CERN "permanent contract" Reviews | Glassdoor

CERN Employee Reviews about "permanent contract"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 330 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
CERN CEO Fabiola Gianotti
Fabiola Gianotti
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "permanent contract"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great international and young environment Interesting projects and working freedom Great values

    Cons

    Difficult and long (5-8y) to get permanent contract

    CERN2019-04-22
  2. "CERN Applied Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CERN Applied Fellow in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Innovative, cutting-edge technologies, passion for the future

    Cons

    If you don't know the right person, you have almost no chance of getting a long-term job or permanent contract, no matter how good you are.

    Advice to Management

    Open the applications for the outside world, before you determine them internally in order to preserve the appearance.

    CERN2019-03-10
  3. "Unique experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Multicultural environment, flexibility in all terms. Opportunity to learn other cultures while working in an exceptional organisation, participating in the research field.

    Cons

    Difficult to stay with a permanent contract. Philosophy of the organisation is to train young people and changing personal regularly. Huge organization with a very defined hierarchy.

    CERN2019-03-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wasted time in terms of personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    not bad salary (if you don't compare with Switzerland) internation environment

    Cons

    people who has permanent contract many times are not willing to work anymore, a lot of public money wasted, times go slowly, there's not much motivation bureaucracy French speaking people don't want to learn/use English after few years, I know less than I knew when I came to cern

    CERN2019-03-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Student in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Flexible Holidays -Cutting edge projects -Great place to learn

    Cons

    -Slow working rythm -Slow career progression -Almost impossible to get permanent contract -Lack of economic challenge

    CERN2017-12-08
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Incredible environment. Excellent salaries and health insurance. Additionally, it's like working in the heart of Europe.

    Cons

    Permanent contract could arrive, basically based on a lottery (quota, luck, and finally merit), only after 8 years! E.g. After having been a technical student, a fellow, then a staff for 5 years and then a second time staff for three years (for a total of 11 years serving), my group wasn't able to open a permanent position for me, and I was therefore forced to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Change the contracts to be really based on merit and not on a lottery. It should be easier to fire, but also to have a permanent contract, like in regular enterprises.

    CERN2017-11-11
  7. "Fellowship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CERN

    Pros

    Relaxing environment, met several intelligent and famous people, several exciting events, and until now the best facilities (restaurants, banks, post office, kindergarten, etc.)

    Cons

    Permanent contract employees tend to be bit rude, or express less polite behaviour, since they do not care as they can't get fired.

    Advice to Management

    Perform regular reviews.

    CERN2016-01-14

    CERN Response

    January 29, 2016Head of recruitment

    Thank you for your review, it is great to see that overall your experience was positive overall. For what concerns rudeness or less polite behaviour, this is a shame to read but inevitable in such a large organisation as it is anywhere: CERN works wonders thanks to a respectful and ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great to jump start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Fellow in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Lots of talented people. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    They make skilled engineers who stay temporarily learn French, because technicians resist to learn English for all of their career (20 years+). It creates a lot of frustration and deteriorates the quality of work. Additionally, because it is so difficult to get a permanent contract people with know-how leave without transferring their knowledge due to the frustration. Very often...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remove French as a second official language. Reconsider hiring policy regarding engineers (they should not work as in Academia).

    CERN2015-06-24

    CERN Response

    July 20, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. At CERN we take into consideration both positive and negative reviews. We are sorry to hear that language was a barrier to your work. Knowing that CERN is a bilingual Organization we contribute to language courses for both English and French in order to ...

    Show More
  9. "very stimulating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Engineer in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CERN full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - salary ( tax free) - international environment

    Cons

    - difficult to get a long term/permanent contract

    CERN2015-02-11
Found 330 reviews