Burlington Stores "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Burlington Stores Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Burlington Stores CEO Michael O’Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Minimum wage after 6 years working there(in 97 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours for part-time employees(in 84 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good job to get experience of daily work life

    Cons

    short breaks, minimum wage job

    Burlington Stores2017-09-18
  2. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Wayne, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the typical retail associate job

    Cons

    Management sets unrealistic standards of their employees. For the minimum wage we get, the work is unavailable.

    Burlington Stores2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Hollywood, FL

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule They offer employee discount

    Cons

    The managers treated their employees awful. No benefits Minimum wage If you work until your arms fall off, you still wouldn’t be appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-09-16

    Burlington Stores Response

    September 16, 2019Social Media Specialist

    We're disappointed to hear your experience doesn't reflect Our Burlington philosophy, which includes a commitment to winning together and recognizing that everyone matters. We trust that members of our leadership team to create environments where recognizing and rewarding the contributions of our great team members are everyday occurrences, and associates feel appreciated, respected and supported. It sounds like your experience did not reflect those values. We encourage associates to maintain open communication with their management team and HR partner if they ever identify areas of opportunity for improvement in these or any other areas. We do appreciate your feedback and take your comment seriously. We will look into your concerns and keep your avice in mind as we strive to be a great place to work for all.

    Continue reading
  4. "Really consider if you need it first..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mens Department Lead in Redlands, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay and in my experience friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Minimum wage after 6 years working there. Never any coverage, only one person in the entire department only 40 hours a week.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-08-01

    Burlington Stores Response

    August 5, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to ensure our onboarding and training programs are implemented effectively in every location, however, if an associate ever feels that sufficient training is not being offered or he/she feels unprepared to tackle their job responsibilities, we encourage him/her to maintain open communication with a member fo the leadership team and/or an HR partner so we can look into and address areas of opportunity for improvement. We want every member of our team to feel confident and prepared to do their jobs to the best of their ability. We do appreciate your feedback and will look into the concerns you mentioned to ensure Our Burlington philosophy is brought to life for every member of our team.

    Continue reading
  5. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Neptune, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are pleasant and location was close.

    Cons

    Management puts so much pressure on you . They do not treat employees with any of the core values they preach. The environment was hostile. The pay is minimum wage . If you are Love king for praise after working hard you will never get it here.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not enough employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, 15% discounts, sometimes it goes up to 30%.

    Cons

    There are never enough associates on the floor or on the register. 1 associate does the workload of 3 people. It's too much work to only be paid minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-10-21

    Burlington Stores Response

    October 22, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're glad to hear you're enjoying the associate discount. For our busy holiday season, we staff our store with additional seasonal associates to accommodate larger traffic volumes and a very fast-paced work environment. We encourage associates to take full advantage of their break and lunch periods to unwind throughout the day and to maintain open and honest communication with their Store Managers so that their concerns can be addressed in the the moment.

    Continue reading
  7. "It’s not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flow Team Member in Bangor, ME
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the coworkers are great The 15% and occasional 30% discounts

    Cons

    I work on the flow team, I have what is the most essential job in the store. Open and stock all the merchandise as well as making sure it is priced. I have very little opportunity to interact with strangers, and therefor very few chances to receive smile alerts. There is no way to track my performance the way burlington tracks the performance of the markdown team or the cashiers. At the team meetings, we are told to pick up trash and donuts if we see them on the floor. The janitor told me I’m the only one he’s seen pick up trash. I was told when I got hired that my review for a raise would be in August, a year from my hire date. A couple months ago I had to sign a document saying that I wasn’t going to be eligible for a raise this year because minimum wage went up a dollar, even though this state voted 2 years ago that minimum wage would go up $1 every year until it reaches $12 in 2020. Burlington wants to be in the top 500 companies in the world, but doesn’t want to give it’s part time employees more than 12 hours a week. Even the nobody I work with is scheduled over 37 hours unless they are a manager. Burlington will only allow you to clock in 6 minutes before or after your sheduled shift. When I go into my shifts in the morning, the inside door is locked and I have to use the walkie talkie for somebody to come unlock the door for me. Many times I have clocked in late because of the length of time it took before someone heard the Walkies. Occasionally burlington will offer extra hours to me, usually even with extra hours it is only a 16 hour work week. I worked 30 hours one week and 26 hours another week and those were the most hours I ever got at burlington. I am scheduled 12 hours a week at burlington and half the time those are the only hours I get. Many of the people in the upper positions have completely foul attitudes, including one manager who YouTube’s and facebooks for half the shift and gossips with her favorites for the other half. Some of the people who are there are not fit to work there, but are there for the sole reason that they have been there since the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-04-20

    Burlington Stores Response

    April 23, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you so much for your very thorough review. We would like to continue this conversation and discuss some of the things you mentioned in further detail in an effort to truly understand your experience and identify potential opportunities for improvement so we can work together to make sure Our Burlington philosophy and core values are being brought to life in your associate experience. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss your comments. We look forward to continuing this conversation soon.

    Continue reading
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Days went by fast, easy work

    Cons

    Management had favorites, minimum wage, part time only

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-02-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Annoying place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving Associate 

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time

    Pros

    Easy application Easy interview Hire immediately

    Cons

    Super early shifts Minimum wage Annoying coworkers

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-03-02

    Burlington Stores Response

    March 6, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We're very surprised and disappointed to hear your experience does not align at all with Our Burlington philosophy and company core values. Often, we hear from associates that their co-workers become almost like their second family. We strive to create a welcoming, friendly and inclusive work environment where Our Burlington team works hard and has fun together. Your experience is absolutely not in line with the culture we strive to build throughout the organization and we certainly understand why this would leave a negative impression. We encourage associates, whether they have just been hired or are veteran employees, to maintain open communication with their management team and HR Business Partner to discuss any workplace issues or conflicts so they can be investigated and resolved as needed. If and when any rude or exclusive behavior is detected, it should be addressed by the proper members of the management or HR teams to ensure we are creating an environment where all associates feel comfortable, welcomed and supported. We assure you we will be looking further into the feedback you provided to ensure any behavior that does not align with Our Burlington philosophy and company core values is addressed. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad start, unclear finish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitting Room Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time

    Pros

    You can get a lot of hours. Understand other priorities like school and will work with you if you have another job. Will hire people without any work experience.

    Cons

    Bad communication was the biggest problem. For example, I was hired for seasonal work but no one has told me if I’m done working or if they’d like to keep me on the team. There was no training which was difficult since it was my first job. No one really explained how the store is run. Minimum wage, small employee discount, faulty workday system, constantly given more work that’s expected to be done quickly before one can even finish the first job. Gave me hours that conflicted with the agreed upon schedule.

    Continue reading
    Burlington Stores2018-01-06

    Burlington Stores Response

    January 8, 2018Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to see your experience does not align with Our Burlington philosophy and company core values. We do, in fact, have a thorough training and onboarding program that all new hires are supposed to experience, as we are committed to ensuring associates have the tools and training they need to succeed in their new role. We also have an employee handbook that all new hires should have access to as part of their onboarding. While the holiday season may be a hectic time for our store leaders, they should continue to ensure the proper training and onboarding programs are being facilitated to prepare new associates for success. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We will look into your feedback to ensure new hires are receiving the appropriate training no matter when they are hired and for what role. We remain committed to being an employer of choice where our associates love to work!

    Continue reading
Found 97 reviews