CAKE Reviews | Glassdoor

CAKE Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
CAKE CEO Santi Pierini (no image)
Santi Pierini
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Bad management of company dose not look after saff(in 2 reviews)

  • "I guess this could have just been some growing pains, but it would have been nice to not take 40(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAKE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are like family and the product is the best in the performance marketing space. During the launch of one of our new products, it has been awesome, motivating, and fun watching a team rally together to bring something to fruition. The executive team are all very supportive and show appreciation for the work you put in. You have the opportunity to learn and grow and progress in your career. One... of the first questions I was asked was where I wanted to be in 5 years and we then figured out a plan to get me there. Benefits are great, there's a 401k match, free snacks throughout the week, and the office is in a great location in Newport Beach.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Continue to put your employees first and positive results will follow.

    CAKE2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away - Positive Reviews are Damage Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CAKE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CAKE used to have cool people, CAKE used to be a fun place to work. They have a legitimate product, but zero idea how to improve it, market it, or retain clients. There is no career growth and no care about the wellbeing of the staff.

    Cons

    Worst leadership I have ever seen. Favoritism for employees that aren't smart or special in anyway. The CEO cares more about being liked and being in the gossip than running a business. They turn the other cheek on predatory behavior and bigotry. It's quite pathetic, truthfully.

    Advice to Management

    Go home.

    CAKE2019-06-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Grateful for this opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAKE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Throughout my time at CAKE I have had the opportunity to explore new growth opportunities and learn a vast array of diverse roles within our department. I am grateful for the flexibility that CAKE offers to learn, innovate and apply my knowledge to my job function. What keeps me at CAKE? Without a doubt the people. I love what I do but I adore the people I work with and appreciate their diverse skill sets,... experience and creativity. CAKE facilitates a culture of knowledge sharing and when individuals are empowered to apply their expertise, innovation really takes off.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share.

    CAKE2019-05-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Data Science Intern at Graduate Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CAKE part-time

    Pros

    1. Excellent teamwork. 2. Interesting project and work

    Cons

    Everything seems perfect for me

    Advice to Management

    More private working space

    CAKE2018-10-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CAKE full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, people are generally nice

    Cons

    too many politics. everything is a thing for some reason

    Advice to Management

    more unified direction and you need more experienced management

    CAKE2018-03-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unpredictable Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CAKE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO in concept. However, on the flip side, that means they can let people go anytime without paying for their accrued PTO.

    Cons

    Middle-level management is below par in terms of capabilities and skills. And they play lots of politics.

    CAKE2018-01-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Client Success Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Associate in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAKE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding culture, fantastic benefits, genuine co-workers, fast growing and successful company with a great reputation in the industry.

    Cons

    Absolutely nothing! This is hands down one of the best companies to work for! CAKE is a company that genuinely cares about its employees and in return, the employees take great care of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow your employees to purse excellence in their positions and promote growth and leadership in all company roles!

    CAKE2017-04-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place with an awesome culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDR in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAKE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard play hard atmosphere. Everyone is willing to help and encourage you to ask questions. Everyone wants to see you succeed, which is proven through actions day in and day out.

    Cons

    None for the time I've been here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    CAKE2017-04-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture Makes for Happy Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CAKE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Benefits, Coworkers, Great Learning Environment

    Cons

    I have nothing but positive things to say about CAKE.

    CAKE2017-03-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CAKE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of nice folks! Aggressive CTO, in a good way. Forward thinker, open to see what is new out there.

    Cons

    This is an adTech firm where technology can make or break you. Few entrenched middle managers are too influential to make critical change, even with an aggressive CTO.

    Advice to Management

    Do not depend too much on old wisdom. If the firm is not moving in the direction that you wish, or isn't moving fast enough, gracefully retire your middle managers.

    CAKE2017-04-06
Found 60 reviews
</>Embed