Burke Williams Reviews | Glassdoor

Burke Williams Reviews

Updated March 31, 2019
164 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Burke Williams Owner and CEO Bill Armour
Bill Armour
95 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "We get free massages and facials" (in 15 reviews)

  • "Wellness program that protects you from injury and allows you to receive massages regularly from some of the best therapists on earth" (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay; pay scale constantly changes" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper management has an issue in communicating with each other" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "LOVE Burke!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Licensed Massage Therapist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burke Williams full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have been a MT at the San Francisco location for over 5 years and I can't imagine working anywhere else. Yes, there have been a lot of changes over the years however what I find most important stays the same. They care about their employees and it's truly a family environment.

    Cons

    I have no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the opportunities for growth. I love that you promote from within and if I ever had any interest in management, it would be for BW.

    Burke Williams Response

    Apr 2, 2019 – Corporate HR manager

    Dear employee,

    Thank you for being a part of our team! We look forward to your continued growth at Burke Williams.


  2. "Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burke Williams full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful culture, really does become your second family. Has a true vision of great care for their staff and guests. Great place for personal and professional growth and to establish yourself. Many Opportunities to grow within the company. Great management who are open to suggestions toward solutions.

    Cons

    could use more resources to accomplish facility goals.
    some structures that are in place slow down the process to get results.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be the employer of choice in this industry.

    Burke Williams Response

    Apr 2, 2019 – Corporate HR manager

    Dear employee,

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear from our long standing team members and we sincerely thank you for over 10 years of commitment to Burke... More

  3. "Wonderful Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Massage Therapist and In House Trainer
    Former Employee - Massage Therapist and In House Trainer
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burke Williams full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Coworkers. Management. Systems. Group health insurance option. 401 K option. Direct deposit. In house training. Room for growth (if interested in management). Family owned (BW is not a franchise). Opportunity to transfer and work in different parts of California. Beautiful Santa Monica is where I started before transferring to gorgeous San Francisco. Then, eventually ending in charming Pasadena.

    Cons

    None... Other than I wish we had one in Sacramento.

    Burke Williams Response

    Mar 25, 2019 – Corporate HR manager

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your time at not only one, but three different locations within Burke Williams. Wishing you the best of... More


  4. "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Santa Monica, CA
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burke Williams full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    leaving work, none, none, none

    Cons

    Lies, Overworked, Underpaid, Inflexible, Rude

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, y'all should be ashamed of yourselves. You know what you're doing. Stop the corruption and actually pay your employees what they deserve.

    Burke Williams Response

    Mar 14, 2019 – Corporate HR manager

    Dear past employee,

    We truly appreciate your feedback, as listening to our past employees is one of the many ways in which we grow.

    While we're sorry we weren't the best match for you, please... More


  5. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burke Williams full-time

    Pros

    Stable ,some room for growth

    Cons

    Stuck in their old way

    Burke Williams Response

    Apr 8, 2019 – Corporate HR manager

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review with us! We look forward to addressing your suggestions. We also invite you to discuss these suggestions with a manager or our corporate team.


  6. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Burke Williams full-time

    Pros

    Supportive team, good pay, relaxing

    Cons

    Slow, not busy enough. Can be busier

    Burke Williams Response

    Feb 11, 2019 – Corporate HR manager

    Thank you for continued employment! It's great to hear you enjoy coming to work, and feel supported. We enjoy having you as part of our team.


  7. "Boo!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nail Technician in Woodland Hills, CA
    Former Employee - Nail Technician in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burke Williams full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -They train you to be great at your job.
    -Free massages and other treatments.
    -You meet great people.

    Cons

    -Health Benefits are pricey.
    -Most management are unfit for their roles

    Advice to Management

    Working at The Woodland Hills location was awful! Having passive aggressive management was not helpful at all. I came in to work and did my best. I felt like my work went unnoticed. No accountability in our department. Most of the nail techs were all bitter I think due to
    nobody caring about the nail care department. If they only made things fun and gave us incentives.
    Whenever the owner of the company showed up management always got to have a nice lunch and the rest of the team got nothing or got some crappy food.
    There is good and bad in this company but there is definitely a feeling of segregation. Management is the elite even if they don’t dress well. Hopefully you guys find a way to make the spa a more positive place to work at! It is a luxury spa after all!

  8. "Guest Services- Henderson Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Agent in Henderson, NV
    Former Employee - Guest Service Agent in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burke Williams full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good health benefits, free massages/facials (if you drive to California), advancement opportunities, transparency from upper management, you can read books when you're not on the phone, free parking, training provided, TONS of training materials.

    Cons

    LOTS of things to learn and memorize---you take reservations for a spa with 10 locations, lots of different treatments and specials etc and you have to know enough to at least sound like you know what you're talking about when you're talking to a guest on the phone!!! If you don't practice EVERYDAY it's easy to forget things/make mistakes. High turn-over. Some people gossip. Dirty bathrooms (especially on the weekend...eeewww). Bad lighting. No direct deposit.

    Advice to Management

    Get direct deposit.

    Burke Williams Response

    Dec 22, 2018 – Assistant Facility Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! Our training program is designed to provide all employees with the tools they need to be successful on the phone. We want each employee hired to know that we are here for... More


  9. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burke Williams full-time

    Pros

    The most enjoyable Company that I have worked for. There are opportunities for growth within the company and upper management definitely is there to encourage. I enjoy coming to work, and it feels like one big family. I hope to work here for a long time

    Cons

    Does not offer paid Holidays.


  10. "Great Place to Work! Love It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burke Williams full-time

    Pros

    Great Schedules, very understanding managers, positive place to work. Feels like Family!!

    Cons

    Does not offer paid Holidays