Burlington Stores "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Burlington Stores Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Burlington Stores CEO Michael O’Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Minimum wage after 6 years working there(in 97 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours for part-time employees(in 84 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Seasonal/Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't speak for all store but, at my store everyone is a true team player and the Mangers are excellent leaders compare to others places I worked before. In all honest this company is one of the best enveriorments I ever worked with.

    Cons

    Nothing really. If I had to pick a con I guess for me is the pay. I thought before applying that part time was at least 10-10.50 and full time was 12.50 -15.I was a little bummed when I was informed that Part time starts at 9.50 and full time is 10.50. However, I enjoy the people I work with and how the work flows so much that I chose to stay anyways plus weekly pay and discounts. It's hard to find places with that... kind of team work and mangers that actually leads and helps their staff vs my old team and managers at my last jobs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Excellent communication and leadership! Just keep doing what your doing!

    Burlington Stores2018-12-13
  2. "Management Clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is probably the only pro.

    Cons

    Management sends the schedule in a group text the day prior to working, sometimes at 5PM the previous day to come in at 6AM the following morning. No time to plan to schedule ahead for anything. They send in the schedule on a 12 hour basis telling you when you have to be there the next day. On another note, I cannot get more than 10 hours a week. Yet, they are hiring for 2-3 more part-time receiving associates... for the same position I can only assume to have them sit on the bench until they are struggling enough to want to call someone in. This is basically an on-call job for when you want to make maybe 30-40 dollars that day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring more employees when you can't give the current employees enough hours to live, and then give hours to the new employees for about a week and then side-line them. This is ridiculous. Burlington has become a pit-stop to just find another job. Basically a part of a part time job.

    Burlington Stores2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started as a seasonal floor associate for the holiday season then later became a regular part time when the season was over. I had great management & overall good coworkers. The hours always get cut from January but picks up a little after February. They are pretty good with working around your schedule & are lenient on approving time off. I usually worked a closing shift (5 hours) but would have a good 8... hour shift every now & then.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you want to be full time there has to be a department free for you to work in.

    Burlington Stores2019-08-21
  4. "Worst part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount is 15% for employees

    Cons

    You will never get a solid schedule , managers hardly ever talk or communicate with you just a hi and bye . Hours suck I started at 25 as part time and because Also i was new two weeks later I ended with 12 and some other employees had 5 to 16 hours and they continue to hire .The store is always getting shoplifted the alarm rings about 10-16 times while your 4 hour shift o yeah you don’t even get 5 hours .I had to... quit I can’t live like that and throughout the week I was also on call and expected to drop everything to come In. I only lasted less than 2 months this was one of the worst positions I’ve been in you work to much for the minimum .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure everyone has equal hours and actually pay attention to your employees .

    Burlington Stores2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "If you are wanting to make a living this isnt the job for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Douglasville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    15% discount ... Thats really all there arent many cons with this company

    Cons

    low wages, horrible scheduling, part time employees are lucky to have more then 3 days a week, they call on days off frequently, managers are rude and are condescending towards employees, your success is depending on customers. If you dont have a certain amount of credit card applications your job is in jeopardy, this is a company that does not care about its employees how much the company makes is more... important, They want employees to ask for donations to help private schools instead of public schools or low income. for $9 a hr its not worth the headaches, long lines, overbearing work load, They ask customers too many questions most just want to shop....A phone number is asked, are you a loyalty customer, do you want to donate, do you want to get a credit card, most customers are irritated by the time the 3rd question is asked.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Proactively listen to employees, managers have no recourse for issues with employees. For the amount of work they have you do usually there isnt time to get it done its expected of you.

    Burlington Stores2019-09-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not the best retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sportswear Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would only recommend working for Burlington if you need a part-time job while you go to school for better things if management is willing to work with your schedule. I wouldn't recommend working here full time the environment is stressful. The store manager and assistant store manager at my particular location are absolute angels and deserve their titles. The company does offer health benefits to full-timers and... every associate gets an employee discount.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where do I start here. People who are designated to certain departments are never in them to do the necessary work because we are ALWAYS getting called to back-up cashier or to clear out the fitting rooms. I spend most of my day on a register and nothing ever gets done in my department..Speaking of being on a register, we deal with some of the most rude and ghetto people in my city (bad area) who expect to be... treated like royalty because they spent 5 bucks. You can do 99% of things right but will still be reprimanded and be subjected to condescending demands from immediate supervisors (who conveniently never have to be on registers themselves) over the smallest of things. You're schedule is never consistent even at full-time with open availability. Never get two days off in a row and there are plenty of those dreaded closing and then opening shifts. This goes on every week with no end in sight. I know this is retail but I've worked for other retailers who were able to offer more consistent schedules to full-timers so it is possible

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is a reason why people don't stay for very long. Please be more patient and understanding with newer associates and work with them until they are confident in what they are doing. It's unacceptable to make people feel like they are not doing good enough on their first or second day. Check-out times were rated the worst on surveys BEFORE the credit card and loyalty programs were initiated and it's just making... it worse. I think the company should have focused on upgrading their registers and making them as fast and efficient as possible before adding more steps to the process. The registers continually freeze up and it's embarrassing to have to move customers to another register and re-do the whole thing halfway through their transaction while apologizing profusely for the "inconvenience". It would also be nice if more than one cashier at a time could be scheduled during the day so that people who are assigned to specific departments can actually work in them and get something done. I feel like I'm doing a completely different job than what I was actually hired for. With that said, I understand that Burlington is a growing company and is still trying to figure out their footing but that doesn't change the fact that what goes on during the day is a real circus-show so I hope the processes change soon

    Show More
    Burlington Stores2019-08-01
  7. "Salefloor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always given lots of hours even as part-time

    Cons

    Not everyone are to expected

    Burlington Stores2019-07-12
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okay job, part time, easy interview

    Cons

    Really tedious work but not terrible.

    Burlington Stores2019-07-06
  9. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent for the amount of work

    Cons

    too many hours for part time.

    Burlington Stores2019-06-25
  10. "Unfair working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Massapequa, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burlington Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you don't like being micromanaged than this store is good because they let you do what you want/need to do. The store is always a mess so there's always work to be done, but they don't tell you when or how to do things unless you are new and haven't learned it. Everyone is really friendly which is a plus.

    Cons

    For starters I'm working 30+ hours a week and I'm part time. I had mentioned that I would like to not be working so much since this is only a summer job to make some cash, but they don't listen. The managers make the schedule sometimes the day before the work week starts which is really inconvenient to everyone since you don't know your hours until sometimes 9:30 pm on a Saturday and then find out you open the next... morning. They expect so much from you in such a short amount of time bc the store is so shorthanded. I have also requested a change in my availability because since the store now closes at 11 oclock most days we get out sometimes at midnight if you're closing-- I don't drive and rely on family members and lyfts to get to and from work and staying till almost midnight and frankly not knowing what specific time you get out of work is horrible. This being said when I told two of my managers I couldn't close anymore they were unbothered by the fact that I wouldn't have a ride home some nights.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe when a part timer is working 30+ hours a week and has two days off, don't ask if they're available to work a 6th day. Make the schedule two weeks in advance like most jobs. Actually listen to when an employee's availability and don't schedule them on days they specifically ask you off for. Also when an employee asks you for time off a month in advance do not shrug it off and say it's too late- especially when... you make the schedule on a weekly basis.

    Show More
    Burlington Stores2019-06-17
Found 118 reviews