CDSS Office Assistant (Typing) Reviews | Glassdoor

CDSS Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Douglas D. Park
8 Ratings
  1. "It is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Accountant 

      I have been working at CDSS full-time

      Pros

      This job is not too intense, you have flexible hours

      Cons

      Not good for career path

      CDSS2019-03-28
    • "Bad management at 5th floor Disability Evaluation Analysts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Disability Examiner in Oakland, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at CDSS full-time

      Pros

      None that I can think of, get in and out while you can and get experience

      Cons

      Embarrassed you in front of all employees to see who passed probation and who did not. Luncheon to celebrate people who passed but complete disregard to people who didn’t. Management does not practice emotional intelligence with they staff. Therefore employees moral is low which trickles down to how they service the public. There needs to be an Internal Audit Investigation there ASAP.

      Advice to Management

      Invest in your management and employees Take some emotional intelligence classes

      CDSS2019-03-21
    • "CDSS Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Assistant in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CDSS part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very mundane work and not rigorous at all.

      Cons

      I wasn't being challenged and I knew I was never going to really use my accounting degree that I studied very hard for

      CDSS2018-10-01
    • "Cool place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at CDSS

        Pros

        They care a lot for people’s well being

        Cons

        Very backwards in the way things are conducted

        CDSS2018-10-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "Details, details, details"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at CDSS full-time

          Pros

          The work itself is pretty stimulating, but management has just changed so things are a bit rocky in the bureau right now.

          Cons

          Contracts processing is a slow, long process.

          Advice to Management

          Distribute the work FAIRLY among ALL analysts!

          CDSS2018-08-15
        • Helpful (3)

          "Great co-workers, not a great work culture"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - AGPA in Sacramento, CA

          I have been working at CDSS full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Most of my co workers have been great - very dedicated to their jobs and a great team to work with. The location is great (downtown Sacramento) and the salary/benefits are decent.

          Cons

          Terribly antiquated extremely hierarchical structure. Some managers will micromanage to the point of monitoring when you take a break (even if your position in no way requires you to be at your desk at very specific times). Being outspoken in any way is very much looked down on. The executive team is far more concerned with being liked than being effective

          Advice to Management

          Train middle management to respect their employees as professionals, rather than treating them like teenagers who can't be trusted to manage their own time or projects. Empower your employees to act effectively, and recognize that acting effectively means that sometimes, not everyone in the room will be happy

          CDSS2018-07-01
        • "Great benefits"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at CDSS full-time

          Pros

          Great benefits. Independence handling your caseload. Teamwork.

          Cons

          Caseload can grow quickly if you're not on top of your cases.

          Advice to Management

          Management is good, leadership takes an interest in employees issues.

          CDSS2018-03-17
        • "IHSS Caregiver"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - IHSS Caregiver in Red Bluff, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at CDSS part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Paychecks always came on time without error.

          Cons

          Minimal training is provided and there is no room for advancement or pay raises.

          Advice to Management

          Offering an array of classes and supplying lists of resources could benefit IHSS caregivers and the populations they serve.

          CDSS2018-01-15
        • Helpful (1)

          "Good place for busy students"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Student Assistant in Sacramento, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at CDSS part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          CDSS allows you to work at your own pace and learn new languages via Pluralsight. Given a lot of freedom and don't expect too much of you since you are still a Student. School is their top priority for you and you are encouraged to put school first and take time off during exams.

          Cons

          Take a while to get hired due to HR. The process are really slow in state agencies.

          CDSS2018-01-05
        • Helpful (2)

          "CDSS"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at CDSS full-time

          Pros

          Great programs to work for... you really feel like you're making a difference.

          Cons

          Some people in upper management can be extremely rude ... almost like bullies. makes it hard to work with them.

          Advice to Management

          Be more involved.

          CDSS2017-10-23
        Found 50 reviews