C&J Energy Services Reviews | Glassdoor

C&J Energy Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
C&J Energy Services CEO Don Gawick
Don Gawick
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and plenty of available hours(in 13 reviews)

  • "Also owner and upper management are good people(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Downside working with C&J Energy Service is no 401K and no increase on your pay unless you are friends with VP or any higher up(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper management seems to worry about their well being instead of company's(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great comoany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equipment Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great hours if you want then

    Cons

    Bad favoritism that you can notice right on the spot

    Advice to Management

    Dont give in to the brown nosing.

    C&J Energy Services2019-03-27
  2. "Lots of OT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Operator in Black Lick, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Over time available

    Cons

    No off Work Life

    Advice to Management

    Change Schedule/Shifty

    C&J Energy Services2019-05-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Too much favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Have learned many new things over time and have given basically my life to help make this company successful in the positions I have worked. Benefits are great and very affordable.

    Cons

    If you don't brown nose or are part of the buddy system then you are overlooked and it is very bad in the district I work out of. I feel I have been overlooked many times because I am not part of that group that likes to go drinking every afternoon after work and go to work to do my job and not brown nose to get moved up.

    Advice to Management

    Look at what talent you have within your company and don't be a part of the buddy system when promoting personal because most workers go to work to do their job and give 110 percent and should not be overlooked in being promoted.

    C&J Energy Services2019-03-31
  4. "Frac Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frac Engineer II in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Kind supportive management team who appreciate hard work and talent.

    Cons

    Working in the field = poor work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Increase training for the engineering staff.

    C&J Energy Services2019-01-31
  5. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Lead in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great place for learning, Great benefits

    Cons

    No getting overtime. that is all.

    Advice to Management

    overall management is doing better compared to previous years

    C&J Energy Services2019-01-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Been in the oilfield since I was 21 best company I have worked for yet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator I in Giddings, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Understanding of life situations and pay is above market average by far. If it gets slow they will make sure everyone get a peice if the pie and picks back up fast.

    Cons

    Like anywhere you got a couple bad seeds but they not hard to spot and weed themselves out fast.

    Advice to Management

    If someone says that there ain’t nothing to do around the shop/yard tell them to find me I got a project for’em.

    C&J Energy Services2019-01-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Pay structure is competive and drives performance results they want.

    Cons

    Executive leadership is toxic and breeds backstabbing unless you are in the inner circle. COO changed the company culture negatively and crushed moral. He put favorites in charge that lacked competency, values, and ethics. Company has never been the same since death of Comstock and bankruptcy. Mistakes all related to executive leadership choices

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus on leadership and employees. Treat all employees equal, must get rid of the buddy system and quit using HR and HSE to retaliate against managers and employees.

    C&J Energy Services2019-01-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C&J Energy Services full-time

    Pros

    Pay and the benefits were good.

    Cons

    No time off. Terrible decision making. Upper management places their friends in positions that they don’t deserve.

    Advice to Management

    Stop

    C&J Energy Services2019-01-07
  9. "Pump Operator II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pump Operator in Weatherford, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C&J Energy Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay and plenty of available hours.

    Cons

    A lot of time away from loved ones.

    C&J Energy Services2018-11-28
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pump Operator in Giddings, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C&J Energy Services

    Pros

    Pay scale was really good

    Cons

    Benefits were not that great

    C&J Energy Services2018-11-29
Found 154 reviews