Burt's Bees Reviews | Glassdoor

Burt's Bees Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Burt's Bees CEO Benno Dorer
Benno Dorer
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Burt's Bees full-time

    Pros

    its a nice place to work

    Cons

    theres just too many bees

    Burt's Bees2017-11-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Product Terrible People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Burt's Bees full-time

    Pros

    The product is great and I continue to use it to this day.

    Cons

    The work culture was toxic. Coerced employees to quit with tactics including manipulation of "perception". Expected long hours, including weekends, and if you took vacation time you were criticized. Lack of cohesive reporting tools

    Burt's Bees2019-06-07
  3. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EIC Engineering 

    I have been working at Burt's Bees full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Production is only 4 days a week

    Cons

    Engineering works Fridays and Saturday 50% of the year.

    Burt's Bees2018-01-19
  4. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burt's Bees full-time

    Pros

    Constant work. Not a place if you dont want to stay busy.

    Cons

    Dont be late! Each minute cost production.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more opportunity

    Burt's Bees2017-08-08
  5. "Global Director-Retail Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Burt's Bees full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Brand. Great people. Fun category.

    Cons

    Myopic focus. Not risk takers. Category isn't growing the way it was 5 years ago.

    Advice to Management

    Create NEW categories to enter into. Focus on adjacent categories. Minimize investment in Lip products as they are defining the where the company can play now in the eyes of the consumer.

    Burt's Bees2017-08-07
  6. "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Burt's Bees full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture Does what is good for everyone Free products

    Cons

    You always stay very busy

    Burt's Bees2017-06-05
  7. "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burt's Bees

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule with a high emphasis on work-life balance.

    Cons

    Pay is middle of the road.

    Advice to Management

    Make decisions faster.

    Burt's Bees2017-05-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Support Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Burt's Bees full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture! Fantastic leadership. Products you can believe in and promote.

    Cons

    Owned by Clorox, so integration took many jobs away from area. They have worked to keep brand whole, but the integration came at a cost to many departments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Burt's culture alive! I loved working there and would return if a position opened up.

    Burt's Bees2017-01-02
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Burts Bees Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burt's Bees for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and group of people to work with. Burt's Bees is a great company that practice what they preach.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Burt's Bees2016-11-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Filling Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    FILLING TECH in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Burt's Bees

    Pros

    4 day week. Insurance is competitive, co workers are good.

    Cons

    Mgmt is the biggest problem. No obvious leadership and priorities are on the least important things. Good place if you don't mind having "leaders" that truly know less than most of their subordinates. This is one reason turnover is unusually high. "Do as I say, not as I do" atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    If you talk the talk, walk the walk. When you don't, you lose credibility and respect. That's where we are now. It could easily be a good job- you really need to change the culture on day shift if you want to retain intelligent, talented people. Some groups of employees try to run new people away if they are not like them. It's just their insecurity and fear that these people will take their jobs because of the... language barrier. I have experienced it every day when I started. That's the truth and they have ran away some good people. Pay attention to the "leaders" you trust to run the floor- there are some major problems with some of them. We also need a training program. What we have is lacking at best and dangerous at worst. Not just anyone can be an effective trainer and that is a problem. There's no real system- just paperwork that most people pencil whip. It's going to be a real problem one day. Please stop recognizing people that everyone on the floor knows are incompetent. It really does hurt morale. Talk with different people on the floor instead of the same old ones and you'll get a better perspective. I do hope you will think about this. I do believe most upper mgmt people are really smart and do the right thing. The leadership on the floor leaves a LOT to be desired. They really need to understand their actual role and not try to overstep their bounds. Type A personalities don't always make good leaders. If you can't interact with people and lead by example, they will resist anything you do. I sincerely hope you will at least think about this. If not, I guess its status quo for us.

    Show More
    Burt's Bees2016-09-20
Found 39 reviews