BuroHappold Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
BuroHappold Chief Executive Officer Neil Squibbs (no image)
Neil Squibbs
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Workplace bullying from senior management affects the culture negatively(in 12 reviews)

  • "The desire to exceed expectations can eat into work life balance(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to learn on complex design projects"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, leadership, training and opportunity

    Cons

    Lots to learn, long hours

    BuroHappold2019-12-31

    BuroHappold Response

    January 7, 2020Global Head of Inclusion, Diversity & Engagement

    Hi There Really appreciate you taking the time to share this thank you. It's great to hear you're enjoying your time with us. I'm mindful of your long hours comments, so please ensure you reach out to your line manager or HR representative if this is a concern. Remember to check out our Wellbeing information on the Intranet too. Many Thanks Lucy

  2. "Chaos trickles down. Clients notice."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Proud brand and innovative work

    Cons

    Bipolar management structure, poor support systems

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2020-04-05

    BuroHappold Response

    May 4, 2020HR Insights and Reporting Analyst

    Hi There Thank you for taking the time to provide such useful feedback. It’s obviously disappointing to hear this is your experience at Buro Happold but your insights will allow us to learn and grow as an organization. Our leadership is always open to hearing constructive feedback from staff at all levels within the firm and we encourage you to speak directly with your leadership team about your concerns. In addition, we will take your comments back to leadership to encourage positive change making us a stronger firm. Our HR colleagues in the US have read your review and have commented that they would be happy to discuss these with you in more detail (maintaining your anonymity) if you feel that would be helpful - if so please get in touch with John to have a confidential discussion. Thanks again for your time.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Former Support Staff Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    People, Benefits, Environment, Team, Challenging

    Cons

    Training, Development, Turnover, Disorganization, HR

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2018-10-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Intern Consultant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in London, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold for less than a year

    Pros

    it was a perfect internship

    Cons

    there were no cons at all

    BuroHappold2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Work experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Mechanical Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, interesting and varied projects, great environment to learn new tools and skills

    Cons

    Long hours, rush during deadlines

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2018-08-07
  6. "Group Coordinator"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great company events, great PTO.

    Cons

    Bad training, no guidance, poor management

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2018-05-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Engineering for BuroHappold for 5 years"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BuroHappold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BH has a remarkable breadth of amazing projects. No project BH takes on is easy or strait forward, everything is challenging and unique. Managers try push engineers in ways that put them out of there comfort zone to help grow. At BH you rarely specialize but become a very well rounded engineer. The work environment is incredibly helpful and nurturing. If you prefer a competitive environment, this is not the office for you.

    Cons

    BH New York office's increased turnover in staff over the last few years has really decreased the sense of community the office once had. BH is a UK based company and working in the US can feel at times like working at a satellite office that lacks the many of the benefits of the mane office. Top down communication is not waht it should be.

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2018-04-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Director"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    doing very high profile projects around the world

    Cons

    too UK centric, lack of global vision

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2018-03-22

    BuroHappold Response

    April 10, 2018Digital Graduate Lead

    Hello, thanks for your review and sharing the honest feedback. We are a UK born organisation, and are now offering our expertise across a much wider demographic. In turn this has enabled us to partner with a more diverse client group which shall only grow over time.

  9. "good ambitions but chaotic set up"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuroHappold full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    they have smart energetic talents that would like to perform at high level.

    Cons

    the company has ambitious goals, but their management style thrives on unstable restructure moves every year. it is a revolving door of young energy. The management is not keen to keep a staple platform for growth.

    Continue reading
    BuroHappold2018-01-30
  10. "Electrical engineer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BuroHappold full-time

    Pros

    Nice Projects to work on

    Cons

    Overloaded with work as most other consultancies, work life balance poor.

    BuroHappold2017-11-16
Viewing 1 - 10 of 219 Reviews