KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CDK Global

Is this your company?

CDK Global

Add a Review

CDK Global Employee Reviews about "cobalt"

Updated Oct 30, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 2,471 reviews

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
CDK Global CEO Brian Krzanich
Brian Krzanich
419 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and latest technologies usage(in 318 reviews)

  • "Great pay and you work from home(in 126 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Only takes once to leave an impression of upper management(in 83 reviews)

  • "As a former leader at Cobalt, I'll provide just one example that summarizes everything: under(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CDK Global and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "cobalt"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to work for!

      Jul 20, 2015 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I describe Cobalt as a learning organization dedicated to helping employees improve their ability to contribute. Professional development, on the job training, and creating a community of like-minded people were all top notch. I enjoyed the efforts made to make the workplace meaningful: quarterly teaming events, volunteer days paid, opportunities to mentor others, commuting kickbacks, and the basic fun of being surrounded by people who care. The commitment that my team and other teams had to growing the company's services was premier, and I am proud to have been associated with a place like this!

      Cons

      During the time I was there, Cobalt was embroiled in a transition to ADP. This took a toll on the internal brand and left some old-timers wondering whether they were still working for the same place as they did when they started, while newcomers weren't sure whether they worked for Cobalt, ADP, or some odd hybrid version of both. Now with CDK Global being the reality - maybe the messaging is more clear.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      You are given great benefits, great hours, work life balance, opportunity to work from home, coaching and training!

      Sep 9, 2013 - Account Advocate in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are given great benefits, great hours, work life balance, opportunity to work from home, lots of areas to grow and learn. Programs to help you develop your strengths and improve areas of opportunity. - All the benefits of working for a Fortune 100 company, with still feeling very grounded and appreciated, even noticed with a smaller company such as Cobalt. You are given a Mentor and a Coach to help you see things from different perspectives. I am still fairly new, but I love it here and feel blessed to be a part of this company!

      Cons

      Some of the Account Advocate Managers got laid off. - Leads to uncertainty in job security. Also, sometimes I feel others act as if it were highschool and gossip about others whom get promoted over them, etc. (I feel this is present at every company though), you have to choose to look at the positive in everything(one).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      For Engineers, Good place to grow your career on, if your target is clear.

      Jan 3, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cobalt is a good technology company with great culture and talents. In the engineering team, there is no politics for internal competition. Everybody is working as one team with the same goal to produce the best solution to our clients in the requested timeline needed. If one team got a project that involve area that they're not familiar with, other teams will collaborate and help out to get that out the door. At the end of the day, as we all know, the success is shared across teams, and so as if there's any failure. As in the title, if you have a clear direction on where you want go in your career, Cobalt is a great place to do that, as a Software Engineer. Management is supportive on people career growth to provide training, conferences, work assignments, etc. so one can continue to move vertically as they work on filling up the gaps to the next step. And as people are highly collaborative in Cobalt, one can learn so much from other engineers through casual conversations or design elaborations.

      Cons

      ADP's benefits, especially on Medical, is not good at all. But Cobalt is trying to compensate with paid and bonus as much as they can to cover for that. Some of the security policies are unreasonable for Software Developers as well, which Cobalt is currently fighting with ADP to fix.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to build your professional skills

      Aug 30, 2011 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the most part, I really enjoyed my time at Cobalt. I got there as a pretty green worker in my field, and I was able to experience tremendous professional growth in a very relaxed and fun atmosphere. Additional responsibility, and some opportunity were there for the ambitious or interested workers (that was the rumor, at least). But working with some very talented and positive people was what made working there great. Had a blast, actually.

      Cons

      Cobalt, for me, was like the minor leagues. It's a place to refine your skills, have some great times with your teammates, but you're mostly hoping it's a temporary thing because you're never going to advance or really get paid in the minors. I felt salary containment, especially for the non-mangement roles, must have been a very strategic and top down approach. That's not a criticism as business is business and earnings are earnings, but ultimately it was a heavy "con" for the individual contributor like me. But, Cobalt did a lot to position me for my next job, were the 3+ years of stagnant/flat pay were easily erased as I found myself worth 50% than I was making when I returned to the job market. So, absolutely no regrets and I really do pull for this company to succeed.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Relatively new, but still very impressed.

      Aug 23, 2013 - Senior Product Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've only been here less than a year, but in my experience if a company has issues then that's more than enough time to expose them. I can easily say that my experience working at Cobalt has been very enriching and rewarding. At least from where I sit, there is a lot of cross-collaborative work going on, no one appears to be defensive of their products to the point they're unwilling to work with you to better the customer experience, and there are good healthy debates around the right direction to take. Unlike other companies I've worked at where short-term fixes are the norm because they want to get to market (not realizing that going back later to fix it "the right way", if at all, tends to be very resource intensive), at Cobalt, everyone works hard to find the RIGHT solution. Even if it takes a little longer to implement, at least it's done right and the customer is better off for it. Cobalt has been great at giving that true work/life balance.

