Burlington Stores Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Burlington Stores Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Burlington Stores CEO Michael O’Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan
1 Rating
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The discount and Family environment

    Cons

    Nothing is confidential. Everyone knows what’s going on.

    Burlington Stores2018-08-05

    Burlington Stores Response

    August 6, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. "Assistant Store Manager of Merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay When the regional team isn’t in the store you won’t hate your job as much

    Cons

    Lack of foundation, each store feels completely different. Little to no recognition, it’s more of a you get paid, right? Mentality. NO WORK LIFE BALANCE. Poor structure Hire off the street rarely from within

    Burlington Stores2018-08-10

    Burlington Stores Response

    August 13, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are disappointed to hear your experience is not aligned with our core values of trust and respect and strong belief that everyone matters. We value strong leadership and partnerships between associates and management teams and we encourage open and honest communication so that concerns can be addressed in the moment. We will keep your feedback in consideration as we continue improving to be an employer of choice.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Co-workers are great, management & upper management are horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co- workers are a tight group.

    Cons

    Lack of any interest from management, especially upper management. Company doesn't value its employees. Revolving door mentality. Horrible place.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-07-12

    Burlington Stores Response

    July 16, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience does not align with our Burlington core values and commitment to creating an open, welcoming environment where our associates feel supported and empowered. We’re constantly exploring opportunities to improve the work environment as we value our associates. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continue on our journey to be an employer of choice.

    Continue reading
  5. "Solid Company that is growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunities for those willing to relocate to new markets. Company is sustaining growth in a down market for retail so job security is there

    Cons

    Upper management tends to stick to the “buddy system” when it comes to upward mobility. It is part of the “off price” model so you are asked to accomplish a lot with little labor

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-05-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic, growing, tons of opportunity, community minded, like a family, 640 stores and still opening new ones every year.

    Cons

    There is no store in Hawaii...yet!

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-05-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good core group of associates.

    Cons

    Hard to find and keep good associate due to low pay.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-03-15

    Burlington Stores Response

    March 19, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We agree, our incredible team is one of the best things about being part of Our Burlington team! We're disappointed to hear, however, that your experience was impacted by struggles with associate retention. We are committed to providing all associates with a fair and competitive wage and are continuously evaluating and adjusting our strategy based changes in the industry, geographic location and demographic information related to particular stores/regions, etc. We encourage our management team to relay important information to their Territory/Regional teams so we can work together to evaluate areas of opportunity for improvement. We strive to ensure our store teams feel supported and well-prepared to drive results and are equipped with the training, skills, and team necessary to do so. Our Burlington philosophy also emphasizes recognizing and rewarding associates for their hard work every day so we can create a positive work environment where everyone understands their contributions are appreciated. Thank you again for taking time to review your associate experience. We will keep it in mind as we strive to bring Our Burlington philosophy and company core values to life for every member of our team.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Strides To Make"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on already cheap stuff.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. District team micromanagement. Customers are bad shoppers. Not enough associates scheduled. Company is disillusioned to what it takes to run the store. Being anything more than a store manager is unrealistic because you basically have to wait to someone dies to get promoted since all the higher ups have been in their positions for over 15 years and no new restructuring in sight. They're currently buckling down on operations to seemingly make a better store representation leading to the district teams to micromanage every aspect possible. They have no trust in their store leadership. They want to pride themselves on being able to offer such low prices to customers by what they save on overhead. And boy do they ever save on overheard. Try explaining to a customer there's not enough people ringing or on the sales floor because they're getting that Calvin Klein dress for $35.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-03-25

    Burlington Stores Response

    April 2, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your very thorough review. We want to make it clear that as we continue to open more stores each year, we are committed to identifying talented and motivated members of Our Burlington team who are looking for opportunities to grow their careers with us. We encourage associates who are interested in furthering their careers to maintain open communication with their management teams and HR Business Partners about their goals and aspirations, so we can work together to help associates achieve those goals. When it comes to recognition, we are committed to rewarding high-performing associates in a number of ways through recognition programs, growth opportunities, and more. We strive to include rewards and recognition for our associates' hard work into our everyday way of life. We also agree that, although work/life balance is different for every associate based on individual desires and circumstances, supporting associates in identifying and achieving the work/life balance that works for them is important to creating a culture where associates feel valued and respected. We encourage all associates to discuss their ideal work/life balance with their management team and HR Business Partner so we can work together to identify the best way to achieve it. Finally, the safety and well-being of our associates and customers is our top priority and while we cannot foresee or prevent every issue, we want to state that if ever concerns arise about store security or an associate feels unsafe or uncomfortable, we encourage them to reach out immediately to a member of their management team and/or HR Business Partner so the necessary steps can be taken to resolve whatever issues may exist. We do appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind as we strive to be an employer of choice where our associates love to work!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary range compared to other retailers, regional office team us readily accessible

    Cons

    Older stores, tightened payroll constraints, usually not enough staff to reciver store given the average size of the stores

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-02-04
  10. "Very Stable Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to advance into management positions

    Cons

    Holiday extended hours were tough

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-01-28
  11. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    i have been at burlington for almost 6 years. There is plenty of room and opportunities to grow with the company as dozens of stores open yearly. As long as you are able to move around a little and are coachable and realistic with your strengths and opportunities and put in the hard work and effort you can get to were you want to go.

    Cons

    there is no cons to this company

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 244 reviews