CDSS Reviews | Glassdoor

CDSS Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Douglas D. Park
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CDSS part-time

    Pros

    Most of the people are really nice and helpful.

    Cons

    The management watches your every move,

    CDSS2016-01-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Structural Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at CDSS full-time

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits and incredibly friendly management and staff.

    Cons

    Poor use of IT resources and archaic business practices and implementations.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on NIST and Best Practices to effectively apply IT resources. Don't allow offices to stagnate and stalwart customer service practices. Ensure personnel are truly experienced and certified within their specialties.

    CDSS2015-11-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CDSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CDSS full-time

    Pros

    People are nice. Great place to get an entry-level job. Benefits are good and lots of time off. They invest a lot in their employees through training and making sure the resources you need are made available to you. If you stick around long enough, you can move up through the organization fairly quickly.

    Cons

    Salary is not comparable to private sector, but the excellent health benefits help make up this gap a little. Opportunities for substantive research projects are few and far between unless you are at the RPS level.

    CDSS2015-09-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Just a Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CDSS full-time

    Pros

    Working for the Department of Social Services means you can do meaningful work, but sometimes it is difficult to remember that. It is also simple to move up in the career ladder, and you can always transfer to a different branch if you find one that you like better.

    Cons

    It is difficult to find a good manager.

    CDSS2015-07-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I am a caregiver to the sick and elderly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Victorville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CDSS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can keep my elderly mother home with me and give her the care she needs at home.

    Cons

    My worker at IHSS does not call me back when I need to talk to her.

    Advice to Management

    Have supervisors do their job in a timely manner.

    CDSS2013-07-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Very Challenging Place to Work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant (Typing) in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CDSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, after five years employees are vested in CalPERS pension system; this agency provides a necessary and vital service of maintaining the safety and care of the elderly in assisted-living facilities that sometimes are run by corrupt and uncaring owners, who, when discovered, are given warnings and sometimes fined or shut down. There is never a dull moment in the CCLD working environment.

    Cons

    The workload is horrendous and due to budgetary and hiring freeze constraints, it is impossible for employees to fully perform all of their duties. Employees are stretched to the limit--or well over. Facilities are supposed to be inspected on a regular basis, but due to the amount of complaint calls that need to be investigated within ten days, regular inspections do not always occur.

    Advice to Management

    More employees, including clerical, need to be hired, especially for customer service. All orientations and administrator examinations should be offered via videos and online. These also should be available in different languages, including Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. When employees work overtime, offer some type of compensation (comp time and/or paid). Regarding DOJ and FBI background checks and clearance to...

    Show More
    CDSS2012-10-11
  7. "Satisfactory: Wages are minimum and benifits for P.T are none."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IHSS Caregiver in Kelseyville, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at CDSS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Elderly people get needed care.

    Cons

    The Union doesn't do a whole lot for the workers who only work P.T. in Lake County. We get minium wage where as other counties in this state get quite alot higher wages.

    Advice to Management

    Wages need to increase, and benifits for the part time workers are needed as we still get charged for "union dues" even though we don't recieve benifits for work under 30hrs. a month.

    CDSS2012-08-05
  8. "very imformative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Homecare in Santa Monica, CA

    I have been working at CDSS

    Pros

    work with people that are confident and professional

    Cons

    not enough benefits for all employees

    Advice to Management

    better oversight for employees and their benefits because the state budget is constantly coming up short every fiscal year and employers have to keep fighting for higher equality that is satisfactory and can help support and maintain a living wage for all employees that work for Ihss and employees that are apart of the union as a whole.

    CDSS2012-02-15
  9. "Helping those in need is personally rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Oakland, CA

    I have been working at CDSS

    Pros

    Providing help for people in need is personally rewarding. The health benefits are great. You can choose your own schedule.

    Cons

    The pay rate is low. There is no opportunity for advancement. The care recipients are often in some kind of distress, which can be challenging to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    Payroll problems arise too frequently. Delay in processing time sheets can result in interruption of health benefits, as well as paycheck delays. More administrative support seems to be needed in that area.

    CDSS2011-05-12
  10. "nothing more than a paycheck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Home Care Worker in
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at CDSS

    Pros

    The ability to improve the quality of life for those that are disabled in some way and really have no one else outside of those individuals that work in that postition.I also received full medical and 75 on dental, don't see that too much anymore.

    Cons

    Mainly it was the lack of consideration for those people that had to put up with a stranger coming into thier homes, for good or bad reasons and leaving them with a sense of burden when they were never that to me.

    Advice to Management

    If any employee has a sense of compassion for those around them, then while they might be underappreciated and seriously underpaid, but it will make a difference in a lonely, scared or sad person's lives. I would want to be treated with respect and empathy when I am not all there.

    CDSS2012-05-07
Found 55 reviews