Business Intelligence Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Business Intelligence Associates Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Business Intelligence Associates CEO Brian Schrader
Brian Schrader
4 Ratings
  1. "Great team of people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Business Intelligence Associates full-time

    Pros

    - Excellent team environment - Great production level systems - Group lunch Fridays - Really good management - Excellent location and views - Modern technologies - Great team planning

    Cons

    - Sometimes work was all over the board. One day it would be fix this, the next day was work on that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. I think a lot of companies should follow a similar paradigm.

    Business Intelligence Associates2018-01-16
  2. "Fabulous Founders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Business Intelligence Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You'll never meet two founders who work together as well as these two do, who are as smart and genuinely caring as they are. You would expect licensed attorneys who are also highly technical to demonstrate and ego, and neither do. They genuinely understand the process of discovery better than pretty much anyone else in the industry, and always set out to do the right thing by their clients and employees. This is... a great place to learn about the industry and contribute in operations or sales.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are really very few. There is no perfect environment and since this requires a minimum, I will just use up the space saying there is nothing of note.

    Business Intelligence Associates2017-04-30
  3. "Excellent company , feels like home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Business Intelligence Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance, great pay

    Cons

    beurocratic, deal with lazy people..inefficient

    Business Intelligence Associates2013-09-10
  4. "Poor leadership, great product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Systems in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Business Intelligence Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small, agile, startup atmosphere, although the start-up thing is a worn button now

    Cons

    No, distinct leadership. I did not feel they were their for the employees they invest in. Managers micromanage and little respect is given for trying and doing.

    Advice to Management

    Shred the pork in your leadership and start placing management in the hands of your workers and not the micro managing control freaks you have enlisted in your ranks.

    Business Intelligence Associates2013-03-21

    Business Intelligence Associates Response

    August 8, 2013President

    Unfortunately, some equate the need to closely monitor underperforming employees as micro-management. Contrary to this post, BIA's management team strives to find team members who have the skill, knowledge and expertise to accomplish their job objectives and responsibilities without ...

    Show More
  5. "Company needs to mature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Business Intelligence Associates

    Pros

    Small company with no political overhead. Ability to have an major impact on the product. Flexible work schedule. Interesting problems

    Cons

    Disorganized executive leadership Processes need to mature Poor communication

    Advice to Management

    It's great to be agile, but a better process for decision-making and executing against those decisions would help drive a more solid product to market faster.

    Business Intelligence Associates2010-06-08

    Business Intelligence Associates Response

    August 8, 2013President

    As always, we strive to keep a very open door policy and wish that more employees felt comfortable sharing their thoughts while they were still here. Every management team could do better, and we're constantly striving to increase our focus, provide better products and respond quickly ...

    Show More
  6. "Pros: Fast growing company. Strong leadership. Cons: Compensation not competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Business Intelligence Associates

    Pros

    Business Intelligence Associates is a small, but fast-growing company. If you are in early, you have the best chance of moving up in ranks. Employees are easy to work with. Company outings and free snacks are some of the perks. Focused executives leading the company in the right direction. Expanding even in a dwindling economy.

    Cons

    Compensation not as competitive as other companies. Training is insufficient. Hard work is recognized, but not rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Better training for employees. Technology is constantly changing and employees need to keep up with the times.

    Business Intelligence Associates2009-05-09

    Business Intelligence Associates Response

    August 8, 2013President

    Thank you for the overall glowing review! As for the training and compensation concerns, those clearly have changed over the years. BIA has taken on very aggressive training initiatives, including steps like requiring all Project Managers to be ACEDS certified! Every manager has ...

    Show More
  7. "Good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Business Intelligence Associates for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance in this company

    Cons

    Not great innovation in this company

    Advice to Management

    Try to be innovative Adopt technologies

    Business Intelligence Associates2018-10-19
  8. "Great technology; interesting business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Business Intelligence Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting technology - Dynamic start-up like environment - Nice perks; such as free breakfast and snacks - Positive culture; friendly people

    Cons

    - Some sense of instability - Senior management doesn't always seem grounded in reality

    Advice to Management

    - Focus more on core business opportunities

    Business Intelligence Associates2012-06-12

    Business Intelligence Associates Response

    August 8, 2013President

    It's always great to hear ideas, even better when they come from employees while they are here. I just wish this employee would have taken advantage of our open door policy. We're always striving to make BIA a great place to work and the best provider in the industry!

  9. "Very hands on role, alot of technical knowledge required, however, lots of training given."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Business Intelligence Associates

    Pros

    training and development opportunities are excellent,

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons i suppose one could be the salary could be better

    Business Intelligence Associates2011-01-19

    Business Intelligence Associates Response

    August 8, 2013President

    It's wonderful to hear the great feedback! Who wouldn't like to make a little more money, right? Thank you for your comments!

  10. "Good Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in

    I have been working at Business Intelligence Associates

    Pros

    Good place to work, like the people, the pay is all right. There is a lot that can be learned here.

    Cons

    THe hours can be long but that is just how things are in this business. Some office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people as they deserve to be treated. Have a fair and well devised incentive structure would best fulfill that end.

    Business Intelligence Associates2010-01-22

    Business Intelligence Associates Response

    August 8, 2013President

    Glad to hear that you enjoy working with BIA and value your team! The hours can be long, but what sector of the legal business doesn't have it's share of late nights? Since this posting, we've made some great strides in furthering our incentive programs - even instituting a monthly ...

    Show More
Found 11 reviews