CATSA Reviews | Glassdoor

CATSA Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
44%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
CATSA President Kevin McGarr (no image)
Kevin McGarr
18 Ratings
  1. "Great Place. Some warts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced. High quality people Those who are not able to keep up are let go.

    Cons

    There can be politics that leads to fights between different groups (e.g. Operations and Technology).

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-12-08
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Screening Officer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Safety first, excellent service, costumer orientated, trustworthy

    Cons

    If you can't handle the stress you don't belong there

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-08-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pre boarding screening officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Board Screening Officer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay Cute shorties around Flexible No hard labor Cool coworkers Meeting new people everyday

    Cons

    Micromanagement Favoritism Short breaks Disgruntled passangers Annoying fellow senior officers Dealing with massive amounts of people Re-testing Stressful training process

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ok to work here, but somewhere else would be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Up to date with most technology. Hard working people.

    Cons

    Severe lack of career growth. Opportunities are offered even though they have already picked the recipient. New positions go to hand picked individuals (internally and from outside). If you know someone that works there you will usually win the competition process. Definitely an old boys club. Level of fear exists between management and some employees. Severe career regression can occur if your level of knowledge is higher or better than some others. Long hiring process. If you get an offer don't bother negotiating. They will give you a take it or leave it choice.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-06-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Moving from the Public Service to CATSA Best decision I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Management Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment people are motivated and management have a strong understanding of employees' needs and always do their best to accommodate and ensure you have all the tools you need to perform your duties. CATSA offers a lot of learning opportunities and is very supportive of professional development.

    Cons

    I've been at CATSA for a little over 3 years now I still haven't found any inconvenient.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-03-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toronto Airport Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in an airport is amazing, endless opportunities to see and learn. Great crowd to work with

    Cons

    Just a number Sr. Management at the time was terrible

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-04-01
  7. "Top Notch Employer in the Nation's Capital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management styles vary but the ones I've worked for have been very concerned with maintaining a healthy work-life balance that has really helped me to be a happy and productive employee. They encourage and pay for plenty of professional development opportunities and do their best to promote growth from within. They have an incredible health and dental benefits plan that is far better than those I've had through past employers.

    Cons

    The industry is a bit depressing/grim. Thankfully this doesn't translate into a somber office environment but it's a bit sad to think that an organization like this has to exist at all.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2019-02-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Environement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Screening Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Create lots of Connections - Flexible hours - Higher than average pay

    Cons

    - Can be given any shift time - Short Breaks

    CATSA2018-09-26
  9. "Excellent staff, yet bureaucratic organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CATSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. CATSA manages to have wonderful, sociable employees who make working easier.

    Cons

    Management. The top heavy structure of the organization leaves at least four levels of management to review and sign off on any actionable items, rendering them no longer relevant by the time they're approved. Salary structure was revamped in 2017 and gave those at the top more, and left the bottom 1/3 of employees underpaid.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2018-06-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice atmosphere, good pay and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CATSA full-time

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work calls for crazy work hours

    CATSA2018-05-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews