CARFAX Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 381 of over 408 reviews

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
CARFAX CEO Richard Raines
Richard Raines
292 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance and awesome colleagues(in 93 reviews)

  • "All I can say Carfax is the best place to work and I believe in true(in 81 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Carfax is a great place to work(in 46 reviews)

  • "Doesn’t pay well unless you’re in sales, very flat organization(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CARFAX and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Values driven organization _ Join Team CARFAX!

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Operations Coordinator in Centreville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reputation - most trusted brand who continues to invest to grow and build consumer confidence and trust throughout their personal vehicle search and ownership. Values Driven - Cares for Employees, Community, Customers, Consumers: It's not by accident that Team CARFAX is listed first because our physical and mental health and well-being were paramount and considered in many organizational decisions, especially in 2020 which seemingly started like any other year! A year later, we emerge stronger, more motivated, focused and involved in community programs. Personally for myself, I am so appreciative for the decisive, appropriate and very timely management decisions taken to ensure that we were fully supported in our "home" offices, whilst remaining connected and in touch through many celebratory virtual events, such as our Annual Employee Appreciation Party, Halloween Magic shows, Valentine's Day Red balloon appreciation, team Trivia Challenges and monthly "brunches"! Our Canned Food and Winter Clothing drives were a huge success supporting local charities and communities - all of which has been a balm and comfort to be able to help others. Work Hard, Play Harder - Absolutely, We Do!! Shared some of the ways we "play" above! Look forward to returning to the office to the monthly happy hours to welcome our new hires. Excellent work-life balance programs and benefits - I especially love my volunteer time off hours! Looking forward to four-day summer work schedule!

      Cons

      Limited professional development opportunities No tuition reimbursement

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Jun 1, 2021 - Regional Account Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a focus on work life balance, the only issue is no matter how much time you have off they expect you to make up for it.

      Cons

      There is not much chance for advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Cult-Like Atmosphere

      Apr 15, 2021 - Regional Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues, nothing else I can think of.

      Cons

      Very cult-like atmosphere. Management runs teams with fear of losing your job at any second. There is ZERO trust in employees which makes employers start unnecessarily questioning themselves. There is no positive motivation from management AT ALL. Some examples being they give you a company car to drive...great, right?...no Not so great...they put GPS devices and speeding devises in the car to monitor every place you have been every minute of the day. They expect you to be on the road for 8-9 hours a day seeing 7-10 dealer visits (pre-covid). If that is not enough FBI tactics, they also monitor your laptop (I mean down to how long you are on a screen or product page) and phone. This would all be I guess manageable if the pay compensated for your hard work. Oh No, not even close. Although they make you feel like you are very well compensated and wouldn’t have it better anywhere else (think CULT) I am telling you after leaving and working for a different company, they tragically underpaid and undervalued actual talent. But hey if you still are thinking about giving it a try one more note...If you can’t stand corporate politics or favoritism this is definitely not the place to start or continue your career. I mean blatant “if you have the right last name” you are undeservingly promoted. And forget about working your pay plan...the rules and obstacles they put into place will not allow that to happen. Get out while you can and realize your worth!!!!!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      CARFAX Response

      Director, HR

      Feedback is always appreciated and your review will be shared with our DBU leadership team. We have a strong culture and incredible team spirit here at CARFAX. We strive to be a great place to work, but we may not be a fit for everyone. Glad to hear that you have found a new role that suits you better.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Still loving it - 5+ years on!

      Apr 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Centreville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Successful business-wise (market/competitive) and financially sound - Trusted brand - No peers or true competitors from a vehicle history data perspective; successfully leveraging that core data via a myriad of global B2C and B2B products/offerings - Feel of a moderately-sized company with the support of a large, multi-national / multi-billion dollar parent company - Casual work environment - Total remote flexibility (both technically and culturally) - Dog-friendly offices! - Working hard to balance agility and the need for a bit of structure/governance - Amazing work/life balance

      Cons

      - Leadership could be more diverse, although the situation is largely due to low attrition - Relatively flat org. means both recruiting and retention can be tough for some positions/people - Offices are not cat-friendly...yet

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very relaxed and fun workplace

      Jun 1, 2021 - Product Developer in Columbia, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really Good work life balance

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      May 29, 2021 - Customer Experience Representative in Norcross, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and the hours and nothing

      Cons

      N/a nothing to change and nothing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      May 26, 2021 - Office Assistant in Centreville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome place to work 💪

      Cons

      It was the best place to work for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Stepping stone

      Mar 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in Columbia, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Welcoming, laid-back environment. Small teams filled with great people. -An easy environment to work for a year or two if you want to explore many technologies and get experience. -If you need a flexible work environment because of life outside of work this is a good place.

      Cons

      -Titles & Compensation is static across product departments even though skillset and output is not. -Base compensation well below market for the diversity of skillset necessary for some teams. -No growth. Working hard will net you compensation increase equivalent to cost of living (if you are lucky). You may get a better bonus but the bonus is zero sum so if you are on a team with strong performers don't expect much. -Because of the above 3 Carfax is unable to retain most of the good engineers that come on board and all of their efforts to remedy that have been slow and conservative. -Equipment for engineers is mediocre. Single monitor setups, old laptops bloated with mostly irrelevant garbage. -At all levels available to interact with, leadership doesn't take ownership. The blame travels up. -Cut backs on travel to conferences and other professional development

      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun place

      Jun 10, 2021 - Software Engineer Intern in Columbia, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TDD, pair programming, Friday lunch, personal dev time, pet friendly

      Cons

      Locality, not so much of a con place to work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing place to work

      May 5, 2021 - Regional Account Manager in Mobile, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team work and overall atmosphere is contagious! Everyone is rooting for one another in work and life! I always feel appreciated and look forward to going to work everyday! Thankful is an understatement!

      Cons

      Can’t really think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 381 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CARFAX Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CARFAX? Share Your Experiences

    or