Byrne Dairy Reviews | Glassdoor

Byrne Dairy Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
38%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Byrne Dairy President Carl Byrne
Carl Byrne
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free milk and juice, but only school lunch size cartons, can't take home, have to drink there(in 3 reviews)

  • "Pay compared to work: Decent pay for the position, though not as competitive as other, similar positions(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "A lot is expected of store management, communication needs some work(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cold Storage 

    I worked at Byrne Dairy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for . Benefits

    Cons

    I didn’t have any cons working here

    Byrne Dairy2020-01-04
  2. "Toxic co-workers in the maintenance dept. No career advancements. Supervisors are idiots."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in East Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good chocolate milk, best I've had.

    Cons

    Everything listed in the Review.

    Byrne Dairy2020-03-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a summer job, but long-term headaches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Skaneateles, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    +You get to work with numerous amounts of people. +Bonus time on federal holidays. +Shifts were the same time frame throughout the week.

    Cons

    -Ridiculously high turnover rate. (In my years there I saw 50+ people come and go, including SEVEN Managers and Assistant Managers.) -Schedules were typically made the Wednesday before the new week, limiting the amount of appointments/plans you can try to schedule. -Upper management doesn't care about store-level employees. If you have an issue with the store manager or anyone "above" you, the only way anything would get done is to go above the district manager to the HR department, and even then it would be a surprise if anything would get done.

    Continue reading
    Byrne Dairy2019-10-01
  4. "Fair Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Filler Operator in Cortland, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to move off of nights and was promoted once in two years.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover. Still trying to solidify customer base.

    Byrne Dairy2019-08-26
  5. "Forklift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift/Cooler Operator in East Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy, fast paced, safe, reliable

    Cons

    Can Bad conditions at times

    Byrne Dairy2019-07-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Management Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician I in East Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent job, ok pay, 10 hour shifts 4 days on 3 days off.

    Cons

    Management would overload with tasks to do during shift and had unrealistic expectations, particularly when there are always problems that come up that require us to handle. I also had some issues with their lack of ethics.

    Continue reading
    Byrne Dairy2019-06-12
  7. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Byrne Dairy part-time

    Pros

    Everything the hours they really try to help you out

    Cons

    401k matching and the vacation time

    Byrne Dairy2019-06-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "They entise to hire then lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store General Manager in Penn Yan, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Liked the work and Trumansburg store

    Cons

    Hated the way they train and who was trainer...did not tell me of full job expectations of being on call 24/7 with no extra pay

    Continue reading
    Byrne Dairy2019-06-17
  9. "I wouldn't work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSD Driver in Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money was good but you have to work 6 days to make anything

    Cons

    Too many to list.. delays are the worst

    Continue reading
    Byrne Dairy2019-05-08
  10. "Get Ready to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Byrne Dairy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours to work

    Cons

    Get ready to be called in all the time

    Byrne Dairy2019-04-12
Found 64 reviews