C.W. Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

C.W. Driver Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Dana Roberts
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Managed BIM scope for construction projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bim Manager in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Results Oriented Work Environment. Amazing team to work with. Executive support and trust. All of us were treated like family! Great leadership.

    Cons

    Driver doesn’t self-perform work, so BIM’s potentially was only partially realized. Overall, Driver is a great company who I would highly recommend.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for treating your employees like family!

    C.W. Driver2017-12-17
  2. "In Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO cares about the people Get to work on very interesting and exciting projects

    Cons

    Since 2010, it’s seems the company does not know what it’s identiy is. It felt as if we always had a few really bad projects. At some point, you start to question if there is a pattern and reason for it beyond the luck of the draw.

    Advice to Management

    What people loved about driver seems to be dated prior to 2010. Company has to find away to retain those previous values during periods of growth and transformation.

    C.W. Driver2019-03-24
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Anaheim, CA

      I have been working at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent potential to grow and shape your career independently.

      Cons

      Less than average compensation package

      C.W. Driver2019-03-07
    • "Trying to be a bigshot company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Pay all of your health insurance

      Cons

      The company really drops off after upper managenent. This senior level believes they are infallible, while screwing up each and every job. No wonder Driver hasn't made a profit in 7 years.

      Advice to Management

      Promote better people. The ones who you work to death because they accept the job responsibilities, not the ones who sherk responsibility to a subordinate

      C.W. Driver2019-02-27
    • "Lots of history since 1901"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in Pasadena, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good projects to work on

      Cons

      Changes in management happen alot

      C.W. Driver2019-02-13
    • "NorCal Office incompetence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at C.W. Driver full-time

      Pros

      -Small Company feel -In the southern California region, this company excels and treats their employees well.

      Cons

      -The management has no idea what they're doing -Never once had I received a training on how to perform any aspect of my job -Upper management never cared to check in with me on any of my progress -The San Jose branch might have one company event per year. -I would send emails to my superior asking for help/advice and would never get a reply. -There were projects that had not been...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Close down. This company has lost money on almost every project that they have touched. With a lack of communication/respect to any of its employees and no sign of progress, all they are doing is tarnishing the good name of C.W Driver.

      C.W. Driver2018-09-25
    • "Horrible in NorCal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Manager in San Mateo, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at C.W. Driver full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits. They use technology well, ie BIM

      Cons

      Little to no admin support, NorCal division is in shambles and they will make promises to land new hires that are complete BS. Its probably a good place to work in SoCal but not up north

      Advice to Management

      large projects need support teams, not jut useless upper management that blows smoke... need a stable sr management team and to keep those teams in place. Changing teams and re organizing every 3-4 months creates massive confusion and loss of productivity

      C.W. Driver2018-04-02
    • "Senior Project Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Decent pay and decent benefits.

      Cons

      Very poor leadership from the senior level employees. Poor development of new employees. Zero orientation or training programs. C. W. Driver staffs for the projects that they currently have with no foresight of lulls in the industry, and I've seen many good employees get let go for this reason. Most employees I've met are over-worked and do not have a good work-life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Put a training program in place for new hire employees. Invest in senior level employees' leadership skills. Incentivize hard work. Give employees a periodic performance review.

      C.W. Driver2017-09-06
    • "Senior Project Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at C.W. Driver full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits compared to competitors.

      Cons

      Tiers of management positions are more than necessary.

      Advice to Management

      More open communication regarding career advancement.

      C.W. Driver2016-12-14
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - APM in Pasadena, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at C.W. Driver full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Projects are very interesting. Get to see a lot of different project types. Pretty good embrace of technology.

      Cons

      Project staffing needs to be better. Project staffing needs to be better.

      C.W. Driver2016-11-19
    Found 25 reviews