Burns & McDonnell "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Burns & McDonnell Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Burns & McDonnell CEO  Ray Kowalik  (no image)
Ray Kowalik
146 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Overall an amazing experience at Burns & Mac"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - T&D Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone is extremely friendly and are willing to work extremely hard. You'll be surrounded by a world-class consulting team.

    Cons

    Work - Life Balance for sure needs some work.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-10-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Atmosphere for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time

    Pros

    The employee ownership mentality creates opportunities for growth and teamwork that can't be replicated.

    Cons

    At times, the ownership mentality doesn't balance well with work-life balance.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-08-22
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company, Low pay, long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Geologist in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. People in the department are overall excellent coworkers. Continuous different types of work. time and half overtime is what you will live for.

    Cons

    Travel all the time but no per Diem. Low base pay, like really low. Outlook for career advancement is low to non existent because most of the project management has been in the same position and same projects for many years. Expect to work weekends sometimes, base pay is well under the median pay for the area, you wont be able to save any money for retirement or fun stuff, just able to make ends meet most months.... maybe in negative other months when you don't get over time. Raises at the end of the year are .50 more an hour which dont do much for your annual salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your field people more starting out and they will want to stay and keep up the quality of work that Burns is known for.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-06-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Won't Find Anywhere Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The biggest pro is management who truly cares about their staff. Every manager from the head of the office through the department managers genuinely wants their employees to be successful, and will do everything in their power to help them. The ESOP will ensure you never have to worry about retirement, but the culture it creates is almost more important. Everyone is working towards the same goal which creates a... great team environment and not the competitive culture you'd see at many other firms. It is not necessary to step on other people to get promoted, if you do great work you'll be rewarded properly. While it is a challenging place to work management knows and will recognize when things get tough. They care about work/life balance and want to make sure no one gets overloaded.

    Show More

    Cons

    Headquarters gets many perks the regionals don't get, like a full service gym.

    Burns & McDonnell2019-05-24
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Assistant GIS Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Emphasis on Work/life balance, office is very nice, great team

    Cons

    as a contingent worker, you often feel left out

    Burns & McDonnell2019-02-15
  6. Helpful (28)

    "Very Underutilized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company has a world class ESOP program, at least historically speaking. The company valuation has done nothing but go up since the ESOP was created in the 80’s, which is both promising, and a little concerning. I get skeptical whenever valuation increases exponentially for extended periods of time, however currently, the ESOP is great. Many great engineers work for Burns and Mac. Like any place, there are good... and bad, but I felt that most were very capable and hard working. Burns and Mac will likely give you the opportunity to work on large scale, high profile projects. Now, your role on those projects may or may not be one of great significance or importance, but, you will likely have some exposure to large projects.

