Burson-Marsteller Harold Burson Summer Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Burson-Marsteller Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 313 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Burson-Marsteller CEO Donald A. Baer
Donald A. Baer
119 Ratings
  1. "Great Learning Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Associate 

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very interesting work, excellent work experience on diverse set of projects - issues, corporate affairs, etc.

    Cons

    review cycles are rare and pay is low

    Burson-Marsteller2019-09-09
  2. "Need to want to work a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there is room for growth

    Cons

    the workload and hours can be a lot

    Burson-Marsteller2019-09-11
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller for more than a year

    Pros

    Significant variety of work and experience. Ability to find the type of work that suites your strengths.

    Cons

    Competitive environment and not much of a work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage upward mobility through business development.

    Burson-Marsteller2018-11-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Make this your last option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Burson-Marsteller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    office space/ Everyone is leaving or left

    Cons

    Low Pay No Diversity Lacks Leadership Over Worked/ Under Paid

    Advice to Management

    Start Over

    Burson-Marsteller2018-10-30
  5. "Great people, but very siloed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time

    Pros

    Teams are all very friendly and it's easy to get the job done.

    Cons

    Often too big/too siloed to respond in an agile way to changes in the industry/client requests (has to go through too many people).

    Burson-Marsteller2018-09-25
  6. "an intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller

    Pros

    Best internship experience I've had thus far in terms of rigor and expectations.

    Cons

    Good or bad: each day is different

    Burson-Marsteller2018-09-12
  7. "Pleasant work environment but lacked well trained management in my department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good corporate culture and people

    Cons

    Management in my department was not qualified for position and couldn't provide proper support

    Burson-Marsteller2018-09-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "BM 101"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting clients, generally smart coworkers, great agency training.

    Cons

    Low pay, 24/7, intense company culture (not feeling comfortable taking a sick day or using vacation etc.), sexist (men get paid more and move up quicker than women).

    Advice to Management

    Hire more women in upper management positions. Pay people what they are actually worth.

    Burson-Marsteller2018-07-25
  9. "A company adrift and not adapted to the changing face of PR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few smart, seasoned people left.

    Cons

    Company adrift with poor quality execs who don't know how to reinvent the business.

    Advice to Management

    WPP needs to step in and remove senior management and replace with game changers, not shuffle in people from a consumer PR agency and think they know how to do corporate reputation work in the modern era.

    Burson-Marsteller2018-09-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional with hiring process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Burson-Marsteller full-time

    Pros

    •Clients •Reputation •Interview questions •Location

    Cons

    Received a verbal offer for a position, and was told it would be a few weeks to finalize through the department. Three months passed, and no word from interviewer. After many follow-up e-mails unanswered, I was left to assume the position was not on the table. This is highly unprofessional. For an established company, the hiring process should not be this challenging. I received an offer for a great position but... something ‘came up’ and I was no longer utilized or informed. Not a fan.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the hiring process, communicate frequently with those hired, and treat them like they are valuable. After all, they are working for you!

    Burson-Marsteller2018-08-09
Found 313 reviews