CDK Global "cobalt" Reviews | Glassdoor

CDK Global Employee Reviews about "cobalt"

Updated Nov 1, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
CDK Global CEO Brian Krzanich
Brian Krzanich
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "My beef is mainly with upper management(in 80 reviews)

  • "As a former leader at Cobalt, I'll provide just one example that summarizes everything: under(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cobalt"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global

    Pros

    I describe Cobalt as a learning organization dedicated to helping employees improve their ability to contribute. Professional development, on the job training, and creating a community of like-minded people were all top notch. I enjoyed the efforts made to make the workplace meaningful: quarterly teaming events, volunteer days paid, opportunities to mentor others, commuting kickbacks, and the basic fun of being... surrounded by people who care. The commitment that my team and other teams had to growing the company's services was premier, and I am proud to have been associated with a place like this!

    Show More

    Cons

    During the time I was there, Cobalt was embroiled in a transition to ADP. This took a toll on the internal brand and left some old-timers wondering whether they were still working for the same place as they did when they started, while newcomers weren't sure whether they worked for Cobalt, ADP, or some odd hybrid version of both. Now with CDK Global being the reality - maybe the messaging is more clear.

    Advice to Management

    The only thing that I felt mildly sour about was the opportunity for advancement; it seemed limited in that the rules restricting job switches were somewhat draconian: I was a better fit for Position B, but had been hired into Position A three months earlier. So I wasn't "allowed" to move/apply; but it was the right thing for the department (and for me). My manager and I did a workaround and it all ended fine, but I... was under-compensated as a result and would continued to have been because by the time I was "allowed" to be properly switched to Position B officially, I was at a lower grade of pay and then I was restricted to the 3-6% annual increase max based on my lower entry rate. Maybe a little more flexibility here would be good for others.

    Show More
    CDK Global2015-07-20
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Seattle, WA

    I worked at CDK Global for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great company to start off and learn digital advertising. They have a huge library of resources and they have a lot of people that will help you learn.

    Cons

    Once you learn the industry move on. The company isn't strictly concerned with the bottom line and that is their stock price. The pay is below industry average and moral is never high. And there are a lot of managers who don't know what their doing or anything about the industry. The VP leads by fear and not by example and is all too quick to fire good sales reps. The job offers more stress than what it is worth.... Anyone sales rep who stays longer than two years is not aware of their options. And lastly, due to budget cuts motivated purely by their only concern - keeping their stock price up - their products and service is watered down and even disappointing. Cobalt, now CDK, is no longer the market leader in digital advertising in the auto industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start caring.

    CDK Global2017-10-21
  3. Helpful (26)

    "CDK Global sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really? Try none. Cobalt was a great place to work. ADP was an ok place but CDK Global takes the prize as worst place ever.

    Cons

    Pay Benefits Management CEO Shareholders Pay Benefits Management. You get the picture. We’re all just waiting to find out we no longer have jobs. They’ve outsourced everything that doesn’t require speaking to customers to India. They (employees in India) might be smart, but you’d never know it by the crappy job they do. They couldn’t care less about how much extra work their help generates. Stupidest decision... ever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being idiots and stop thinking we believe anything you say. Start treating us like adults that know our jobs and freaking quit micro-managing. You’re wrecking what used to be a good place to work and you don’t even care. It’s awful how far down you’ve taken this company. We aren’t the market leaders of anything any more. We’re barely treading water. You need to pay attention or you won’t have jobs either.

    CDK Global2017-10-31
  4. Helpful (18)

    "Former Cobalt Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CDK Global full-time

    Pros

    When it was still Cobalt, it was the best place I've ever worked.

    Cons

    As a former leader at Cobalt, I'll provide just one example that summarizes everything: under Cobalt, our conference rooms were named after strong women in history. But under CDK, the Board felt that was controversial, and now the rooms are named after cars. When the Ada Lovelace room is renamed Ferrari, I think we know all we need to know. I hope our Board members know how to write HTML 5 and create a unique value... proposition; we're optimizing for them, not employees, so that's what it's going to do come down to.

    Show More
    CDK Global2017-11-01
  5. Helpful (27)

    "The Beginning of the end?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home in some positions. Great co-workers. Ability to take time off to contribute to local community causes.

