CERN Technical Student Reviews | Glassdoor

CERN Technical Student Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
15 Ratings
  1. "One of the unique place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Student in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are many opportunities to improve your technical and social skills. Really relax working environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes, It can be stressful to understand some deep subjects.

    CERN2018-11-30
  2. "Technical Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - developing challenging projects - different training available (software/development/language...) - great team projects in multicultural environment - great, stressless work atmosphere - diversity of CERN social clubs

    Cons

    Sometimes the group hierarchy at CERN may be a bit confusing.

    CERN2018-10-19
  3. "Technical Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    truly international, highly developing, life-changing experience

    Cons

    The only con I can list is lack of permanent employment if you don't get a staff position, but for me it was actually great

    CERN2018-08-08
  4. "Techical student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Broad international community, plenty of annual leave, good health insurance scheme, availability of various software licences, CERN social clubs, bike and car rental services.

    Cons

    Hierarchy of different groups and (sub)sections can be rather complicated and confusing. Thus, you are expected to attend various meetings that can occur quite frequently and can be lengthy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep widening the CERN outreach to even more countries and don't forget to continue investing in people rather than in infrastructure.

    CERN2018-04-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Student in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I worked as a Software Engineering Intern (Technical Student) at CERN for more than a year and it was an overall fantastic experience. I was treated as an equal part of the team, while having all the support and guidance I needed. I felt like my work was valued and the working environment was super friendly. Salary and benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    I have almost nothing negative to say. I just wish the food at the restaurants was a bit better.

    CERN2018-02-20
  6. "CERN Technical Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture, awesome place, knowledge sharing

    Cons

    Some bureaucracy, sometimes poor communication

    CERN2018-01-23
  7. "An unique environment with drawbacks for a short time only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Student in Meyrin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CERN for more than a year

    Pros

    Talks and Events What is very unique at CERN is that there are a lot of talks about ongoing research. And there are a lot of events from other departments, universities etc. talking about projects and experience with different technologies. General Working Conditions A lot of students/fellows are here because they get a lot of money compared to internships/jobs in their home country. Also there a a lot of events...

    Show More

    Cons

    Selection of students As far as I found out, the most sections are recruiting their students to integrate them into the everyday work, so they match the work experience to the required skills for the job. What the student wants to to is not necessarily taken into account. Contracts There are a lot of short contracts at CERN (Fellows, Students, etc.). It is hard to develop and maintain software with this amount of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    CERN is a well known international organization and has a good reputation. The people are making this place to a unique experience, not the structure or the work itself. From the IT perspective, there are a lot of things to improve.

    CERN2018-02-06
  8. "Best workplace to be an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Student in Prévessin-Moëns
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Satisfying salaries even for intern positions - Multi-cultural environment - Supportive colleagues - Lots of opportunities for side training - Quite a lot of days of annual leave - Plus you get to do visits and guided tours in the experiments and other facilities

    Cons

    - Teeny-tiny first-world problem: There are two major sites where you will possibly be working. In Meyrin and Prevessin. Prevessin, where I've been working, is a little bit secluded. Especially if you don't have a car, during the winter you'll probably have to rely on a shuttle that runs just a couple of times every hour to commute.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing a good job

    CERN2018-01-21
  9. "Great place to learn and get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Learning is part of the culture. In the team I developed with, choices were made based on how much the team will learn, rather than what's the quickest/cheapest. - When making a good case, you are allowed to try things in a radically different way. - Best multi-cultured environment I've encountered to date. You get to know people from all over the planet, and sharing culture is highly encouraged in the community....

    Show More

    Cons

    - jobs are always temporary, very few permanent positions are available and are given based on pure politics. One of my colleages has worked there for many years and is one of the best in the team, yet he is still on temporary monthly contracts, and has to beg/fight for renewal every time.

    CERN2018-01-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Flexible Holidays -Cutting edge projects -Great place to learn

    Cons

    -Slow working rythm -Slow career progression -Almost impossible to get permanent contract -Lack of economic challenge

    CERN2017-12-08
Found 24 reviews