KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

CARFAX

CARFAX

Add a Review

CARFAX Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 458 of over 490 reviews

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
CARFAX Chief Executive Officer Bill Eager
Bill Eager
32 Ratings

What people are saying about CARFAX

Join the conversation on

Consulting

24d

a 

Business Development Senior Manager

Somebody hit my parked car while they were pulling out of a space. I have all of their information, but would I be better going outside of insurance to keep this "accident" off the carfax for when I eventually sell? Or am I overthinking it and I should just go the safe route?

7

14 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great work life balance and the list goes on.(in 74 reviews)
  • "I truly believe the company wants to be a place of great culture.(in 49 reviews)
  • "Great people and teams(in 37 reviews)
  • "Benefits are great.(in 32 reviews)
  • "swim factor is scary, but the teams are so great that you really have to try to fail.(in 17 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of CARFAX and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Work Life Balance

    Jun 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Carfax's motto is "Work Hard, Play Hard" and that's exactly how it is. We work hard, but there is a very healthy work life balance. The 4 day summer work weeks are a huge part of this.

    Cons

    There haven't been any cons so far.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    Thank you for the great review! We hope you're enjoying the 4 day summer work week to recharge!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture

    Jul 11, 2022 - SoftwareQA Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, great company

    Cons

    Nothing particular, way to go

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    and a great review! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and we hope you are onboarding well and enjoying your summer!

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Overall a good company

    Aug 1, 2022 - Field Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good product, overall good management, Fridays off in the summer. If you can produce, the pay plan will reward you.

    Cons

    My sales territory changed significantly AFTER I was hired which strongly increased overnight travel. I would have never accepted the position had I known this. Management likes to talk out of both sides of their mouth - they tell you to take your PTO then penalize you for not hitting your "metrics" while you were gone.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!

    Jul 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great culture - Relaxed environment (folks still work hard!) - Good pay - Generous benefits

    Cons

    - Things can be a bit disorganized - Too many meetings - At times, there are "too many chefs in the kitchen" and decisions take much longer than they should

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review because we appreciate this feedback (both positive and areas where we can improve)! Share some of your ideas with us via the Work Smarter initiative on how we can address some of the items you mentioned. Have a great summer!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great work-life balance

    Jul 5, 2022 - Business Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New ideas are welcome Inclusion in decision making Ample time to train and understand Easy time-off Well paced work load

    Cons

    No 4-day work weeks in winters

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing products and culture

    Jun 25, 2022 - Regional Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome culture, great products and wonderful team

    Cons

    Not getting to see teammates very often due to COVID

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place to Work

    Jun 1, 2022 - Automation Engineer in Columbia, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Telecommuting, Fridays off during the Summer, lots of celebrations with food and snacks, Wednesday lunch in the office, dogs allowed at work, inclusive culture, very casual and laid-back. Work/Life balance is the best I've ever experienced in the many years I've been working. Management is open-door policy and trustworthy. No reddit antiwork stories here!

    Cons

    Things move very fast, sometimes too quickly. Organization is flat, so if you don't love your job, you may get frustrated at the lack of advancement. Medical coverage used to be outstanding but has increased in price and benefits cut in the past few years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your long time contribution! We appreciate your kind words and suggestions to improve! We hope you are enjoying your summer.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The grass is greener here than anywhere I've ever worked.

    May 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing company culture, great work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing crazy, just a lot of meetings in my department

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to read that you are experiencing our awesome culture and we hope you are enjoying your summer!

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good work life balance

    May 23, 2022 - Product Developer in Centerville, Optional[VA]
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learning growth. Good work culture and life balance

    Cons

    Less salary structure compared around that area and other things

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review especially as a former employee. We hope you are enjoying your summer.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Former

    May 23, 2022 - Account Executive in Centreville, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment , great people, no micro managing

    Cons

    No change in product , not willing to negotiate price, monotonous, customers are tough to deal with

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CARFAX Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for all of your contributions while you were here. We're mission driven here and always looking to improve so thank you for your review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 458 Reviews

CARFAX Reviews FAQs

CARFAX has an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5, based on over 490 reviews left anonymously by employees. 90% of employees would recommend working at CARFAX to a friend and 90% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, CARFAX employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at CARFAX. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

90% of CARFAX employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CARFAX 4.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at CARFAX to be benefits, culture, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with CARFAX Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CARFAX? Share Your Experiences

or

CARFAX Careers

Cover image for CARFAX

We are a premier tech company using data to change the game in the automotive space! We build products that help millions of people make...More

  • Our Culture
  • Our Tech Stack
  • What employees say
  • Perks
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

CARFAX

15 days ago

Our Product & UX Design Teams enjoying Happy Hour at Barnhouse Brewery - Leesburg, VA! Cheers to this amazing team! #happyhour #carfaxfun
Shared image
See all

CARFAX Photos

+ Add Photo
CARFAX photo of: Our new CEO Bill Eager
CARFAX photo of: All smiles here!
CARFAX photo of: Clean Up Day!
CARFAX photo of: Adopt a Park
CARFAX photo of: Top Workplaces Winner 9X
CARFAX photo of: Celebrating our 6th consecutive Washington Post Top Workplace win with the Car Fox!
CARFAX photo of: "Is it Friday yet?!" - Arthur
See All Photos