    Show More

    Cons

    I began my engineering career with Burns and Mac, and let me say, I was very excited to be with the company. I had hopes of spending my entire career there. I had high expectations to grow myself both technically and professionally, and truly wanted to become a vital member of every project that I was involved with. My goal was to not only become technically excellent, but also to learn the ins and outs of the... business, and to one day become a leader within my department or the company as a whole. Starting out I hit the ground running, and, took on work at a commendable pace. I frequently received praise for my ability to learn quickly and to produce great work. Things seemed very promising. As time went on however, it became evident that individuals in the department were treated far from fairly. Our projects were very multi-disciplinary, therefore, many different engineering disciplines were involved. A clear hierarchy became evident. This hierarchy had nothing to do with age, experience, technical or managerial proficiency, but was determined strictly from the engineering discipline that you happened to be a part of. There was little to no expectation for supporting disciplines to further themselves technically or professionally. Never was I encouraged to join professional societies, attend conferences, pursue certificates or accreditations beyond the P.E., etc. Moreover, I was given no involvement in project decision making, project management training, client interaction, or business development. My position had essentially no technical or professional mentorship, and, seemed to be viewed as “overhead” from project managers. At one point, I was told by a manager that “you don’t get to have a say in the matter, you’re just supposed to just make it work.” My typical work duties consisted of tasks not that different from an engineering draftsman, often, with younger less experienced engineers directing my efforts. These engineers were no more qualified than me, but, were of a discipline higher on the hierarchy, therefore, were more often treated as assistant project managers, and received 100% of the mentorship from team leaders and project managers. Many senior support engineers were treated essentially as draftsmen, and, given no project insight beyond what was determined to be relevant to their respective role. On multiple occasions, I was directed by less experienced engineers (higher on the hierarchy of course), to begin working on a project, of which I had never even heard of. Usually, there had been a project kickoff meeting the previous week, however, none of the support staff were invited. The blatant lack of respect from project managers, and junior engineers on their way to becoming project managers, was astounding. This dynamic seemed to get worse and worse over time. Now, despite my dissatisfaction, I stayed with the company and continued to receive praise. For over a year, I expressed interest in greater project involvement, client interaction, and even expanding my role into new markets, however, no action of any sort was taken by managers. Not only was the work a dead end in terms of professional growth, but work-life balance was abysmal. The department was obsessed with operating as lean as possible, particularly regarding support engineers. Throughout my tenure with the company, work life balance went from moderately poor to completely unsustainable. Project managers were hired, and workload grew, meanwhile, no additional support staff were hired until absolutely necessary. I am a very hard worker, and genuinely worked as hard as I could to learn quickly and to hopefully advance. I embraced the workload challenge, and, hoped that it would set me apart from others. This very clearly was a mistake, as managers soon started taking advantage of my hard-working tendencies. My technical and menial workload grew and grew, and absolutely no exposure to project management or client interaction was given. To summarize, I’ll say that Burns and Mac is a highly successful company that clearly knows how to execute high level projects efficiently and profitably, BUT, to me, this alone doesn’t make it a great place to work. This company receives frequent praise for being one of the best engineering companies out there, which to me, seems to be predicated only by its financial commitment to employees (salary, ESOP, bonuses), and in no way it’s commitment to employee’s happiness. I saw first-hand, and experienced, blatant overwork and burnout, lack of opportunity, disrespect, and a disregard for individual’s opinions and considerations. Like I mentioned earlier, I was once very proud to work for this company, and, am sad to say that I am very disappointed with my experience there.

    Show More
    Burns & McDonnell2019-02-23
  7. Helpful (7)

    "No transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    ESOP Total compensation Networking company

    Cons

    Work life balance Transparency Nepotism

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with corporate principles and values - company and leadership talk a huge game but follow through on very little

    Burns & McDonnell2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Strong and healthy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a great, solid and diverse company. The employees are very committed and work hard to make it successful. The ESOP is fantastic and benefits aren’t too bad. The Houston office leadership is strong. The VP of Projects in T&D is one of the sharpest project management minds I’ve ever met. Leadership trains employees responsibly and stress mentorship. The DM of T&D is very experienced, sharp technically... and manages the department well. Plenty of design-build projects that are rewarding.

    Show More

    Cons

    I struggle with the Houston office location. It’s a very long commute through terrible traffic. If Exxon can move 10,000 employees, we can move 700. I really wish they would relocate, or create a satellite office up north. This is not really a con, more of a warning. This company isn’t for everyone. If you need your hand held through life, you won’t make it. It’s very performance driven and work life balance... definitely tends to tip towards work at times. The rewards for hard work though are excellent here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow smartly and be careful in the interview process, especially with new hires.

    Burns & McDonnell2018-12-22
  9. "Incredible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & McDonnell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay/Bonus/ESOP compensation structure Flexible hours and good work/life balance Self starter atmosphere, everyone works hard and pulls their own weight Fellow EOs that want you to succeed Unique, creative, fun people, not your typical engineers

    Cons

    Workload waxes and wains unpredictably You gotta work hard to succeed (could be a con for some people)

    Advice to Management

    More feedback on performance

    Burns & McDonnell2018-11-22
  10. "Construction Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & McDonnell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, time off, and benefits, great overall package.

    Cons

    Work / Life balance is a struggle at times with work load.

    Burns & McDonnell2018-11-05
Found 63 reviews