CERN Research Fellow Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Research Fellow

CERN Research Fellow Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to meet people who are devoted to science and who love their job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Fellow in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    1. People with a sense of purpose and looking to help when someone gets stuck.

    Cons

    1. I couldn't find any cons.

    CERN2019-04-26
  2. "Senior research fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Fellow in Geneva
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    International environment and good quality life balance

    Cons

    Future prospects in the organisation

    CERN2019-04-20
  3. "Senior Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Fellow in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Big international community. One of the best places for particle physics research. Usually good work environment with many club for activities.

    Cons

    Usually Short contracts time with bad extension opportunities

    CERN2019-04-11
  4. "Senior Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Fellow in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Good salary - Health Insurance - Interesting Work

    Cons

    - Almost no opportunity to progress career wise - Fixed term contracts

    CERN2019-01-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Working as a researcher at CERN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    World-class scientists to work with. Colleagues that are passionate about their work.

    Cons

    Archaic management structure. Geneva not an amazing city in comparison with other international cities. CERN staff inflexible and know that they can be unreasonable with no consequences. Private life not as good as other cities.

    Advice to Management

    Modernise and don't hire robotic people.

    CERN2017-10-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Poor management, wasted resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Fellow in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people generally, and stimulating environment.

    Cons

    Horrible management, biggest waste of resources I have ever witnessed, bloated admin teams, too many permanent staff floating by taking big salaries with little to no value.

    Advice to Management

    Manage.

    CERN2017-07-10

    CERN Response

    July 17, 2017

    Thank you very much for your review. The management of resources, be they personnel or material is an aspect into which CERN puts due diligence and care: there are numerous procedures and support mechanisms to help us keep track and optimally administer them, such as annual performance ...

    Show More
  7. "PhD student researching at CERN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Research Fellow in Meyrin

      I worked at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Very collaborative environment. Access to great computing resources. Low living cost when staying in French side with reasonable commuting time (~10 minutes one way).

      Cons

      Too intense meeting schedules. Almost impossible for a permanent position.

      CERN2016-11-10

      CERN Response

      November 14, 2016

      Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of CERN on Glassdoor. As mentioned in some of our previous comments we have recently reviewed our contract policy with the intention to increase long duration contracts. We hope your Fellowship was a beneficial experience and we ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Working at CERN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Research Fellow in Geneva
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Exciting fundamental research, good salary and good working conditions. The best place to enhance your academic CV and academic network.

      Cons

      Workload can be high sometimes, especially close to deadlines. Continuity is not guaranteed, and competing for staff positions is extremely high.

      CERN2016-10-29
    • "One of the most rewarding research laboratories for physicists"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Fellow in Geneva
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      CERN attracts the best of the best, encouraging for a exciting and rewarding environment for researches. They offer unparalleled benefits for the research community, full medical, optic, and dental insurance for you and you family with worldwide coverage.

      Cons

      CERN management is very regimented and unusually slow for a research center of medium size. Most requests must climb up and down the management ladder. This effect coupled with a very compartmentalized management structure means issues can go un noticed/ un corrected for weeks at a time.

      Advice to Management

      More nimble management structures, providing a greater degree of horizontally would improve effectiveness and move project much faster.

      CERN2016-10-20
    • "Research Fellow (ATLAS)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Fellow in Geneva
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -world-class science. Nobel laureates. Cutting-edge technology. -smart and friendly peers. -great reputation

      Cons

      -culture of workaholism, poor work-life balance -not much help to transition to next job at the end of the contract -quotas per citizenship country for reaching higher-level positions

      Advice to Management

      -keep going: you rock!

      CERN2016-04-04

      CERN Response

      April 12, 2016

      Thank you for your positive review. According to the majority of our employees, CERN has a very healthy work-life balance so we regret to learn that you don't share this opinion. Also by providing career transition measures we try and make our employees transition to their next step ...

      Show More
    Found 13 reviews