CATSA Reviews | Glassdoor

CATSA Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
44%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
CATSA President Kevin McGarr (no image)
Kevin McGarr
18 Ratings
  1. "Old boys club and poor management/leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employees are well protected by HR (both good and bad ones)

    Cons

    In the last few years, the organization made cuts to the pension plan, lowered the salary of coordinator, analyst and advisor positions while increasing the pay for management.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2018-06-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lipstick on a pig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay you on time. But that’s it.

    Cons

    The statement “lipstick on a pig” is all that’s needed to describe this place. The organization should really take a long hard look at itself instead of sticking its neck in the sand for all the serious issues it is facing before it turns into proverbial dog food.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2018-06-01
  3. Helpful (5)

    "stay far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Board Screening Officer in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay that's all nothing else absolutely the worst experience I ever had in my life

    Cons

    people here were like robots no personality at all, I was a rabbit with a bunch of wolves out to get me since day 1 and found anything they could to let me go ,management fired me and didn't even have the balls to look me in the face and I got escorted out like a criminal and while I was on the job they picked apart the silliest things that could have been fixed I was 95 percent done my OJT and they let me go thanks people for saving me from a lifetime of hell I deserve better treatment then that

    Continue reading
    CATSA2017-11-09
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CATSA part-time

    Pros

    Great pay Nice uniforms Great team.

    Cons

    Long hiring process Nothing else.

    CATSA2017-10-04
  5. "Nice balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is on the higher end of the spectrum Good benefits

    Cons

    No compressed work weeks (compared to Federal Government which does offer this) Not much company depth, meaning vacation time can lead to overworking before and after High turnover

    Continue reading
    CATSA2017-03-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don't wast your time , please"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Screening Officer in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not a single one . Pay , but you can get that anywhere.

    Cons

    Worst place to be an employee , micro management is at all the levels , they are after you until they can find a proper cause to let you go . No room for advancement , and they want to make their jobs as important as it really is not.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2017-01-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Work here only as a last resort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They pay you on time every 2 weeks. Half of the people are honest and dependable.

    Cons

    Shameless nepotism and cronyism in the workplace (family members in supervisory roles in some cases) Frequent cuts and rehiring of staff positions (2 rounds of cuts in the last 4 years) Lack of transparency internally and externally when it comes to projects and decision making Underfunded pension plan (new employees even don't get one) Compensation policies are not honored (Example: No overtime allowed, although you have do do the hours, contrary to CATSA policy) Corruption when it comes to vendor selection Take the worst of the private sector (unpaid hours, no security, unscrupulous managers) And the worst from the public sector (lower pay for similar work, poor view of employees) So, you have the worst of both worlds. -No flex hours or pay for vacation benefits as in other crown corporations. -Management has no long term plans and changes direction in project mid-stream of critical projects -No innovation. Far behind when compared to similar organizations in other western countries -Revolving door for employees with ambition, creativity and common sense thinking. Suck ups and sycophants will be promoted

    Continue reading
    CATSA2016-11-11
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Troubled management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Pay Benefits are OK Define contribution pension plan Airport screening is an Interesting field of work Employees work hard

    Cons

    Low moral Lack of good management from bottom to the top. Majority of managers, directors, senior management have no clue on how to effectively manage to get the best out of their employees. Use of intimidation, yelling, degradation and old school ways of doing business. All these make working there difficult.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2016-08-02
  9. "Screening Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Aircraft Specialist Maintenance in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at CATSA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    better job oppurtunities enhance experience great benefits

    Cons

    less hours less training short hour break

    CATSA2016-06-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Interesting mandate but management sucks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Advisor in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CATSA

    Pros

    Interesting mandate and work; great screening technology; wonderful and smart people at working levels; nice office facilities; good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Organization created after 9/11 and put together by former police and RCMP folks whose motto is my way or the high way. Many left but the legacy lives on. Management at all levels including vice presidents is bias, unjust and condescending. The lower management has no choice to abide by the culture of upper management so the nicest manager will change over time and has to adopt the game if they want to survive. Many managers and directors are unfit and inadequate to do the job, do not meet the language requirements and do not possess the relevant experience but enjoy high pay and rating by their own senior management. They got in at inception by luck back in 2001-2003 without a staffing process or interviews and now they rule the place. Favouritism and nepotism is predominant. It's not what you know it's who you know to move up, around, or keep your job. Bullying is enabled and accepted by vice presidents. The PMP (performance management program) is unfair and the pie is divided by management and up each year. Very cliquish and turf driven. Diversity is non-existent. Staffing process fake and a waste of time and a huge demoralizer for internal employees. One third of employees is management for an organization of 450.

    Continue reading
    CATSA2016-06-08
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next
Viewing 11 - 20 of 30 Reviews