CDSS Reviews | Glassdoor

CDSS Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Douglas D. Park
9 Ratings
  1. "Steady work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDSS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You always can find clients

    Cons

    Some clients can be difficult to work for :/

    CDSS2019-06-23
  2. "It is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Accountant 

      I have been working at CDSS full-time

      Pros

      This job is not too intense, you have flexible hours

      Cons

      Not good for career path

      CDSS2019-03-28
    • "In home cargiver"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cargiver in Oroville, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at CDSS part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I Love helping people to do things

      Cons

      don't like it when your client dies, and she happens to be your mother too

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work out there people!!!

      CDSS2017-01-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "State agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at CDSS full-time

      Pros

      It is a great place to work we protect the health and safety of children in family child homes and day care centers.

      Cons

      It is a lot of work.

      Advice to Management

      To get feedback from your employee's so they can be very effective in doing their job.

      CDSS2015-08-04
    • "Love it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Care Provider in Fresno, CA
      Recommends

      I have been working at CDSS

      Pros

      Helping people who really need the help.

      Cons

      Must balance your work life with personal.

      Advice to Management

      I have no advice

      CDSS2011-06-01
    • "Iterative Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Technology Manager/Consultant in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at CDSS for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Work at level one desires

      Cons

      Work does not always follow on from job to job

      Advice to Management

      Keep file on who and how work completed and performed, to help select senior workers.

      CDSS2015-11-04
    • "CDSS Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Assistant in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CDSS part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very mundane work and not rigorous at all.

      Cons

      I wasn't being challenged and I knew I was never going to really use my accounting degree that I studied very hard for

      CDSS2018-10-01
    • "Great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CDSS full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits. Independence handling your caseload. Teamwork.

      Cons

      Caseload can grow quickly if you're not on top of your cases.

      Advice to Management

      Management is good, leadership takes an interest in employees issues.

      CDSS2018-03-17
    • Helpful (3)

      "Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Policy Analyst)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA

      I worked at CDSS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I believe a career in public service is fullfilling and the type of work carried out by CDSS can be incredibly rewarding. During my time as an analyst in the CalWORKs Welfare-to-Work program I enjoyed developing policy recommendations, writing All-County Letters, organizing stakeholder groups, providing technical assistance and other policy/program related duties as assigned. The management team was smart and there was...

      Show More

      Cons

      The downside of working at CDSS is similar to the majority of government jobs - it's nearly impossible for anyone to get fired since the union is so strong so you will most likely have a few employees that do not produce work or take anything seriously. This was my biggest issue and I saw that management chose to avoid the "problem employees" and instead increase the workload of diligent employees.

      Advice to Management

      Ensure the work environment and overall culture reflects ethics and personal responsibility for one's workload. An unfair distribution of work leads to disenchanted staff and low team moral.

      CDSS2017-07-16
    • "In Home Service Recipient"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Ihss Provider in Pico Rivera, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at CDSS full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Helping someone to get through their day to day activities and chores. Being able to offer a service and in turn their quality of life improves.

        Cons

        I had absolutely no me time. I worked around the clock, 24/7 even if I had gone past my available hours. It took its toll on me.

        Advice to Management

        Nothing, no need to offer any advice as my employer did a great job of making sure I was taken care of.

        CDSS2017-04-15
      Found 52 reviews