Burlington Stores Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Burlington Stores CEO Michael O’Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan
294 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are plenty of things to use your employee discount on(in 114 reviews)

  • "Very comfortable work environment and flexible schedule(in 91 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "there weren't any downsides to working here part-time(in 107 reviews)

  • "Wage was nothing special, literally minimum wage(in 106 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Burlington Stores and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Diversity 2.0

      Oct 27, 2020 - Manager In Corporate Office 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      leadership has shown their commitment to diversity. just completed 4 separate training sessions related to uncouscious bias and inclusion. they were amazing. i expected the dedication to slip when our work picked up but seems real. proud to be part of making the changes and improvements

      Cons

      still not enough time in the day to keep up with all that's happening. consdier expanding teams to help growth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love the Company

      May 6, 2021 - Receiving Supervisor in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      When moving up in position or given a new job title they like to low ball with the raise

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Good Beginner Job

      May 4, 2021 - Cashier in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best part about Burlington is how nice and friendly the coworkers are (depending on your location.) Honestly, they're the only reason I stay. The 15% discount—30% during certain dates—is also great if you like shopping there. The managers are usually understanding if you can't attend work as long as you let them know ahead of time. Sometimes they'll provide meals or snacks for their employees.

      Cons

      They assign too much work for only being paid at $9 per hour as a cashier/floor associate. If you're working shifts on weekdays, you'll most likely be the only cashier (with a supervisor if you're lucky), which makes the job all the more difficult and stressful. More often than not, floor associates have to come up to help with the line. Afterwards, there's an even bigger mess for the cashier to clean since the floor associates leave their registers in disarray. It's difficult to get your preferred hours since the managers don't care about what you want. It's mentally draining and physically exhausting, just like any other low wage job. Expect more work here, though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My review of working at Burlington

      Apr 16, 2021 - Markdown Associate in Easton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great good fun work environment, Good talented people to work with, flexible work schedule, everyone who works together respects one another.

      Cons

      tedious time consuming work with clothing getting ready racks prepared usually takes a long time to finish, running gray carts for receiving takes awhile to do store is always short handed with not enough people to manage every department. too many closing shifts. store always has a messy appearance to customers there is lack of major organization in the store there is lack of structure as well. very little pay for working long hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast pace, minimum wage, not enough hours

      Mar 14, 2021 - Customer Service Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, consistent pay day.

      Cons

      Not enough hours, hardly any full time positions, not enough manpower. Even though I was a CSS I only made 50 cents above minimum wage. There was never an opportunity for me to be full time and get benefits like health insurance. For the work and effort I was putting into my job I would've gone back to being a cashier. One of my fellow coworkers tried to go from being a supervisor to cashier but was told they'd either have to quit or wait until a floor position to open. Pre pandemic it was nearly impossible to take a break because there was so much help needed in the front registers and some of the floor workers who came up to help left the registers they were using in a mess which left another mess to clean. I'd rather have more full/part time cashiers than ask for help from a floor worker. For almost a year I never got a weekend off because the store was so busy. And even though sales went up corporate continued to cut hours. Less hours = work harder. Also the credit card program was the WORST! We constantly had to be asking customers to sign up for these credit cards and loyalty programs and management pressured supervisor and cashiers to get more. I tried my best and I asked EVERY single customer and some days not one wanted to sign up! My voice gave out and I got a sore throat. And we never got anything when we registered customers for these cards or loyalty programs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not the best, not the worse

      Apr 12, 2021 - Sales Associate in Wesley Chapel, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have found that Burlington customers are less aggressive than other retail customers. The pay is above minimum wage. Many of my coworkers remain working here because of the flexibility of scheduling. They go to school (college) on certain days for certain hours, and Burlington is accommodating to those schedule requests. You are able to work as much or as little as you prefer.

      Cons

      My part-time manager makes only $10 an hour. I would not recommend this job if you are in need of paying bills. Raises are scarce. Many of my coworkers are mean, and make me consider applying for other jobs. There is nothing to keep employees from being rude to each other or harassing each other, at least in my store, and I have heard the same from other stores in the state. I have been working for over a month and have yet to be trained on register, which is what I was hired for. Instead, I work on the floor and in "the back" or the warehouse. I would not recommend this job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Immense Learning Curve - Fun, interesting, but tough

      May 7, 2021 - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Social, friendly, dedicated work force - PTO

      Cons

      - Work/life balance - Salary does NOT match up to work put in - Assistant duties do not mimic what you will do as a buyer in the slightest - must put in hours outside of work to study - Promotion not based on time, average is 3 years to move up to an associate buyer

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flexible hours, Management works with PT associates

      May 5, 2021 - Cashier in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are a student, mgt works with you to get hours at work, around your school schedule

      Cons

      None at this time at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible place to work at, but at least it’s not Ross.

      May 5, 2021 - Cashier/Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are fun and kind. Discounts are good. Hours are okay.

      Cons

      Corporate never follows its own polices and leaves us associates in store often looking stupid in front of customers. Anything to make a sale, even if we just got harassed by the customer. Pay is horrible. We deserve $15. Management threatens to fire you if you call off.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Friendly people but very busy environment

      May 5, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The co workers are friendly and management is good

      Cons

      Too many customers and gets very busy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,582 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Burlington Stores Job Seekers

    Seasonal Cashier Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Seasonal Retail Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    Seasonal Receiving Associate
    Learn About the Job
    Retail Store Manager/Assistant Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Assistant Buyer Development Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Burlington Stores? Share Your Experiences

    or