C&S Wholesale Grocers Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
C&S Wholesale Grocers Chairman and CEO Rick Cohen
Rick Cohen
303 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced environment allowing for personal growth(in 31 reviews)

  • "Coming into C&S as a selector you have the potential to make big money(in 28 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Orden selector"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Tracy, CA

    I have been working at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company close to my house good

    Cons

    Im good working any day overtime

    Continue reading
    C&S Wholesale Grocers2018-05-08
  2. "Promise you the moon til u start."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Baldwin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of hours at this job.

    Cons

    Pay is not equal to the bodily demand.

    Continue reading
    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-05-24
  3. "A challenging environment with vast opportunties for career and knowledge growth."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time

    Pros

    Challenging; Growth Opportunities; Community Involvement; Environment that promotes having fun in the process.

    Cons

    Demanding Industry with Thin Margins.

    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-04-30
  4. "Committed to Values"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Westfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced and busy with strong customer service focus

    Cons

    Some customer changes were unplanned

    Continue reading
    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-04-28
  5. "Good pay, rough job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Selector in Westfield, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Definitely will make a lot of money but will be required to work extreme hours unless you're part time.

    Cons

    Physically demanding and mentally exhausting.

    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-04-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Keene, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any. Do not recommend

    Cons

    Toxic, high turnover. Bad management

    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-04-27
  7. "Selector"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Warehouse Selector in Poughkeepsie, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at C&S Wholesale Grocers

    Pros

    Good opportunities for growth. They take care of their people. Show up regularly and be on time and you will be ok.

    Cons

    It is hard work and it is very physical so if you are not up to it you will not last.

    Continue reading
    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-02-23
  8. "Not a bad company to get your foot in the door"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Keene, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A nice place to start an entry-level position and work your way up. Typically 8-5. There are rotational opportunities if you ever wish to change roles and they will promote individuals who work hard and wish to advance.

    Cons

    Some teams can be rigid and unwilling to share information/collaborate. Not everyone acts professionally. Outdated systems that can make your work a real struggle.

    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-02-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Failing Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ok benefits. Co worker and ok to work with but management don't know their rear end from a hole in the ground.

    Cons

    Bad Management. Owner needs to make a decision if he wants to stay in business or not.

    Continue reading
    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-02-23
  10. "C & S reviews of company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at C&S Wholesale Grocers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    hours of working pay for shifts vacation time allotted environment for working location to my home

    Cons

    Hours -some loong shifts pay longs shifts dont help when pay is the same vacation time off is weekly not daily environment of working conditions location of business

    C&S Wholesale Grocers2020-02-06
Found 581 reviews