Burlington Stores "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Burlington Stores Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Burlington Stores CEO Michael O’Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Minimum wage after 6 years working there(in 97 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours for part-time employees(in 84 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Cashier in Langhorne, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - commitment to give back to the community - nice employee discount - great opportunities of internal growth - open door policy

    Cons

    - no cons that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Just keep up with the great work! The location I’m working at has an awesome management team! I absolutely love the open door policy and I love how I feel free to express myself freely.

    Burlington Stores2018-09-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Unprofessional Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Glen Burnie, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At least you get a 15% employee discount.

    Cons

    The manager was VERY unprofessional. I was told to take a picture of my schedule on my first day because he changes it in the middle of the week and if you're off he doesn't notify you of the changes. I started on a Thursday and when I returned on my scheduled work day I was told I was a "no show/no call" for Saturday and Sunday but I had no idea I had to work. There was no schedule posted. First of all, he... discussed this with me in the middle of the crowded store with another CSS standing with him. And when I asked why didn't someone give me a call to advise I was told that' s not there responsibility. Not to mention the CSS's and Manager run thru the store yelling at employees thru the walkie talkies for EVERYONE to hear. The manager has a habit of having too many people working during the day and not enough closing the store. This was my second job and he ALWAYS made me work until closing. A lot of his crew are outstanding workers but there wasn't a day gone by without one of them threatening to quit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Managers need more thorough training for scheduling and work ethics!!! It's just not worth $10.10 and hour to be disrespected and unappreciated.

    Burlington Stores2019-12-02
  3. "Oppressive and uncomfortable work atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount. Clocking out at the end of the day.

    Cons

    Oppressive. Uncomfortable. Too much yelling. If you are a hard worker, and efficient, you get to do other people's work as well.

    Advice to Management

    Stop yelling. Points do not get across that way. Earn respect, don't demand it. Go out on the floor once in a while...see what's going on and lend a hand.

    Burlington Stores2019-12-03
  4. "Every location varies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly co workers, employee discount

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, associate pay scale, associate turnover

    Advice to Management

    Hire and Recruit non stop. Be prepared for long days and putting extra time

    Burlington Stores2019-10-15
  5. "Only when you are in college and need a part-time job, I would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Cashier in Boynton Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Burlington was meeting good people, first availability to see the new fashion and the employee discount. I worked as a seasonal cashier then was promoted to full-time cashier then later a customer service cashier. There is room for growth but it is not guaranteed.

    Cons

    During the holidays is the worst time. They would want you to work excessive shifts with only 30min lunches, that is ridiculous. The managers/supervisors would want you to cover others' shifts without even asking your permission like you do not have a life as well.

    Advice to Management

    The best advice is to understand that the employees are human beings as well and they have a life as well.

    Burlington Stores2019-10-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Hollywood, FL

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule They offer employee discount

    Cons

    The managers treated their employees awful. No benefits Minimum wage If you work until your arms fall off, you still wouldn’t be appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the work your employees do and raise the pay rate.

    Burlington Stores2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not the best retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sportswear Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would only recommend working for Burlington if you need a part-time job while you go to school for better things if management is willing to work with your schedule. I wouldn't recommend working here full time the environment is stressful. The store manager and assistant store manager at my particular location are absolute angels and deserve their titles. The company does offer health benefits to full-timers and... every associate gets an employee discount.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where do I start here. People who are designated to certain departments are never in them to do the necessary work because we are ALWAYS getting called to back-up cashier or to clear out the fitting rooms. I spend most of my day on a register and nothing ever gets done in my department..Speaking of being on a register, we deal with some of the most rude and ghetto people in my city (bad area) who expect to be... treated like royalty because they spent 5 bucks. You can do 99% of things right but will still be reprimanded and be subjected to condescending demands from immediate supervisors (who conveniently never have to be on registers themselves) over the smallest of things. You're schedule is never consistent even at full-time with open availability. Never get two days off in a row and there are plenty of those dreaded closing and then opening shifts. This goes on every week with no end in sight. I know this is retail but I've worked for other retailers who were able to offer more consistent schedules to full-timers so it is possible

