CERN Summer Student Reviews | Glassdoor

CERN Summer Student Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
10 Ratings
  1. "Best research institute in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    - interesting work in an environment consisting of science enthusiasts

    Cons

    - location rather far from Geneva

    CERN2019-01-20
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    Research, Nice people, Good work life balance

    Cons

    Hard to get a full time job

    CERN2019-01-06
  3. "Summer Student Programme (Project in software development)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    - Stimulating environment - Friendly environment - A lot of expertise shared by the employees - Salary

    Cons

    - As a software developer, you develop software. There is no process or management involved, only writing code.

    CERN2018-08-30
  4. "Summer Student program 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Student in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    A challenging, eye-opening and fascinating summer! The work environment is great and you meet amazing people from all over the world.

    Cons

    If you are a computer scientist it's probable that you won't be amazed by your project.

    Advice to Management

    It's obvious that the management is doing great job. They should not stay in that, but the should keep improving and trying to find new ways to make being at CERN even better than it already is.

    CERN2018-08-20
  5. "An amazing work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Life balance Great salary Amazing people and culture

    Cons

    Contract based employment means your salary gets fixed for the period of contract

    CERN2017-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to work as a Summer Student at CERN was the best experience of my life. I got to work with my accomplished mentors in a really diverse environment on the cutting edge of science and particle physics research. The whole duration of the program was funded and it was amazing to meet people from all over the world working on the common goal to understand more about ourselves and our universe.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep at it. CERN is an inspiration to so many young people around the world towards careers in science and to motivate them to work on meaningful problems.

    CERN2017-10-16
  7. "Rich, friendly environment to work and connect with people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Summer Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CERN

    Pros

    - Chance to experiment with new technologies - Many chances to expand your professional network - Academic feel to the work environment - Likely that your work be open-source - Multicultural workplace

    Cons

    - Working for a large institution means less freedom to choose your projects

    CERN2017-10-16
  8. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Summer Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CERN

    Pros

    A great learning environment with supervisors always eager to help. Plenty of free time during the weekends and stimulating work.

    Cons

    Lack of a summer student social programme so it is hard to meet all of the other interns.

    CERN2017-10-04
  9. "Working at one of the most incredible places on earth can be a mixed bag."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Placement Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    CERN is one of the biggest drivers of innovation and progress and a place where the impossible is made possible. Cutting edge science and an extreeme density of the most brilliant minds on earth working on billion-budget projects. Having CERN in your CV is always a huge plus ! The salaries are great, even after considering the huge living costs of Geneva. Having a job at CERN in your CV is always a huge plus.

    Cons

    Extremely competitive to get a job and virtually impossible to get long term employment. No matter how good you are at anything, there is always somebody who is better at it and willing to do it in temporary employment. The restaurants on the campus are inefficient and way too small and expensive. It is hard to belive, but the quality of wifi is comparable to that of a third world country, even though the WWW was...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people for the specific job they were trained for and do not force them to do work which they have to teach themself. Install airconditioning and completelly replace your wifi system with something that feels more like 2017. Renovate your buildings. Build another Restaurant on the site in Meyrin.

    CERN2017-09-22

    CERN Response

    October 5, 2017Head of recruitment

    Thank you for your review following your summer studentship at CERN. Indeed having CERN on one’s CV is a great bonus and we trust it will give you an edge for your future! CERN is funded by 22 member States and a further 7 Associate member States and nationals of all these countries ...

    Show More
  10. "CERN Openlab Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CERN Openlab summer student in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A really unique environment at the forefront of science.

    Cons

    Your mileage may vary in different departments at CERN. Some organizational units are more organized and have more interesting challenges and opportunities.

    CERN2017-09-03
Found 23 reviews