Burns & Wilcox Reviews | Glassdoor

Burns & Wilcox Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Alan Jay Kaufman
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Access to a lot of great carriers, training, paid certifications / designations(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with OUTSIDE of the management(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management keeps all the good agents and gives the low earners to the other underwriters, gives extra days off favors only to his team(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is encouraged verbally, but then countered by a culture of having everything done before you go home(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Broker Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broker Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Access to a lot of carriers, great client relationships, and positive working environment.

    Cons

    It takes a long time and a lot of training to really learn the business but can be pretty lucrative if you stick with it.

    Advice to Management

    Still some kinks to work out with the overall parent company culture. Invest more time and money into your employees than into your corporate sponsorships. Follow up with branch level managers to ensure they are progressing their employees and giving everyone a chance to be promoted.

    Burns & Wilcox2018-06-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The KC branch has great people, a fun environment, and many opportunities to grow your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Underwriter in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun and knowledgeable coworkers Opportunities for growth Interesting work Good work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. I would work here again.

    Advice to Management

    Management in the KC office is wonderful!

    Burns & Wilcox2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could rethink accepting a job here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They've recently updated benefits to 12 weeks for maternity, and given additional PTO days. They've also added the option of flex time, but this is 100% up to the manager of the office you're at.

    Cons

    Blatant favoritism in the office I worked at, if you weren't best friends with the manager, you could forget doing well at the job. Pay was WAY below industry standard. Information you gave to the manager could and would be shared with anyone in the office, including information about performance. Flex time was not allowed at the office I was at, and even though it was a salary position, you were given zero flexibility....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at your offices-if you have a bunch of employees quitting under one manager, there's a reason.

    Burns & Wilcox2019-05-04
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly environmenta and very helpful co-workers and management

    Cons

    Very few young professionals in office.

    Advice to Management

    Treat each employee as valuable.

    Burns & Wilcox2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The people are great. I was paid well. They have a lot of benefits.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Burns & Wilcox2019-02-19
  6. "Great Family Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broker in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, opportunity to grow, good place to learn the business

    Cons

    Management could be more transparent and provide more feedback

    Advice to Management

    Provide better career guidance and transparency

    Burns & Wilcox2019-02-06
  7. "Fantastic Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -An Unbelievable Work Environment -Great Management -There isn't a long waiting period to be put on a team, only took about 1.5 months to be assigned to a team -Extremely fun work environment -Tons of fun to go on client visits

    Cons

    -Office is a little cold

    Burns & Wilcox2019-01-29
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Burns & Wilcox full-time

      Pros

      Great advancement opportunities and development

      Cons

      No cons currently that I can think of

      Burns & Wilcox2019-01-14
    • "Great people, great experience, not so great management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Underwriter 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Burns & Wilcox full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Exposure to many areas of Surplus Lines. Underwriting, brokerage, marketing

      Cons

      Difficult to move up in small markets, competing against other offices for the same business, normally expected to work from out of office putting in 40+ hours on most weeks (from home)

      Advice to Management

      Take care of the hard working great employees you have.

      Burns & Wilcox2019-01-21
    • "Assistant Underwriter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Burns & Wilcox full-time

        Pros

        Great place to learn the insurance business and make connections.

        Cons

        It’s a grind of endless tasks, poor technology.

        Burns & Wilcox2018-12-09
      Found 137 reviews