CBL & Associates Properties Reviews | Glassdoor

CBL & Associates Properties Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Charles B. Lebovitz
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CBL & Associates Properties

    Pros

    Most of the people are great to work with

    Cons

    You have to be a suck up in order to get anywhere

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2016-02-17
  2. "No appreciation for hard workers. Malls are dead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Johnstown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CBL & Associates Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Bring Charles back.

    Cons

    Not a good company to work for. Upper and regional management are clueless and watch and work the little ones to death or they just up and fire you.

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2016-03-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Could Be Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CBL & Associates Properties for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Management needs to modernize; still operates like it's 80's and has little to no insight how to treat good employees. Everyone really wants to do their best, but management only knows how the find and focus on things [it] finds wrong. There is no appreciation for going above and beyond . There is little to zero training in anything, it's sink or swim. The first 8 months was the most miserable time of my life. Direct managers seemed to enjoy tearing you down instead of building you up and never had anything encourage to say...EVER!

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2015-10-19
  4. "Property Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CBL & Associates Properties full-time

    Pros

    Salary, Bonuses, Benefits - family friendly company, great support system for training and growth

    Cons

    The way they handled the centralization of the accounting operations to their corporate office.

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2015-08-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Fundamentally "ok"...but needs so much help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CBL & Associates Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall good group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Out of touch upper managment. Severe nepitism. A multi-billion dollar company that is run like a mom & pop developer. Outdated business model and unwilling (or unable) to adapt to a very competitive environment. Low salaries, ridiculous PTO.

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2015-04-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Many good people, management at the top is exceptionally disconnected."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CBL & Associates Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some fabulous people that work at this company. If you're lucky to have a strong boss, you'll be shielded from much of the nonsense that goes on and actually be able to be productive and have individual growth.

    Cons

    Corporate is clueless and quite disorganized. There are distinct cliques and "favorites" and a resistance to inclusion on many levels. I was actually at meetings where there was not a single female speaker featured and there was an exceptional celebration of sports coaches from Utah and of sports in general (I don't mind sports, but when that is ALL that is featured, it gets old). They will tout how important family is, however, they have no compunction about forcing work/travel on weekends without giving any comp time in exchange, which is just silly. I truly feel that the only reason one of the larger developers haven't done a take over of this company is that it would be too much work to sell the 50 ugly properties in order to secure the 15 solid ones and the 25 so-so ones. The IT department has a stranglehold and will actually actively discourage or tell VP level managers no to simple requests because they are quite convinced that they'll be hacked. And if you'd like to have a career path there - good luck. There is minimal opportunity for growth.

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2014-12-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A Good Group of People Going Nowhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Lead in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CBL & Associates Properties full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people overall with an upbeat atmosphere. People wanted to to the right ting

    Cons

    Poor management from above. Very closed for anyone outside the top cliche

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2014-10-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "When it's good, it's all good, but when it's bad-look out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CBL & Associates Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are a very family oriented company. They have great relationships within the company. I feel like I have been compensated very generously.

    Cons

    They focus too much on ROI! They need to extinguish the realtionship with ERMC that is slowly sucking the life out of our properties. Everyone rushes to make everything look pretty when we have a property review when in reality the property has their hands locked and not able to do what it takes to make the property look nice and run smoothly through out the year. Some regionals seldom visit properties and dont offer the help that we need. U feel like you are own your own! They promote people to higher positions that people in the field know of significant wrongs they have made yet go unnoticed. It's like if you click with them, your automatically in! There has been times, us in the field has sat begging for help and would get no emails, no nothing back-we would start working with each other because of no responses, yet this person got promoted?? I've seen too many times, regionals start with a project only for it to get dropped by the waist side!

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2014-10-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No more for growth and you are their slaves."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CBL & Associates Properties

    Pros

    Professional environment only in dress code, great health benefits, reasonable pay

    Cons

    Gossip environment, working OT with no compensation, highly stressful, no room for growth, not a friendly environment, Lebovitz arrogant

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2014-07-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Children at the helm. Literally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CBL & Associates Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are ok. Company appears to be financially sound.

    Cons

    Top down culture. Input from the field is not solicited. Bullies abound. Company is strictly driven by Return on Investment. Work environment stessful.

    Continue reading
    CBL & Associates Properties2014-07-02
Found 48 reviews