Burlington Stores Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Burlington Stores Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Burlington Stores CEO Michael O’Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Not worth the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Hourly associates are fun to work with.

    Cons

    Zero work/life balance if you want to run a respectable store. Too many unattainable metrics that are dictated by “executives” who came from the outside and have never worked in a Burlington store. They can care less about you. All they want is a number which cannot be met with minimal payroll to execute their demands. They stress planning, planning, planning. We waste so much time talking about what we’re going to do that nothing gets done. If you have no payroll, then the manager has to do it. But then the Manager has to play MOD (no tasks) for 7-8 hours because some stores only have an opening and a closing manager so you work that length of time with no dedicated breaks or meals. It’s inhumane. They claim to be a caring company, but they are not. Giving money to LLS and coats to homeless shelters does not make Burlington caring. Those monies and coats are solicited from the customers. Not the company. District, Regional and Territory field executives are useless and out of touch with reality. They lack basic communication skills and empathy. Lying to Stores to get what they want is common. HR is a joke. Maybe it’s different in other parts of the country, but in California, this is reality. Stay away from this place. Far away.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-03-30
  2. "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company with a positive outlook on the horizon.

    Cons

    Difficult to get your ideas through to corporate. Very consistent with majority of big box retail.

    Burlington Stores2019-02-24
  3. "This company has drastically changed for the better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Loss Prevention Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing company. Investing in modernizing their existing stores while opening smaller more profitable stores. Great core values and commitment to excellence.

    Cons

    It’s still off price so you get the typical challenges that come with that market but they present their stores well and don’t make it feel that way from a corporate level.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-02-14
  4. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with great people, fast paced

    Cons

    No support from upper management

    Burlington Stores2019-02-23

    Burlington Stores Response

    February 25, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that you did not feel supported by leadership during your time on our team. An important part of our company core values includes our commitment to building strong teams and partnerships so we can work together to solve problems and drive results. If associates have concerns about the level of support they are receiving or recommendations on ways to improve relationships among team members and leaders, we encourage them to reach out to a member of their management team, their Regional HR Manager, and/or the Anonymous Associate Relations Hotline so we can work together to identify and address any areas of opportunity for improvement.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Worst retailer to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, discount, and vacation time.

    Cons

    Environment, unreal expectations, store management, unclear direction. Pretty much everything else. Completely understaffed for what their expectations were. Anytime a big visit was coming the store manager would load up the hours before to get the store 'clean' and then load up staff for the visit so it looked like we had plenty of hours to keep the store at expected standards, which we didn't. And before you think this was a one-off, I went through two store managers who both did this. It was so bad that one night the manager was left with just four employees total to close the store. I felt bad, and though I had come in at 5am I stayed until 5pm to help and make sure she got a lunch (which didn't happen very often for us) while the rest of the managers left, including the store manager. Another time I was given one employee to complete a project and I did not get finished. I was drilled about it the next day when the store manager complained about having to use herself and two other employees for 5 additional hours each to finish the project. When I questioned how she expected me to complete a job with 6 hours when it took her and others an additional 15 hours in total to complete it she made every excuse in the book. This same manager wanted me to be dishonest on another occasion and say we lost more equipment that we had just so we could get extra. I submitted the request without the additional equipment. At one point I finally had enough and gladly left to pursue something else. I do not recommend this for anybody unless you are a manager who only cares about pay, but the pay isn't worth the cost.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-03-02

    Burlington Stores Response

    March 11, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. Your experience certainly does not reflect Our Burlington philosophy and company core values. We are committed to providing our customers with a great shopping experience while also being a great place to work for all. If associates have concerns about scheduling, staffing, or any other workplace matters, we encourage them to reach out to a member of their management team and/or their HR Business Partner. It is only through open, honest and transparent communication that we can identify issues and work together to address them appropriately. We will keep your feedback and recommendations in mind as we strive to bring our company core values and Our Burlington philosophy to life for every member of our team.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    15% Employee discount 30% occasionally.

