Burke's Outlet Reviews | Glassdoor

Burke's Outlet Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Burke's Outlet CEO Stephen M Knopik
Stephen M Knopik
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule if your a student(in 9 reviews)

  • "Easy job, great discounts on merchandise, flexible schedule(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay started out at minimum wage, upper management was disorganized- changing things to only come back and chsnge them again in a month(in 8 reviews)

  • "You constantly get griped on about getting credit cards, getting(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Jacksonville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burke's Outlet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good schedule good pay clean store

    Cons

    schedule changes constantlyl without notice

    Burke's Outlet2018-08-22
  2. "Do not WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Burke's Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    paid time off for part time

    Cons

    worst management and upper management ever! its all about favorites and they dont pay you enough to care about anything in the store

    Advice to Management

    ACTUALLY CARE ABOUT YOUR EMPLOYEES

    Burke's Outlet2019-06-11
  3. "“Nice people, not going up”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burke's Outlet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, During summer hours are good. Work with some really nice people

    Cons

    One or two days during winter hours maybe three, they do have favorites, so unless you are one your not gonna go up in promoting. Your working with someone who has a severe ego.

    Advice to Management

    Better management. And needs to listen to employees. Nicer and team work,

    Burke's Outlet2019-05-05
  4. "Solid Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burke's Outlet part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've always gotten along well with my manager, supervisors, and other associates. The work isn't difficult, and the tasks are (usually) distributed evenly. A bonus is that the starting pay is little above some other retail places. Overall, I've had a great experience working at Burkes.

    Cons

    This might just be a personal concern, but there's no communication directly to the employees from corporate. Not even a monthly email newsletter. Everything employees need to know is sent to the manager, but if the manager forgets to tell you something, then you're completely out of the loop.

    Burke's Outlet2019-04-22
  5. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Victoria, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burke's Outlet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members were good to work with

    Cons

    Make sure you work with good and responsible people Bad management

    Burke's Outlet2019-04-25
  6. "Just the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Murphy, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burke's Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% Discount on everything in the store.

    Cons

    Disorganized management No incentives to get people to sign up for credit cards Managers lie to you Your availability doesn't matter to them, they'll schedule you for anytime even when you're not available. Customers are pretty much allowed to destroy the store and we aren't allowed to say anything. They'll make you work night shift and then have you open early in the morning.

    Advice to Management

    Just get your act together and care more about your employees. They aren't your slaves.

    Burke's Outlet2019-03-26
  7. "Not a very good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Crossville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burke's Outlet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The General Manager that I have/had (i will quit soon as will he) was very easy going and easy to work with. He would be very willing to work with me on the schedule. And would do what he could to give me the days off that I would request. At first all of my co-workers & supervisors were very nice to me. It's an easy job as long as you do what you are told, sell credit cards, & can handle cash & customers...

    Show More

    Cons

    Just about everything. At first all of my coworkers & supervisors were nice. But a couple months in ,h true colors began to show. The older supervisors who dislike younger workers would make it obvious. Because there are so many women, almost everyone is two-faced. The pay is low for how few hours you get. The scheduling isn't very much. I usually get 25 hours if it's a good week. You can't get ANY requested...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Visit your stores more & see for yourselves just how hard it is to sell credit cards. Don't gripe so much about how many people are scheduled. When people go to you with complaints, LISTEN!!!

    Burke's Outlet2019-02-20
  8. "Extremely low hours and false advertisement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Waxahachie, TX
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Burke's Outlet part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      My coworkers were nice for the most part

      Cons

      They advertise full time employment options and benefits, but regular employees would only get 12 hours a week and managers got no more than 25.

      Advice to Management

      Either don't advertise hours that you won't give, or higher fewer employees to give people full time

      Burke's Outlet2019-01-29
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Burke's Outlet full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Discounts on purchases made in the store

      Cons

      The type of managers that they have hired, not being appreciated

      Burke's Outlet2018-12-14
    • "Difficult to deal with at times"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Mount Pleasant, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Burke's Outlet

      Pros

      Making friends made it bearable. Good pay compared to fast food work

      Cons

      Rude customers, feeling like a maid, at times uncooperative associates

      Advice to Management

      Have a place employees can suggest ideas to make work smoother

      Burke's Outlet2018-12-05
    Found 110 reviews