Bureau Veritas Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Bureau Veritas Directeur Général Didier Michaud-Daniel
Didier Michaud-Daniel
203 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Though hours which does not give the employee a good work/life balance(in 27 reviews)

  • "Low Salary to previous employees(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love this job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building Inspector in Carson City, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bureau Veritas part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work on my own, using my own car, knowledge, and tools. I feel that I am wanted and trusted.

    Cons

    Being part time I don't get health benefits.

    Bureau Veritas2019-12-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "not a good company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time

    Pros

    benefit package was ok and the hours were good

    Cons

    pay was not good and they did not care about their employees

    Bureau Veritas2020-05-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disorganized, Bad Communication, Lousy Benefits"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No micro managing. Good pay. Opportunity to experience a large variety of accounting circumstances in a large company.

    Cons

    Complete lack of organization, guidance, training, review. Fires to put out on a daily basis. Bad attitude of treasury/AP/AR teams; lack of response to any requests

    Bureau Veritas2020-04-09
  4. "Not a long-term employer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Division Manager in Houston, TX
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun team to work with

    Cons

    Too much of the good ol' boy mentality.

    Bureau Veritas2020-03-09
  5. "Pretty good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Pasadena, TX

    I have been working at Bureau Veritas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started with this company (Inspectorate Pasadena TX) last year. So far I’ve noticed a huge difference in company culture compared to a previous competitor I worked for that has been overall positive. I enjoy the people and management I work for. Hours are pretty standard for third party labs in the area go, and the on call schedule is pretty fair.

    Cons

    Not much room in my current position for movement upwards, although direct manager has expressed that transferring to another lab within the company for a better position is permissible once I’ve been with the company long enough. Pay scale is typical for third party lab & inspection, which isn’t the greatest. But it’s on par with local pay with competitors.

    Continue reading
    Bureau Veritas2020-02-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "good coworkers, low pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training and learning opportunities, pleasant people to work with and learn from. Good place for a short term entry level job. The schedule is flexible if you're interested having a work life balance.

    Cons

    The management is poor and does not communicate with company employees about business decisions and policy changes. The pay is very low, below industry average for a lab tech/chemist. (starting ~$11/hr) No potential career growth or advancement opportunities. High employee turnover rate, so whenever an employee leaves, the management just divides up the work among less number of employees instead of hiring new people. Lack of sufficient resources to perform daily tasks and complete projects on time.

    Continue reading
    Bureau Veritas2020-02-21
  7. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analytical Chemist in Lake Zurich, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Location, Nice Coworker,Nice Lab

    Cons

    Bad Management,Not able to develop business

    Continue reading
    Bureau Veritas2020-02-05
  8. "Awful company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some talented and good people - unfortunately not at top management levels.

    Cons

    Poor communication, no long term strategy - everything is about how to make money today. A lot of positive messaging outwardly but not reflected at in daily operations - terrible culture to work in. Over 2yrs time I kept waiting for it to get better and it only got worse. It was a relief to done with them.

    Bureau Veritas2020-02-12
  9. "Used to be a good company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in East Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Absolutely none to report. Not anymore.

    Cons

    The CTD division of Bureau Veritas is going belly up due to atrocious mismanagement at the corporate office. I was proud to be employed there for many years when it was run by experienced inspection people. then Bureau Veritas bought them and not knowing what we do for a living, started hiring people at the corp office who had no clue as to what we did. the result, bad decisions, bad support. we called the corp office the "Black Hole" because we would call for assistance from one of the branch offices, , and they would rarely call back. The role of the corp office is to provide assitance and support to the branch offices (the ones that generate the revenue!) so they can make money. If your a support team that dosn't support, that does not bode well for the company. When the support team thinks that they are the company and neglect the people that actually go out and make the revenue, they have forgotten which side their bread is buttered on, and you are TOAST as a conpany. Their arrogant attitude has driven the compnay into the ground. its a shame because the corp team was the best in the business 15 yrs ago. The other issue, a startup competitor, AMSPEC, opened shop a few years back and our company did not take them seriously. Well, guess who is #1 now and guess who is closing offices? Again...what a shame, mismanagement and corp arrogance. And the very people who ,made all the bad decisions received golden parachutes payments while the rest of us, just as loyal and just as tenured, got a few weeks severance and need to sell our houses. Welcome to the harsh reality :)

    Continue reading
    Bureau Veritas2020-02-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "No Consistency with Management and HR keeps having huge turnovers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bureau Veritas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the people I worked with are great.

    Cons

    No work life balance, HR department has turned over multiple times, upper management does not have a clue what is going on. The systems are outdated and there is no management support. Natalia Shuman should spend more time identifying why the turnover is so high and work harder to bring their systems up to date.

    Continue reading
    Bureau Veritas2020-01-11
Found 717 reviews