Bunker Reviews | Glassdoor

Bunker Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bunker CEO Chad Nitschke
Chad Nitschke
10 Ratings
  1. "An awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bunker is an incredibly fun, collaborative, and supportive place to work. The culture is very welcoming, and everyone is always friendly and engaging. Other pros include: - Modern, well-equipped open office in downtown Madison. - Supportive, team-oriented environment. - Strong and approachable leadership. - Freedom to learn and try new things.

    Cons

    Startup environment can be intense and fast paced, but that is to be expected and not at all a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. The transparency and frequent updates regarding the company's plan and direction are very appreciated.

    Bunker2019-02-27

    Bunker Response

    March 1, 2019Office Manager

    Thank you for your advice to management! We appreciate the feedback!

  2. "By far the best place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Autonomy in my work; Bunker allows me to try and fail, learn from my mistakes, and continue on. We aren't afraid to try new things and to dive right in. -Culture; we have an open office concept that encourages collaboration with plenty of spaces to have quiet time if you need it. We balance working hard with having fun. -Benefits; all the basics plus unlimited PTO, 401k, commuter benefits, stock options, FSA, a stocked...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Moving at a fast start up pace, but that's half the fun.

    Bunker2019-02-27
  3. "Fantastic company on track to grow exponentially!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great communication and collaboration across internal groups - Lots of autonomy and flexibility in schedule, work style - Open communication of company position and goals - Fun, open office culture

    Cons

    - Things move very quickly(typical with startups)

    Bunker2019-02-26
  4. "Awesome Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Bunker has an awesome team culture, it is very transparent and their is great cross-collaboration between the teams. We are all clearly driving for the same goals.

    Cons

    Not a con for me - but fast paced (it is a startup)

    Bunker2019-02-13
  5. "Modern Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Bunker has an open office where collaboration is welcomed (even between departments) in downtown Madison. There isn't a ton of red tape to go through when trying to get a task done, management is open to new ideas and processes. Another advantage of this is that the tech stack is very up to date and time is put in to knock down technical debt along side new features.

    Cons

    We're still trying to figure out all of the right processes (not necessarily a bad thing) but that seems to be an ever evolving process.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on. The openness and trusting attitude really helps the creative juices flow.

    Bunker2018-07-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time

    Pros

    A good culture is a priority and staff are given freedom and autonomy. They hire good people and trust them to do their jobs without the politics and micromanagement that I have found elsewhere. Everyone respects one another and is given opportunities to contribute. There is also a lot of opportunity to grow and learn. Also GREAT benefits: Employer Paid Healthcare, unlimited PTO, 401k, Disability/Life Insurance, lots...

    Show More

    Cons

    Its a startup so things move very quickly, that can sometime be a struggle for some people. Also, things are very agile and flexibility is key so anyone who has trouble picking up new skills or adapting quickly could feel very uncomfortable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on the big picture and overall goals and stay out of the weeds. Also, keep looking for opportunities to diversify staff overall.

    Bunker2018-06-27

    Bunker Response

    March 1, 2019Office Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give this advice to management. We appreciate the feedback!

  7. "Great Startup Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly environment Talented co-workers Great management Transparency / Openness Modern tech stack Great Location and office setup Great flexibility

    Cons

    Not truly a con, but as a growing startup, a lot of times you are the only person responsible for certain aspects of the tech. This requires every employee be responsible and take ownership over his / her work. If you're ready to jump into new challenges and tackle problems head-on while working with other talented team members, you will love it. I've seen former employees struggle with this as they weren't able to take...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The openness and transparency is really appreciated.

    Bunker2018-06-06
  8. "Great Insurtech Startup in Madison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Office culture is very good. Feels like a startup from the office decor to the innovative ideas to the communication styles. - The company is going after a segment of insurance that has a lot of opportunity for disruption. - The CEO is very passionate about the success of Bunker. He built it from scratch into a venture-backed company. - Nobody stops good ideas. If someone has an experimental approach to try,...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Like all startups, business processes are still being developed. This can also be a good thing as there aren't administrative hoops to jump through.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting the Bunker brand whenever possible. There are a lot of opportunities to disrupt the legacy commercial insurance world.

    Bunker2018-06-06
  9. "Transparency!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun work environment, flexible, passionate employees and very transparent leadership.

    Cons

    Joe needs to make more breakfast sandwiches...all day, every day :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work sharing our roadmaps, goals and investor decks. Very helpful.

    Bunker2018-02-12
  10. "Bunker - It Will Change The Way You Think About Work/Mondays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bunker full-time

    Pros

    Great Work Environment - Casual, Fast-paced, Energetic, Employer Paid Healthcare, Company Ownership, 401(k), Good People

    Cons

    Insurance is actually more fun than it sounds.

    Bunker2018-02-12
Found 10 reviews