      Cons

      I've not really experienced any cons about the company per se. For those of us with dev teams that work off-shore, getting in early for a 7 am meeting can sometimes be difficult without that morning cup of coffee.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Big company with a startup feel.

      Sep 11, 2013 - UI Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Software developers at Cobalt are completely empowered to "do the right thing" ... to innovate and continually march forward, and ultimately to produce market leading solutions. That sounds like a bunch of marketing speak, but I, along with my team, spend every minute of every day working on making what is already the best platform in the industry into something that will blow everyone's mind. We've got 30+ teams all with the same vision, which is to completely re-invent the CMS, and to provide awesome to our dealers and end users. Feeling empowered to create awesome is such a refreshing change from being a cog in the machine as I've experienced in other large tech companies. Cobalt is also the only employer that I've worked for that I can legitimately say cares about my family and respects my personal time and the flexibility that having a young family can sometimes require.

      Cons

      The layout of the office is definitely a bit stodgy and business-y. It would be nice to have the development area redesigned for truly collaborative and agile software development as many newer companies are starting to do. We don't have a lot of the creature comforts and perks that other large companies do (i.e. food, free parking, etc). Not the end of the world, but would be nice, nonetheless.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hidden Gem among Seattle Tech Companies

      Aug 29, 2013 - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      "They're not employees, they're people." -- Peter F. Drucker. Cobalt follows the quote as it is. It takes care of its people in every way. Here are some of the salient features of Cobalt 1. Opportunity to work on State of the art technology 2. Lots of opportunities to learn and grow 3. Great people and very good culture 4. Excellent WORK LIFE BALANCE. 5. Great office location 6. Great products and great vision for the future. 7. The Leaders of the company are focussed, caring and are listening always. 8. Communication is open and yes, two way communication is encouraged. 9. The long-term goals of the company are achievable and realistic. Cobalt is a hidden gem among the tech companies in Seattle. The company has good leadership and great people. The team is very understanding and it is a good place to make your career dreams come true. Good people, good products and great leaders.

      Cons

      While everything is great, sometimes it could become mundane. The solution - You have to make sure your doing something different. If not, you should talk to your manager. If something is jeopardizing the stability of the team you have to talk to your leaders so that people can be coached. People are busy and they may not notice what is disrupting the health of the team and the company. The leaders are very caring and they are ready to coach and groom people.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fun, Challenging, Fast Paced Work Environment

      Sep 25, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been an employee with Cobalt for a long time now. With that, it goes without saying that you don't stay at a company this long unless you truly believe in their vision. To me Cobalt is inspiring, innovating and truly on the cutting edge of technology thought leadership. I believe pretty strongly that this level of thought leadership does not come from one individual. It comes from an organization that is open minded, and really listens to their employees. It comes from brilliant people that come from all industries to rally together to put together products and services that are top of the line. I am really thankful to be a part of that.

      Cons

      With all of this brilliance, we are overwhelmingly short staffed. The hours are hard, there is more work that can be done by one person. We need strong qualified development and management resources that can take this company to the next level.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Honest View of Cobalt - Great for where I am in life, but probably not forever

      Feb 28, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cobalt is a very successful and fast growing company with nothing but more growth in store. They offer great work life balance and have access to several different roles for one to differentiate their skills. All managers I have worked with have been amazing! I have heard stories of managers that weren't so good but my experience has been great. The laid back atmosphere and work from home opportunities are pretty cool too. They offer a $15 monthly gym membership and all proceeds are donated to a new charity each month. They also provide you with opportunities to take a day for service within the community and the CEO is all about improving communities which is pretty awesome.

      Cons

      Honestly, the only real con I can think of about working here is the pay. It is great for a recent college grad but opportunities for higher wages are scarce. My annual merit increases have been right on track with inflation. Any promotions have strict maximums for pay increases that don't give you much hope of ever making much money. They'll make you work your butt off just to get a 7% raise after a year or two and then cleverly give you even less with your annual merit increase in that year. So that kind of sucks. Also, Asian food gets old after a while.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Organization That Might Be Reading Too Much of It's Own Positive Press Reports

      Apr 9, 2014 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loads of smart, talented people with solid skills and the desire to 'do the right thing'. Good middle management that cares and works hard to support solidly skilled teams. Cobalt has developed amazing technology resulting in phenomenal capabilities. It gives employees confidence the organization is the most effective player in the digital automotive space.

      Cons

      There is a cadre of extremely capable senior managers who in their brilliance (and they are legitimately bright), make wide-ranging decisions before thorough analysis resulting in poor outcomes for employees and client relationships. There are management cliques which exclude and those outside the circle are isolated or eliminated with little compassion. There are many decisions which seem to come out of an overconfidence which results in a less-than-thoroughly thought through solutions- which end with poor outcomes. It's a disappointing reality for an organization which at one time was character-driven, but has been transformed by ADPs purchase. ADP demands profit at all costs and those costs are being delivered at the expense of people. Combine that with a number of key young management players who are self-absorbed and the road gets rough. It does not have to be this way.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CDK Global Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CDK Global? Share Your Experiences

    or