CERN Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

CERN Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
25 Ratings
  1. "Great place to boost your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Power Electronics Engineer in Prévessin-Moëns
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    International and multicultural environment Great projects Good salary Great conditions: holidays, medical insurance, etc.

    Cons

    Temporary contract in most cases

    CERN2019-05-14
  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Appropriate stress level Good remuneration Relax and informal work environment Good non financial benefits

    Cons

    A lot of legacy technologies to maintain Poor inter team coordination Very big human resources rotation Very low expectations for full time permanent employment

    CERN2019-05-15
  3. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great international and young environment Interesting projects and working freedom Great values

    Cons

    Difficult and long (5-8y) to get permanent contract

    CERN2019-04-22
  4. "Electronic Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very creative environment. Sociable environment. International and multidisciplinary teams. Very good conditions (holidays)

    Cons

    Poorly organised documentation. Slow internal logistics

    CERN2019-03-12
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    multicultural, INSPIRING, environment. challenges (in my case - engineering) specific to CERN only great opportunity to develop better interpersonal skills

    Cons

    project management and information flow can be confusing

    CERN2019-02-25
  6. "About CERN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technical Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    CERN has many clubs for sport and other activities and it offers a good social security system.

    Cons

    As every large company and organisations, CERN has also inconveniences.

    CERN2019-02-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wasted time in terms of personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    not bad salary (if you don't compare with Switzerland) internation environment

    Cons

    people who has permanent contract many times are not willing to work anymore, a lot of public money wasted, times go slowly, there's not much motivation bureaucracy French speaking people don't want to learn/use English after few years, I know less than I knew when I came to cern

    CERN2019-03-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Very bad, lazy and toxic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - good salary - no stress

    Cons

    - your boss needs to show you that is your boss - people fight for positions instead of working together - you see how much of public money is wasted here (which is actually also a plus to realize that) - many times, more important is your powerpoint presentation then you actual work (it's worse then in corporations where I used to work) - general atmosphere that doesn't motivate you to work - bad work organisation...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close this institution which wastes public money

    CERN2019-01-16

    CERN Response

    January 22, 2019Head of recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. All feedback is important to identify areas for improvement. As a large scientific organisation, CERN strives to provide a working environment in which people and grow and thrive. We are sorry to read this was not the case for you ...

    Show More
  9. "Good international environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice place to learn about what you want, learn languages. A lot of flexibility to ask for holidays, 30 days per year+ 2 weeks in Christmas, good salary but still low compared to the salaries in Geneva.

    Cons

    No career oportunity. This organization tries to keep only people if they are really necessary and there is money to open a staff position. You can get contracts here and stay maximun up to 5/6 years.

    CERN2018-12-10
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends

    I have been working at CERN full-time

    Pros

    * Very international * Smart people * Many holidays * ...

    Cons

    * A lot of short-term contracts - difficult to plan future for some

    CERN2018-12-06
Found 55 reviews