    Cons

    I've been working for Cobalt|ADP|CDK for 10 years. What started out as great career and growth potential has turned into a position where success is no longer an option. The workload is unbearable and there are currently no plans to hire more resources in our department. I'm literally setup to fail. Boss does his best to stay positive, but I can tell even he is unsure of the future. Benefit premiums (which yes, is... better than nothing) has gone way up. General employee moral is way down.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate the fact that our shareholders are very important to our financial success, since we're actually still newborn. But without happy/healthy employees success is no longer an option. More focus must be given on employee retention. Stop setting unrealistic goals for an organization where work staff has been slashed. Closing down offices and laying off employees who supported a product and passing it off on... other employees who can barely support existing infrastructure in an un-achievable timeline is a recipe for disaster.

    Show More
    CDK Global2016-11-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Proceed with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall, we're well treated. There are cliques and favoritism but I have yet to hear of any workplace where this doesn't happen, and you're still treated respectfully despite this. This is a job that you can easily leave at the office when you clock out for the day (yes, you will be hourly, not salaried) so you don't have to worry about work encroaching upon your personal life. Other pros: - Orca pass so you... won't have to pay to bus in - Decent benefits - Easy to get to location with gorgeous views - Generally friendly workplace - Opportunity to desk share/ work from home a few days per week after 9 months - Free coffee - Most of the clients are great, it's a fun industry to work in

    Show More

    Cons

    To be clear, this isn't a terrible job, and the department isn't bad at all, but here are a few things I wish I had known prior to employment with Cobalt/ADP/CDK: - Your account load will be much higher than an agency and so you will need to accept that it's necessary to sacrifice some quality for scalability - and to keep your sanity! - Turnover is sporadically high and it takes a long time to find qualified... candidates. Be prepared to put in extra hours to manage your increased account load. - Expect a lot of manual work processes. - There is no real advancement track. The highest level specialists (III) are doing the same job as everyone else, but with the addition of more projects. The team does not have leads, only managers. As one reviewer previously said, most "promotions" are lateral moves between departments. - Recruiters and other companies within the Greater Seattle have a negative perception of CDK employees in general, and specifically SEO specialists. This can and often is a huge barrier should you apply for external opportunities. - I'm not saying you shouldn't take a job with CDK since there are some great pros. But if you do, make sure to keep your skills fresh (especially with external SEO tools like Google Analytics, SEMrush, ScreamingFrog, etc.), take classes, attend conferences and have references outside the company to speak to them. Even better if you can build a portfolio to demonstrate your abilities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide growth opportunities for your employees and try to leverage their strengths - rather than focusing so heavily on their weaknesses. Happy employees = more productive employees.

    CDK Global2016-03-12
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Great training program. The training and early onboarding process for new associates is very robust. If you're not a digital marketing expert before you start, you will be by the time you leave. + Good work/life balance. You don't get the sense that people work overly hard. Employees are mostly competent and proficient at their jobs. + Strong ties to big OEM's. Cobalt/CDK's business model is fueled by... endorsements from some of the biggest auto manufacturers in the world. Getting big auto manufacturers like GM, VW, BMW, and Hyundai can be very beneficial to your career long-term. + Great desk-sharing/work from home options for long-term employees. + Casual environment, but high likelihood of it going more corporate after its spin-off from ADP.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The clients are horrible. The auto industry is historically resistant to change and slow to adapt to the online marketing space. Same goes for individual car dealers. Prepare to continually justify your job and the work you do to some of the most ignorant, stupid people on the planet. If you have empathy for car dealers when you start, you won't by the time you leave. -Cobalt/CDK is one of the biggest providers... of their types of services in the country which has had a negative effect on the reputation among dealer clients. They're essentially the Comcast of car dealership websites, with all of the baggage and negative feelings that come with that reputation. - Much is made from management about promoting and hiring from within, but internal promotions are rare and don't often result in a boost in compensation. Oftentimes you'll take on more responsibility and have a more impressive-sounding title, but won't get paid enough to justify the amount of frogs you had to kiss to get there. - The company is notorious for paying below market rate. Cobalt has long been regarded as a great place to learn the industry, pick up new skills, and then leave to make more elsewhere. - Despite its history as a start-up, the company is VERY corporate and isn't nearly as agile as it thinks it is. Budget requisitions take forever, as do improvements to existing products and processes. Employees are often over capacity because they can't hire fast enough to counter churn and are unable to make the changes their clients ask for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue. Stop drinking your own Kool-Aid and pay attention to feedback from your clients and employees. You can repeat your stupid slogans and group-think exercises all you want, but it won't make the products better or improve the company's standing with its clients.

