bunge North America CEO Todd A. Bastean
75% Approve of CEO

Found 7 of over 343 reviews

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Bunge North America CEO Todd A. Bastean
Todd A. Bastean
118 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and many ways to grow in the company(in 31 reviews)
  • "I guess the pay is good...(in 29 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and for.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Competitive salary, not very diverse, hire the same type of people(in 10 reviews)
  • "safety is number 1(in 8 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bunge North America and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "bunge"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Operations Superintendent- Bunge respects and is good to their people!

    Aug 27, 2019 - Superintendent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great PTO policy! They respect their operations teams and were very nice to work for. If you're not being treated right I highly recommend giving Bunge a chance.

    Cons

    Only one is they do expect a little more of their Superintendent than the competition but if you're a hard worker, I wouldn't let this stop me.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Unpaid Bunge Living incentive

    Jun 11, 2021 - Packing Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers are decent to work with when they are not playing on their cell phones.

    Cons

    Human Resources has been inefficient since my first paycheck! I was shorted money right from the beginning. These people think they are better than everyone else when they cannot do their jobs right to save their lives. I have had to fight for my Bunge Living Wellness incentive pay for the last two years. I try my hardest to stay away from them, but when you have issues like this, you have to do something. Then there are the Supervisors who think just like the people in HR! I also try my best to stay away from these individuals. When I went to work there, I was told I would be working 2 weeks nights, 2 weeks days. That is a huge lie just like the Bunge Living Wellness incentive is!! I work 4-5 weeks nights and 1 week days. It has been this way for about 8 months. DO NOT BELIEVE A WORD THAT COMES OUT OF ANYBODY'S MOUTH THAT IS A SALARIED EMPLOYEE, THEY ARE ALL LYING BACKSTABERS

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Bunge North America team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Bunge review

    Sep 29, 2021 - Supply Chain Coordinator in Chesterfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros of Bunge are the pay and benefits.

    Cons

    The cons of Bunge are you are overworked, overwhelmed, and micromanaged. You also only get to work from home 1 day a week IF your manager approves of it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Over view on Bunge

    Mar 17, 2021 - Merchandiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule -Great people to work with -opportunity to grow

    Cons

    -Not exactly a con but it is.. Bunge is so big that some trucks coming through get angry about waiting in line.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    COVID-19

    Mar 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chesterfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about Bunge is their atmosphere.

    Cons

    Bunge is not being proactive during the COVID-19 Pandemic. We are in a building with probably over 300 people, I have not seen a Lysol spray, or wipes in sight. The only hand sanitizers are one machine on each floor by the steps. Bunge should have provided more product from the very beginning of this outbreak. Not only that Bunge does not have their best interest for their employees. We are a global headquarters and they hosted a board meeting with people from all over to come into our office and potentially expose us. Bunge PREACHES SAFETY yet this is NOT safe for any of their employees. Not only do they still want us to come into the office with over 50 employees every single day, I have not even seen our building get sanitized once!!!! We have the ability to work from home, they need to utilize it before there is a massive outbreak in our office. Bunge needs to be like other companies world wide and help stop the spread! There is no reason to put their employees, and employees families at risk for this deadly virus.

    11 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Place is a sinking ship

    Oct 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -nice people for the most part, then again so is most of the ag industry - safety oriented culture - global footprint, cool to be able to see how the different parts of the company interact -chance to work with international people from around the globe, just dont expect to travel yourself because you are just lucky to have a job! -random t-shirt fridays!

    Cons

    -Bunge is falling on hard times. Have seen several rounds of layoffs in the St. Louis office and on different days of the week. Probably twice a month now -Penny pinching culture, no Christmas party this year -Depressing environment, people seems to be very gloomy about their job prospects, know of 5 people who were let go within the past month who did their jobs well -limited opportunities to advance. Bunge BNA does not train traders, they train worker bees. They company has a massive need to refill the older generation that is retiring, particularly in the rural areas. That's where they send all the young BNA trainees, expect to work there for years before you get a shot to move up -Plenty of older managers who just are not cut out for the day and age, backwards mentality, old boys club. People openly hope Glencore buys out Bunge and fires the lot of them -company pays below competition with the logic that "you should be thankful to even have a job here". - I'm not really sure what HR does besides fire people, seems to be a more and more common occurrence.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    At first it was an excellent company to work for.

    Jun 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are good people working here. Good lunches and breakfasts.

    Cons

    At first it was an excellent company to work for. Good team work, human quality between workers and managers felt good because there was at least respect. This has been deteriorating over time with the new Management. The "Management" today is manipulated by two or three people who have access to power and display favoritism in the decisions. These people only care about their own benefit and not the welfare of the company. HR practically does nothing. Allows tardiness (starting with own tardiness), absences, and even lies about absences of certain people. HR does absolutely nothing regarding the unjust dismissal of people. Personnel turnover is very high. There is no room for personal growth. The work is hard because all of the changes in the processes, the outsourcing of activities, the high personnel turnover, and the lack of training, but most importantly because there is no transparency or communication. Working hours are long and the pay is not enough. There is no work/life balance. Worst of all is that nobody cares. Managers are there only to further personal careers within or outside Bunge in the period of 2 to 3 years, regardless of the mess they leave behind.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Quick Money In A Short Amount Of Time

    Apr 2, 2014 - Seasonal Grain Sorter in Greenville, MS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The coworkers I had were an excellent group of people from all walks of life and working this job taught me life lessons that I will never forget. Being a full time college student, working at Bunge taught me excellent time management skills and also gave me a keen interest in knowing where the food I ate came from. This also made me want to perform even better because I knew the grain that I came in contact with would effect somebody's child and or family member as well as my own

    Cons

    Extremely long hours during harvest season and a fast paced job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lame

    Jun 2, 2016 - Operator in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not much to speak of. I guess the pay is good...

    Cons

    Management does nothing about the people that do nothing. In fact, those people just happen to be the bunge "pets." They cater to only certain people and if you are not those people, you will not receive "pet" perks, including but not limited to...making your own schedule and having vaca days just whenever you feel like it. Some members of management treat people of the opposite sex unfairly. Maintenance...if that's what you wish to call them...do nothing about faulty equipment unless it's completely broke down. They let people who are not American citizens run American plants...possibly into the ground. Some special people get away with not doing their housekeeping duties while others are forced into doing theirs AND everyone else's. Got plans after work? Cancel em cause if your relief doesn't come in, get ready to settle into your chair for the next 8 hours. I hope you brought a book. Or two. And don't be surprised if it happens the next day too. Always bring enough food for a 16 hour shift. Always be prepared. Always.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Bunge is a good place to work.

    Sep 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people at Bunge. The benefits are really good. The new building has a lot of great amenities.

    Cons

    A lot of uncertainty in some groups due to cost cutting. The persistent rumors about a potential sale of the company also adds concerns.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Bunge North America Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bunge North America? Share Your Experiences

Bunge North America logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Bunge North America Photos

+ Add Photo
Bunge North America photo of: Bunge in the winter, top parking garage
Bunge North America photo of: Plant View

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Bunge LimitedBunge Milling, Inc.Bunge Latin America LLC

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Bunge North America Job Seekers Also Viewed

Bunge Limited Logo
Bunge Limited

4.1

835 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 343 Bunge North America reviews submitted anonymously by Bunge North America employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Bunge North America is right for you.