Burns & McDonnell "employee stock ownership" Reviews | Glassdoor

Burns & McDonnell Employee Reviews about "employee stock ownership"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Burns & McDonnell CEO  Ray Kowalik  (no image)
Ray Kowalik
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee stock ownership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Conservative Workplace with Freedom to Make your own Path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Chemical Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work on a variety of projects in engineering fields, building a wide breadth of technical experience. Management is supportive and encourages employees to innovate, pursue new project opportunities, and continue professional education and development. Employee stock ownership program (ESOP) is a big perk. I have friendships with a lot of other employees.

    Cons

    Some benefits, like PTO/remote working and maternity/paternity leave are behind the times.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Atmosphere for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time

    Pros

    The employee ownership mentality creates opportunities for growth and teamwork that can't be replicated.

    Cons

    At times, the ownership mentality doesn't balance well with work-life balance.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-08-22
  3. "Burns&McDonnell is a fantastic company with plenty of opportunity for professional growth and development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Ownership. Family values. Hard working, driven personnel who consistently show up to perform well. You will never feel like someone isn't 'pulling their weight' - everyone is competent!

    Cons

    You will earn your keep and put in the time! Deadlines are relevant and so is accuracy so be ready to be challenged.

    Advice to Management

    The lion must always consider the ant.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Staff Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Structural Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quality of the people hired here is second to none! Flexible work hours, fair compensation, employee ownership, and ESOP top the list!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-06-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    ""Best Place to Work" for good reason..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced engineering environment with a ton of growth opportunity for go-getters. The people are super friendly, driven, and motivated and there's an awesome culture in and out of the office. Pay is absolutely top-notch for those willing to go above-and-beyond. The employee-stock-ownership-program is a massive cherry on-top that puts other ESOPs to shame. Always feels great to work for a company that gets... so much recognition for being #1 in the industry for the work they do and how they treat their employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Expectations are high for people to get in, knock out projects, and wow clients. This is not your show up and kick-back type of job. You're expected to work hard, but get rewarded very well for it.

    Advice to Management

    The company is growing quickly and primarily through on-campus hiring. Keep listening to the newgrads... they're the future of the company!

    Burns & McDonnell2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (7)

    "New Employee Owner with 4 months experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Controls Specialist in Conshohocken, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time

    Pros

    Some great benefits, much better than my last employer. Compensation is a little convoluted, I actually took less base pay, but make much more with bonuses. Additionally, there is also an employee stock ownership program. They give me the resources I need to succeed in my position. My previous employer refused to upgrade my computer even though it would repeatedly crash and make me unproductive.

    Cons

    My workload is less than I had envisioned when I joined, but I do not expect that to be the norm. The industry is cyclical, I've had slow times before, and I will be wishing for them when it gets busy. I wish the work schedule was a little more flexible also. I work 5-8's now, I used to work a half day Friday, or would work a full Friday and get the next Friday off.

    Advice to Management

    A more flexible work schedule would be nice. Either a flex 80 schedule or a 4-9's and a 4 schedule would allow for more time at home to do chores or run errands, which allow more quality time with family.

    Burns & McDonnell2018-08-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, good employee ownership both in profit sharing and long term decision making

    Cons

    Not enough paid time off / vacation

    Advice to Management

    Increase PTO for entry levels

    Burns & McDonnell2018-03-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee ownership culture, great coworkers and team environment

    Cons

    Work-life balance, limited advancement opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, reward your top performers. Hire true leaders as managers.

    Burns & McDonnell2018-01-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell

    Pros

    Burns & McDonnell's employee ownership is one of the main reasons to work here. Great place to work!

    Cons

    Oversight is sometimes lacking which can lead to some errors not being caught until later in the work.

    Burns & McDonnell2017-09-12
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time

    Pros

    Employee Ownership, Entrepreneurial Environment, Company Culture

    Cons

    Sometimes lengthy work hours per week

    Burns & McDonnell2017-08-09
Found 39 reviews