KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

CACI International

CACI International

Add a Review

CACI International Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 2,306 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
CACI International CEO John S. Mengucci
John S. Mengucci
287 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ok pay and really good benefits(in 104 reviews)

  • "Purpose driven work, work/life balance, career growth opportunities(in 78 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There can be good old boys club in upper management so it is not what you know but who you know(in 33 reviews)

  • "Contract work with uncertainty at the end of a contract(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CACI International and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Rewarding work within NSIS sector

      Mar 31, 2020 - User Experience Engineer in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mission that drives CACI's National Security and Innovative Solutions Sector company is incredibly unique. The purpose of our work unites everyone to work together as a team to provide the best software engineering services to protect our nation and save lives.

      Cons

      CACI is continuing to grow but acquisitions can slow down some organizational processes. I do see upper management being receptive to this feedback already and doing all they can to improve the process.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bureaucratic and uncaring

      Jan 16, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Decent pay for the defense industry - Great manager/coworkers, but that's very specific to my team - Great work life balance, hours are flexible and it's easy to get away with doing very little - Many of my cons have to do with the company size/industry, if you like big companies and government contractors, this is probably one of the better ones

      Cons

      - Once our company was acquired by CACI, they cut funding for training/conferences and other learning opportunities - Raises are given based on a zero-sum system; if one person gets a higher raise, another person has to get a lower raise. I was not given a raise at all because I negotiated my salary too high when I came in and apparently I was "making more than I was supposed to be" - Although I felt very supported by my manager and coworkers, I felt completely disconnected from upper management at CACI and that I was a tiny cog in the machine - Because the company is a huge government contractor, there is a ton of bureaucracy/red tape to get anything done and it leads to a lot of office politics and competition between departments for funding - I felt the company handled covid poorly; because of the nature of some of the contracts/customers, certain employees were required to come into the office to work or else they had to use PTO. The same policy applies if there is a snowstorm or other dangerous situation where we shouldn't have to go into the office.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Starting Out Job

      Jul 11, 2020 - Special Investigator I in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent pay flexible schedule really trains you professionally for field work get to take your clearance with you

      Cons

      Sometimes overworked. There's a slight disconnect between investigators, reviewers and upper management. You work from home, so there's no real separation of work and home (honestly depends on your preference). If you work in a city (like NYC) and you don't have a car, it takes a lot out of you. Your entire work day can consist of just travel alone, and you still have to make time to type reports (if time management is not your strongest skill, this isn't for you).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CACI International Response

      Marketing & Engagement Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback!

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people

      Aug 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I worked with were great! good teamwork. good room to growth,

      Cons

      There can be good old boys club in upper management so it is not what you know but who you know. pay is average, contracts are on average 3 to 5 years long

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Management

      Oct 30, 2020 - Reviewer in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and friendly coworkers

      Cons

      Upper management is filled with too many people who have never touched a background investigation and doubt care to understand the process.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Stay as far away from this company as humanly possible!

      Feb 23, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work from home is a plus, if you have work! -Growth potential is there; as long as you maintain your metrics/stats. (which is really hard to do.) -Decent PTO, must be accrued though

      Cons

      -NO support from upper management! -If the higher ups don’t have work, Background Investigators won’t have work. -Start pay is not ideal to support a family. -No training or other strategies in place for when work is low, just to keep BI actively engaged or paid! However, once you finally receive work; you’re fully expected to maintain your metrics/stats when you’ve gone 3 to 4 months w/not working. -When work is available, the timeline to complete it is unrealistic. -If you’re going to work for this company, do yourself a favor, don’t! (Or just don’t be a background Investigator or a reviewer) -Forced to use PTO if there isn’t any work, if you want to receive a check. -CACI will always be CACI’s #1 priority!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY (INVESTIGATIONS DIVISION)

      Sep 14, 2019 - Background Investigator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None because the cons outweigh anything positive. Overall, CACI is worse than USIS and KeyPoint combined!!!!!

      Cons

      -Performance managed regardless of workload availability -Threatened with a corrective action plan/termination if metrics are not met - regardless of availability of work -Zero support from upper management -Numbers driven company, you’re a slave and can be easily replaced by the next slave -Zero focus on the well-being of its employees -Intentionally create a sense of panic by threatening termination in hopes of a large number of employees quitting -Inefficient zoning, there is no such thing as “out of your area” unless it is out of state -Computer programs are constantly going offline or not working correctly, BUT you’re still expected to meet your metrics -Miserable employee culture, everyone is out for themselves when the work is scarce -Unrealistic expectations

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Background Investigator

      Jul 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, benefits, ability to work remote.

      Cons

      Poor upper management , communication with employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      UPPER MANAGEMENT & HUMAN RESOURCE - HORRIBLE!!!!

      Jul 16, 2019 - Cyber Security Analyst in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Steady Paycheck, 401K, Health (Dental), Location, Security Clearance

      Cons

      Upper Management, Human Resource, Overtime, Bullying, Hostile work environment

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      great company, performance review process not effective

      Jan 3, 2017 - Business Systems Analyst III in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CACI gives competitive salaries and good benefits. They really work hard to place you on another project if your contract ends.

      Cons

      They recently changed their performance review process and it's pretty ineffective. You fill out your goals for the year, then at the end of the year you rate yourself on how well you achieved those goals. Then your manager rates you, and then it goes up to upper management for "calibration." No one can really explain what calibration does, but it seems like they rank you based on the performance of other people on the project and within the company. So basically if your manager doesn't go to bat for you or isn't an effective communicator, then you're SOL. I did the same level of work two years in a row, and one year I was rated a 5 and the other year I was rated a 3. (scale from 1-5) Basically they explained that the year I got a 5 it was because it was my time to get a promotion, and the next year it was someone else's so they had to make the numbers work. How does this make sense? This process is supposed to review MY performance so I can improve. The whole process, which takes like 2 months, seems like a waste of time now.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CACI International Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CACI International? Share Your Experiences

    or