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is a reason why people don't stay for very long. Please be more patient and understanding with newer associates and work with them until they are confident in what they are doing. It's unacceptable to make people feel like they are not doing good enough on their first or second day. Check-out times were rated the worst on surveys BEFORE the credit card and loyalty programs were initiated and it's just making... it worse. I think the company should have focused on upgrading their registers and making them as fast and efficient as possible before adding more steps to the process. The registers continually freeze up and it's embarrassing to have to move customers to another register and re-do the whole thing halfway through their transaction while apologizing profusely for the "inconvenience". It would also be nice if more than one cashier at a time could be scheduled during the day so that people who are assigned to specific departments can actually work in them and get something done. I feel like I'm doing a completely different job than what I was actually hired for. With that said, I understand that Burlington is a growing company and is still trying to figure out their footing but that doesn't change the fact that what goes on during the day is a real circus-show so I hope the processes change soon

    Show More
    Burlington Stores2019-08-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job I Have Ever Had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Cinnaminson, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Employee Discount Was Nice

    Cons

    The Customers The Pay Wasn't High Enough Limited Breaks

    Burlington Stores2019-08-20
  9. "Good place to shop, no so much to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual days when you can wear jeans or holiday colors. Sometimes management buys food for special occasions and holidays. Employee discount, especially double discount days. Layaway program is great for employees because you don't pay all the fees customers pay and you can apply your discount to it.

    Cons

    Management isn't on the same page as each other. You try to please and do what one tells you to do and the next day another manager will tell you to do something else and that what the other told you isn't as important. Schedules get put out a day or two before the next week begins. Also, people get scheduled outside of their set availability so these two schedule conflicts interfere with you planning your life out.... Supervisors are supposed to get one weekend off a month and doesn't happen. You end up having to work your off days because you were incorrectly scheduled on another day, to fix the mess-up. Management sets standards much higher than the company standards, which is an unrealistic expectation. As a supervisor, you get blamed for factors out of your control, like customers wanting to donate and do exit interviews. You meet the company goal and your SM and ASM will give you a much higher goal and be upset when you don't meet the much higher goal. You have to do computer training, according to the company, but you never have time to get it done because of lack of coverage. Oftentimes there is one cashier scheduled which results in sales floor employees having to come help get lines down, thus leaving the sales floor unattended and a mess. Also causes the register area to be a mess as well because cashier doesn't have time to stop and clean because the line is too long. Management doesn't help clean up a lot of the time and stands in one spot talking to non-workers for hours. Many non-English speaking workers, which customers often complain about. Makes it impossible for non-Spanish speaking coworkers and supervisors to communicate with them. Also, outdated register systems. You have to count coins by hand, instead of using weighing machines like other companies have. Makes closing take a long time, especially when you have one cashier and you have to help on the register, instead of closing and counting some of your tills. Some people qualify for benefits and others don't, unfairly. New cashiers could be offered benefits while older cashiers and also supervisors don't get any. Management lies or doesn't inform people when they receive an exit interview, but when you check the system it will show that they have in fact received one, or multiple.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get on one accord with each other. Have realistic expectations. Be more positive. Give more positive feedback rather than always being negative, criticizing, and complaining. Help fellow employees, instead of merely dictating what to do. Hire more English-speakers. Make better schedules and make them further in advance. Speak to employees more respectfully, instead of comparing them to others and always mentioning... the negative, small things as opposed to major good performance activities.

    Show More
    Burlington Stores2019-07-15
  10. "Front end cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Cinnaminson, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Employee Discount was good. The employees were friendly.

    Cons

    Standing for long periods of time after working a full time job.

    Advice to Management

    Front end cashiers should have stools to sit on.

    Burlington Stores2019-06-06
Found 96 reviews