    Cons

    Any positive review from this company I can assure you it's from corporate. Employees get low pay and verbally abused in front of customers, some employees are so intimidated they work off the clock so they don't get in trouble. Employees who are sick or suffer a loss in their family are greeted with hostility and passive aggressive comments when they return. No real company values, no integrity, no respect for the individual, don't dare go to HR about any concerns, you won't get anywhere with that either. Just as long as the store looks good for corporate visits, but corporate has no clue what's really going on behind the scenes. Is it that they don't know or don't care?

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-02-28

    Burlington Stores Response

    March 4, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for leaving feedback on your experience. We are disappointed to see that it does not reflect Our Burlington philosophy and company core values, which we strive to bring to life for every member of our team. We certainly hope that all members of our team, whether in the field, corporate office or our distribution centers, feel supported, valued and welcome. Any form of abuse or intimidation has no place in Our Burlington environment and we encourage associates to report any incidents that conflict with Our Burlington philosophy and company core values to a member of the management team, their HR Business Partner, or the anonymous Associate Relations Hotline. We hope that through open and honest communication, our associates and leaders can work together to identify and address areas of opportunity for improvement that may exist. We do appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind as we strive to be a great place to work for all!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "No future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits. Double associate discount several times a year.

    Cons

    Favoritism at the field level is off the charts. Direction is never clear. Floor moves are constant with very little payroll. Visits are counter productive and expectations are unreasonable. Corporate and field directions are never in sync. Not an associate friendly company.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-02-03

    Burlington Stores Response

    February 11, 2019Social Media Specialist

    We're disappointed to hear your experience does not align with Our Burlington philosophy. As a growing company, we're committed to offering motivated, high-performing associates the opportunity to grow as Burlington continues to grow. Many of our associates feel the future is bright for Burlington. We believe everyone matters, and are committed to creating a supportive, welcoming environment based on trust, respect, and teamwork, where associates feel valued and appreciated. We do appreciate your recommendations on improvements to communication and operations, and will take them into consideration as we continue to evolve on our journey to be a great place to work for all.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Hunt Valley, MD

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time

    Pros

    -Pay and benefits package best I’ve ever received. -Newly remodeled and clean stores. -Customers were friendly 95% of the time. -Company gives funds to stores to celebrate birthdays as well as holiday lunches

    Cons

    -Turnover was the worst I’ve ever seen at any other retailer -Job was extremely physically and mentally demanding -Average work week 60-80 hours and was typically forced to work 6 days a week with zero overtime -Schedule wasn’t posted until hours before the week started and would be asked multiple times through-out the week to change the schedule around -Work environment felt toxic and unprofessional. Double-standards and favoritism issues. -Direction given most days was unclear, inconsistent, or unrealistic -Genuine recognition was non-existent -Store was an internal LP nightmare.Accountability was non-existent

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-02-02

    Burlington Stores Response

    February 4, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad to hear you were happy with your compensation package and the team culture. We do appreciate your feedback on areas of opportunity for improvement and will keep your concerns in mind as we continue on our journey to be a great place to work for all. We strive to create a work environment based on trust, respect and teamwork where all associates feel welcomed, appreciated and supported.

    Continue reading
  9. "Burlington"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, great team to work with

    Cons

    Disorganized, unrealistic goals and poor payroll

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-12-23

    Burlington Stores Response

    January 2, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience. We encourage you to reach out to a member of your management team and/or HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. Feedback from associates like you often provides valuable insight into areas of opportunity for improvement that we can explore as we continue to evolve on our journey to be a great place to work for all associates.

    Continue reading
  10. "Satisfaction level varies greatly by department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Burlington, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice remodeled offices & mostly great people

    Cons

    Very fast-paced, sometimes to the point of chaos

    Burlington Stores2018-11-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 246 reviews