Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Bob Williams
19 Ratings
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    A bit slow at times

    Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2016-08-04
  2. "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Evanston, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to get your feet wet in marketing. Nice to get experience working in an office if you have never had that before.

    Cons

    Where do I begin.... Aside from the lack of ANY compensation for the work that you are being asked to perform, the management tries to create the illusion that somehow they are doing something for YOU by promising to help you with career prospects after the internship has concluded. This simply is not the case. They will happily take the free labor in doing meaningless tasks around the office such as; taking out trash,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Follow up on promises - Actively try to make interns feel like part of the company, don't exclude them - Pay your interns if you are going to treat them so poorly

    Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2017-02-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience, but not as good as it looks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Evanston, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you're new to the business and trying to learn more, it's a great experience. You learn all about the process and get to talk to cool people sometimes. You also get to work closely with the CEO and Presidents which is nice.

    Cons

    1. It's an unpaid internship. On top of that they make you feel guilty and tell you that you should feel lucky to have this opportunity even though you work normal workday hours all week. 2. A lot of the time they have nothing for you to do. 3. Also, when I was leaving as an intern I specifically asked the CEO and Presidents to write letters of recommendations for me and to reach out to connections they had...

    Show More
    Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2015-09-22
  4. "Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing

    Pros

    They hire their interns eventually if you keep in touch and make the effort. A good portion of their current employees are interns.

    Cons

    The internship is unpaid and on top of that they do not compensate you for gas or parking so all the interns end up paying 80 for parking (a month). The management is very un-inclusive of the interns, they go out together for lunch and do employee outings every month but the interns are never invited. The job frequently consists of doing personal favors for the current company president such as fetching coffee or scanning/mailing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more inclusive all your interns and stop making them do personal favors for you. It's an unpaid internship they are here to LEARN please don't make them feel degraded.

    Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2015-10-09
  5. "Business Development/Social Media Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing

    Pros

    Small business environment, worked with CEO and VPs, to get real insight into the company

    Cons

    very niche company, would be hard to qualify for other jobs

    Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2015-08-18
  6. "Internship - Overall Valuable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern in Evanston, IL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The internship program will help you get your foot in the door elsewhere. It sucks not getting paid, but it is worth it if you do not have prior experience. Since it is not paid, I would recommend learning as much as you can, and involve yourself in projects across the agency. The full time employees have connections across the industry, so do your best to network.

      Cons

      Unpaid. Interns have a stricter dress code than employees.

      Advice to Management

      Do not require that interns dress nicer than employees. If you do not pay them, you have no leverage, so I would recommend loosening up the program.

      Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2015-06-12
    • "Extremely Beneficial"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing part-time

      Pros

      Very friendly, motivated staff, company is extremely efficient

      Cons

      The office is a little small, however there are a number of employees who work abroad (rarely need to be in office)

      Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2014-12-02
    • "Interesting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern Corp Sales in Evanston, IL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing

      Pros

      Burns has been a good experience. There have been some downsides and many unanswered questions (I sometimes get the feeling that I should not be asking questions because they are busy and can't be bothered by silly intern questions) but overall, the experience has been fun and it has been good to work directly with a CEO and learn directly from him.

      Cons

      On the slow days, you might find yourself wondering why you are there except to answer phones. Also, leaving interns out of Monday mOrning meetings leaves them alone to wonder what is being discussed and why they can't be informed of what is being discussed even though sometimes the interns play a vital role to the company.

      Advice to Management

      Let the interns know exactly what is going on. There have been many employees leave Burns recently and the interns are all curious of why this is happening. If we are expected to exceed expectations like the full time employees do, we should be informed of what is going on at the company so we can fully understand how a small company such as Burns works.

      Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2011-11-09
    • "Great internship Experience/ Good networking"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Evanston, IL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing

      Pros

      -You are able to work along side the CEO and higher level executives of the company - Being able to work on big projects with well known clients -Networking with people who have been in the sport and entertainment industry for many years - Getting hands on experience with a highly regarded company -You are not just working in one area of the company, you are able to learn all sides of the industry.

      Cons

      - 15 week internship that is unpaid - Some times there is repetative reaserch, however it does end up being beneficial for a campaign

      Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2011-08-19
    • "Valuable Internship Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Evanston, IL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing

      Pros

      -High level of involvement -Great experience -Friendly staff -Your input is valued -Sit in on important conference calls -Assigned work is vital to the success of the company -You get involved in important projects -They are understanding about needing time off -Looks great on your resume -Will help you gain employment -They are very willing to recommend your work if you are deserving -Great intra-office communication...

      Show More

      Cons

      -Unpaid, but the experience is as great as you make it -Some remedial work, but someone has to do it and it's an important foundation to your experience

      Advice to Management

      Continue the high level of involvement you provide to your interns. The experience I gained interning at Burns and the recommendations from Burns staff members were vital to my success in gaining employment.

      Burns Entertainment And Sports Marketing2011-08-11
    Found 22 reviews