CERN "international environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

CERN Employee Reviews about "international environment"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 331 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "international environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

      I worked at CERN for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great international environment, where it is not only curated but also fosters cross-pollination from many different disciplines.

      Cons

      I was paid far less than my counterparts. I learned a month before leaving that HR would be updating the pay grade for my position. Employees here are mostly scientists and disregard respect for non-scientific employees. That is to say that you are only valued for your education. Individuals sought tenure and once after receiving it, many would start slacking. Worst of all offenses was the fact that cultural stereotypes...

      Show More
      CERN2016-08-01

      CERN Response

      August 18, 2016

      Thank you very much for your review. Respect is a value we deeply appreciate and foster within our Organization regardless of educational or cultural background. Equal pay is the normal practice at CERN so if you believe that you were paid less than your colleagues we welcome you ...

      Show More
    • "Senior research fellow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Research Fellow in Geneva
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      International environment and good quality life balance

      Cons

      Future prospects in the organisation

      CERN2019-04-20
    • "cern person"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at CERN full-time

        Pros

        international environment, interesting problems, ok wages, nice place, everything is close by, lake, airport, mountains

        Cons

        housing in the area isn't easy (or cheap), weather in winter can be depressing, the buildings could profit from a bit more care, less academic environment than a university

        Advice to Management

        not me to give advice to the management

        CERN2019-02-07
      • "Great Place to work and enjoy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software Engineer in Meyrin
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at CERN full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Good Salary International environment Mountains nearby Great holidays

        Cons

        Big structure all the possible downsides of it.

        CERN2018-01-21
      • "Student job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at CERN full-time

          Pros

          international environment, science and technology

          Cons

          no real downside. snow in winter

          CERN2017-12-15
        • "TECHNICAL STUDENT"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at CERN

            Pros

            international environment, good salary, flexible working hours

            Cons

            no opportunities to stay more in your current position

            CERN2017-12-08
          • "Technical Student"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            + international environment + stable job + friendly and helpful co-workers + many days of holidays (30 days + long Christmas break)

            Cons

            - difficult to get another contract, even when performing well - bureaucratic - working experience greatly depends on a team and specifically a boss - huge rotation of employees which sometimes results in a chaotic work

            Advice to Management

            - lack of feedback for employees

            CERN2017-10-30
          • "Great place to work at"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Hardware Applications Engineer in Meyrin
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            - International environment - Salary - A lot of young people, many eager to give their best. - You have a lot to say in your team, your role, how you want to work... You are given a lot of responsability

            Cons

            - Very team dependant: The experience can vary greatly depending on the team, more specifically boss, that you have. - Lack of organization inside teams. Results highly dependant on individual talent. - Sometimes there are too many people coming and going (trainees, fellows), a lot of talent lost.

            Advice to Management

            - Critical teams should have more permanent staff - Needs more inside-the-team checks not to be so dependant on individual talent.

            CERN2017-10-02
          • "Positive Experience"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at CERN full-time

            Pros

            -Relaxed environment -International environment -Interesting Problems -Great work-life balance

            Cons

            -Old technologies -Some employees lack motivation

            Advice to Management

            Some kind of evaluation of the work of employees

            CERN2017-08-20
          • Helpful (3)

            "Nice place to work for few years"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at CERN

            Pros

            International environment, highly qualified colleagues

            Cons

            Not so close to industry, little career development

            CERN2017-02-03
          Found 331 reviews