CDSS Reviews | Glassdoor

CDSS Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Douglas D. Park
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place for busy students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDSS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CDSS allows you to work at your own pace and learn new languages via Pluralsight. Given a lot of freedom and don't expect too much of you since you are still a Student. School is their top priority for you and you are encouraged to put school first and take time off during exams.

    Cons

    Take a while to get hired due to HR. The process are really slow in state agencies.

    CDSS2018-01-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "CDSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDSS full-time

    Pros

    Great programs to work for... you really feel like you're making a difference.

    Cons

    Some people in upper management can be extremely rude ... almost like bullies. makes it hard to work with them.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved.

    CDSS2017-10-23
  3. Helpful (5)

    "This place is all about office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDSS full-time

    Pros

    Meeting interesting colleagues where you can develop relationships outside of work.

    Cons

    You can be the hardest worker, the best employee in terms of production, and have the most experience; but all that will not get you recognition. What will get you recognition with management, is sucking up to them as much as possible. If you are a friend of the manager, you will not have to do as much works as others, you will be put on "special projects", and you will rise up faster. You can pretty much see how...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There will be a time when you get older or retire, and you will think about all the people you have thrown under the bus to get to where you are. Just know that you spent your whole career being a snake in the grass, rather than doing any meaningful work to improve the world.

    CDSS2017-09-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Policy Analyst)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at CDSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I believe a career in public service is fullfilling and the type of work carried out by CDSS can be incredibly rewarding. During my time as an analyst in the CalWORKs Welfare-to-Work program I enjoyed developing policy recommendations, writing All-County Letters, organizing stakeholder groups, providing technical assistance and other policy/program related duties as assigned. The management team was smart and there was...

    Show More

    Cons

    The downside of working at CDSS is similar to the majority of government jobs - it's nearly impossible for anyone to get fired since the union is so strong so you will most likely have a few employees that do not produce work or take anything seriously. This was my biggest issue and I saw that management chose to avoid the "problem employees" and instead increase the workload of diligent employees.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure the work environment and overall culture reflects ethics and personal responsibility for one's workload. An unfair distribution of work leads to disenchanted staff and low team moral.

    CDSS2017-07-16
  5. "Management Services Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CDSS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Alot of research data bases to look into.

    Cons

    Not enough analytical work to promote

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your people and care about promotions, dont discriminate on age or appearance

    CDSS2017-06-22
  6. "In Home Service Recipient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Ihss Provider in Pico Rivera, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at CDSS full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Helping someone to get through their day to day activities and chores. Being able to offer a service and in turn their quality of life improves.

      Cons

      I had absolutely no me time. I worked around the clock, 24/7 even if I had gone past my available hours. It took its toll on me.

      Advice to Management

      Nothing, no need to offer any advice as my employer did a great job of making sure I was taken care of.

      CDSS2017-04-15
    • "Middle managers can sometimes be tough"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Analyst in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CDSS for less than a year

      Pros

      Good work life balance, nice work environment

      Cons

      low salary long probation some managers micro-manage

      CDSS2017-03-24
    • "Investigator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sworn Investigator in San Diego, CA

      I have been working at CDSS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Rewarding work, Great deal of autonomy to get investigations completed.

      Cons

      non-competitive salary relative to local jurisdictions.

      CDSS2017-01-13
    • "In home cargiver"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cargiver in Oroville, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at CDSS part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I Love helping people to do things

      Cons

      don't like it when your client dies, and she happens to be your mother too

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work out there people!!!

      CDSS2017-01-08
    • "Working for the Department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at CDSS

        Pros

        Working for a department that helps the vulnerable

        Cons

        Really big department funded by the state.

        CDSS2016-12-03
      Found 52 reviews