CDSS Reviews | Glassdoor

CDSS Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Douglas D. Park
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Policy Analyst)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at CDSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I believe a career in public service is fullfilling and the type of work carried out by CDSS can be incredibly rewarding. During my time as an analyst in the CalWORKs Welfare-to-Work program I enjoyed developing policy recommendations, writing All-County Letters, organizing stakeholder groups, providing technical assistance and other policy/program related duties as assigned. The management team was smart and there was an appropriate balance of personality types - the environment was a blend of high anxiety mangers and extremely chill relaxed managers.

    Cons

    The downside of working at CDSS is similar to the majority of government jobs - it's nearly impossible for anyone to get fired since the union is so strong so you will most likely have a few employees that do not produce work or take anything seriously. This was my biggest issue and I saw that management chose to avoid the "problem employees" and instead increase the workload of diligent employees.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2017-07-16
  2. "In Home Service Recipient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Ihss Provider in Pico Rivera, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDSS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping someone to get through their day to day activities and chores. Being able to offer a service and in turn their quality of life improves.

    Cons

    I had absolutely no me time. I worked around the clock, 24/7 even if I had gone past my available hours. It took its toll on me.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2017-04-15
  3. "Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sworn Investigator in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at CDSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding work, Great deal of autonomy to get investigations completed.

    Cons

    non-competitive salary relative to local jurisdictions.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2017-01-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at CDSS full-time

    Pros

    Ok place to work. Really stressful

    Cons

    Stressful workik enviornment. Very sedentary lifestyle

    Continue reading
    CDSS2015-12-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "State Employment is a mixed bag."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Services Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    State employment could be great if conditions are right. It all depends on the people you work with and your supervisors. I had a generally positive experience with the supervisors, but had trouble working with individual employees. State benefits are great and once you pass your probation it's almost impossible to get fired.

    Cons

    The opportunity for advancement is slow. It's difficult to advance because you have to take exams, but with enough effort, you will get there. I had a generally positive experience with the supervisors, but had trouble working with individual employees. The "analyst" positions are more desirable than the office technician or management service technician positions because they allow you to do more interesting work.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2015-03-06
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A unique and rewarding learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensing Program Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDSS

    Pros

    A chance to make a difference in the lives of the elderly and dependent adults living in long term care.

    Cons

    Heavy work load with constant changes.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2015-02-21
  7. "It all depends on the family you work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - In-Home Care Provider in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at CDSS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If a family you know personally chooses you, then you can avoid most of the red tape. You can accept or turn down clients to work with, and you pretty much arrange everything through the family. If it's a great family, it's a wonderful experience. When you sign up for direct deposit, you get your paychecks promptly.

    Cons

    You have to go to an orientation and fill out paperwork, and pay for a livescan. It takes 4-6 weeks from signing up until you receive your pay stubs to fill out. So you can either wait to work until the first one comes, or you can work without getting paid for a month and then get a big paycheck for that whole period. Families might flake out on you, and there's not much you can do about it.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2012-06-17
  8. "Great for part-time work not a place for career advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Home Support Services Provider in Salinas, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at CDSS

    Pros

    Flexible schedules. Nice people are clients. Excellent for students or Moms with kids at home who need work schedule flexibility.

    Cons

    Not an employment opportunity with advancement. Part-time type of work,

    Continue reading
    CDSS2011-04-16
  9. "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensing Program Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDSS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Field personnel have each others' backs.

    Cons

    Upper management weighs external stakeholders inputs more (vocal minority) than those in the field and working everyday.

    Continue reading
    CDSS2019-06-20
  10. "Cool place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CDSS

    Pros

    They care a lot for people’s well being

    Cons

    Very backwards in the way things are conducted

    Continue reading
    CDSS2018-10-01
Found 55 reviews