    CDK Global2014-11-01
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Blind leading the blind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global for less than a year

    Pros

    It is one of the easiest places to get experience because you may be hired or transitioned into a role that you wouldn't normally be qualified for. Office is nice and centrally located.

    Cons

    My experience with the management and executive team was the worst that I've ever seen or heard of. As someone who previously worked in HR for very large companies I've seen and heard of quite a bit but this was pretty messed up. Directors who make repeated verbal job offers to retain contractors who would otherwise leave only to rescind based on an inability to deliver their promises and an unwillingness to own... what they did, managers who maintain affairs with other managers in their department, employees who get intimate in employee wellness rooms, a sales team who knows absolutely nothing about even the basics of how the product works etcetc. I've never seen a more invisible and incapable HR presence in all my life. Also, one important item of note is that many of the promotions that I witnessed were strictly due to rear-kissing and/or "fitting the culture". I felt bad for the many longtime employees who had to train their clueless new bosses or coworkers who would be hired at a higher salary/grade. The executives that I had to work with were not very knowledgeable on the product, how the technology worked, and were not interested in the day to day operations. Most of them were only concerned with how to make themselves appear to be doing an adequate job so as to avoid being downsized. Oh, one other thing. The reputation of this company has made its way to other local employers. After having been offered an interview with the hiring manager by the recruiter at Microsoft, I was later contacted by the recruiter and told that the hiring manager had had a few bad experiences with former Cobalt (CDK) employees and would no longer even interview people who had worked there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There really needs to be a top to bottom (definitely not bottom up) reorganization of the company. Much, much more could be accomplished with fewer resources if you were aware of how your company/products truly functioned. Constantly worrying only about the bottom-line is not a prime way to manage a company. Try to become forward thinking rather than reactionary. Many of the people who stick around are the ones with... little prospects elsewhere. Perhaps more should be done to prevent the brain-drain that occurs earlier in your employees tenure. Sooner or later a competitor will be able to offer a far superior product at a much lower price while delivering much higher customer satisfaction.

    Show More
    CDK Global2014-10-20
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Some Great People To Work With, But The Company Is Totally Clueless."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Advocate in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CDK Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaming, peer support, flexible schedule. My team and the teams around me were awesome. But many of those people left when I did.

    Cons

    Compensation, promotion, upper management, huge technology issues. People are promoted based on networking, not results or ability. There are too many people in management positions that are massively under qualified; this has led to mismanagement of talent and poor business decisions. Also, the majority of the clients do not want Cobalt's services. They are forced into it by their OEM. And the clients let you know... how they feel about being forced to work with Cobalt.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper management does not listen to suggestions or care for advice; there is no point leaving advice for them.

    CDK Global2014-07-21
  10. "Great place to learn about website management and online advertising."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDK Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great place to learn how websites are maintained and online advertising works. Many folks are hired at entry level with little to no previous experience. You will be brought on with little training and do quite well if you have a curiosity for the industry and the drive to teach yourself what you don't know. It is a very informal work environment and allows for moderate growth. Use this place a a resume... builder and then leave to get paid the industry standard.

    Show More

    Cons

    The business concept results in slower pace of development/product improvement. Since Cobalt's primary revenue stream is focused on contracts with large Automotive OEM's instead of individual business owners, the development work is slowed. This makes for an interesting dynamic where account managers want to service the individual business owner's (Dealership Owner's) requests, while aligning with the OEM's... compliance standards. Refining the art of telling the client we are not able to provide them with the exact solution they want and offer what we are able to provide, hoping the "consumer's perspective" will win out in as the ultimate influence. There are major inefficiencies in the sales through implementation process. It is very difficult for the sales teams to easily submit an accurate order for any product correctly. Cobalt utilizes a spreadsheet for 300 products and the exact product must be identified from a spreadsheet that is most of the time outdated. Implementation ends up being a major bottleneck, as only 2 staff members are tasked with manually entering all orders from an email que. There is a huge opportunity for refinement here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dig in to the tasks that your front line staff do on a daily basis to better understand and measure success. Investing some time to develop and utilize Salesforce (CRM) to it's fullest potential will help to measure client engagement quality.

    CDK Global2014-06-24
Found 98 reviews