CERN Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

CERN Software Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
9 Ratings
  1. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Appropriate stress level Good remuneration Relax and informal work environment Good non financial benefits

    Cons

    A lot of legacy technologies to maintain Poor inter team coordination Very big human resources rotation Very low expectations for full time permanent employment

    CERN2019-05-15
  2. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great international and young environment Interesting projects and working freedom Great values

    Cons

    Difficult and long (5-8y) to get permanent contract

    CERN2019-04-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wasted time in terms of personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    not bad salary (if you don't compare with Switzerland) internation environment

    Cons

    people who has permanent contract many times are not willing to work anymore, a lot of public money wasted, times go slowly, there's not much motivation bureaucracy French speaking people don't want to learn/use English after few years, I know less than I knew when I came to cern

    CERN2019-03-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Very bad, lazy and toxic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - good salary - no stress

    Cons

    - your boss needs to show you that is your boss - people fight for positions instead of working together - you see how much of public money is wasted here (which is actually also a plus to realize that) - many times, more important is your powerpoint presentation then you actual work (it's worse then in corporations where I used to work) - general atmosphere that doesn't motivate you to work - bad work organisation...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close this institution which wastes public money

    CERN2019-01-16

    CERN Response

    January 22, 2019Head of recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. All feedback is important to identify areas for improvement. As a large scientific organisation, CERN strives to provide a working environment in which people and grow and thrive. We are sorry to read this was not the case for you ...

    Show More
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends

    I have been working at CERN full-time

    Pros

    * Very international * Smart people * Many holidays * ...

    Cons

    * A lot of short-term contracts - difficult to plan future for some

    CERN2018-12-06
  6. "Fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends

      I have been working at CERN full-time

      Pros

      Good atmosphere and work conditions A LOT of holidays

      Cons

      You know it will end. It is really hard to stay.

      CERN2018-08-13
    • "Great Place to work and enjoy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Meyrin
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at CERN full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good Salary International environment Mountains nearby Great holidays

      Cons

      Big structure all the possible downsides of it.

      CERN2018-01-21
    • "Good working conditions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good ambient An oportunity to learn and discover new technologies Excelent working conditions

      Cons

      Limited contracts with short duration

      CERN2017-12-11
    • "Best internship experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Geneva
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at CERN for more than a year

      Pros

      Really great people, interesting work, real responsibility, and amazing location. One of the best ways to spend a summer

      Cons

      Work projects really depend on which team you get. Some people got interesting ones, others get boring ones. Also no free food or perks

      Advice to Management

      N/a

      CERN2017-11-15
    • Helpful (7)

      "Mixed feelings"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Incredible environment. Excellent salaries and health insurance. Additionally, it's like working in the heart of Europe.

      Cons

      Permanent contract could arrive, basically based on a lottery (quota, luck, and finally merit), only after 8 years! E.g. After having been a technical student, a fellow, then a staff for 5 years and then a second time staff for three years (for a total of 11 years serving), my group wasn't able to open a permanent position for me, and I was therefore forced to leave.

      Advice to Management

      Change the contracts to be really based on merit and not on a lottery. It should be easier to fire, but also to have a permanent contract, like in regular enterprises.

      CERN2017-11-11
    Found 23 reviews