CGI Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

CGI Communications Reviews

Updated August 8, 2018
190 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CGI Communications CEO Bob Bartosiewicz
Bob Bartosiewicz
154 Ratings

190 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "If you fit the mold of hard-work this could be home to you too" (in 19 reviews)

  • "I moved up from a Sales Associate in my first year at CGI to a Sales Executive" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard work and the stress of continuing to work hard and at a high level" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Some have felt that it creates pressure to perform or hinders work life balance" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with people who care!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Website Coordinator
    Current Employee - Lead Website Coordinator
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I have been working for cgi for 4 years, starting in an entry level position and working my way up to a team lead. I have never worked for a company who spends so much time caring about their employees and consistently working on making their employees lives better.

    -employee appreciation lunches
    -summer and Christmas parties
    -bonuses and incentives
    -surprise bagels, candy apples, donuts and even pies on thanksgiving!
    -consistently being let out early by our generous ceo!
    -production dept. got an entire week of last Christmas as a huge thank you from the ceo, which was amazing!!!
    -recognition from the president when you do a great job
    -our ceo pays for our parking!!!
    -employee lunches and team bonding activities
    -they will send you to training classes to better yourself and cover the cost!

    If you show up, are ready to work hard and show the initiative to grow, this company will take care of you!

    Cons

    I have truly loved every moment.

    Advice to Management

    The digital team has two leaders that honestly care about their employees, I have always felt that they have had my back and that they have always fought for me. They both deserve recognition for how much the have improved the dept.

    The presidents and Vice Presidents are very approachable and ask you to come talk to them if you have doubts or concerns, they want to hear you out and guide you in the right direction. I have never been afraid to go and chat with them to better myself and the company.

    Thank you Barto for all the generosity you have shown to your employees, it has truly made my 4 years amazing.

    CGI Communications Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Recruiter

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts! It never gets old reading reviews from employees that see the opportunity that CGI provides, and seize that opportunity... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to start, but needs a lot of fixing before it's a good place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Production Team Member
    Former Employee - Production Team Member
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGI Communications full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great friends because you know what they say, misery loves company

    A place to start, a good place for a first job. You get a sense of what work culture is like, learn time management and all basic work place skills and office courtesy. Because of this job I was able to find my second job, because I knew what I was and wasn't looking for.

    Cons

    There is no opportunity for growth unless you're in sales. The CEO came right out and said that to the whole production department "If you want to move up and make money here, you have to move to sales" "I can't pay you more, that's just the rules of the game"

    The pay is very low and raises are slim to none. If you worked in my department you wouldn't get a raise until you've been there for 3 years. Most people I knew worked two jobs!

    Time off was a nightmare. You gained very little and if you had a doctors appointment, you better plan on coming in early or staying late to make up that time.

    There is no respect for the production team, I will quote the CEO again "I could freelance these nonsense jobs.. err I mean it would be nonsense to freelance these jobs" That one really stuck with people

    You're a pair of hands to the clients. There is no back and forth, no face to face time and rarely phone calls to clients. If they didn't like something you did, you don't have a chance to explain to them why you did it and why it was beneficial. Management will say to just do what the client wants, because they don't want to loose them or their potential positive review.

    For a creative department, it was more focused on quantity than quality. Every week we had to enter our numbers of what we have produced. Don't exceed your number too often or they will raise them and you will get in trouble when they're not met.

    Advice to Management

    To the general managers: Keep fighting for your employees to higher ups, it is appreciated. Stand your ground and find your voice. Hire more knowledgable people and don't rely on freelances and use the skills of your employees, that's why you have them!

    To the CEO: Respect every employee. Stop looking at them like dollar signs. Stop firing people to just make an example of someone. Pay production more. Choose your words wisely in meetings. Don't make rash decisions based on your constant anger. Pay production more and respect production more. Show me the rule that says you can't pay production employees more than you are. Show me your play book.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Believe the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Rochester, NY
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGI Communications full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Making friends with the other inmates

    Cons

    If CGI cared about their employees half as much as they cared about their reviews it would be a great company. However that is not the case.
    I worked at CGI for 7 years and over that time I was yelled at on consistent basis, had my job threatened multiple times, ridiculed and even harassed.
    A normal day would consist of daily 7:30am or 8am meetings where you would pray you didnt get called on to give your "presentation" in front of all of your peers. After the group shaming was over you would be sent to your cube to "smile and dial" .
    If you left a 5pm you would be looked at funny because management would say you're not committed.
    When you traveled for CGI, you had to stay in the worst hotels rooms that cost under $80/ night. Worst part was you were allowed to expense a whole $20 on food for the ENTIRE day!!
    They structure your pay so that you have a "higher salary" of 50k and then they put you on a draw so it impossible to make commission. But then they tell you that "no other companies in Rochester pay that"
    There is so much more I could say but I want this review to get posted so I will leave it at that.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being lap dogs and find a voice. You know what goes on there is not right. SAY SOMETHING ABOUT IT AND STOP BEING YES MEN!!


  4. "Fantastic Rochester Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work environment with driven employees

    Cons

    Not many cons to be stated

    Advice to Management

    Continue to expand on opportunities for workers to learn new applicable skills

    CGI Communications Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass your advice along to management! Please feel free to bring any thoughts or ideas you might have up to your direct... More


  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time

    Pros

    This company is true to it's mark. Everyone in the office is very friednly and easy to adjust if your new.

    Cons

    More geared towards young workers.

    CGI Communications Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Recruiter

    We appreciate you taking some time to share your feedback, and hope you find your own path to success here! We do have young, fresh out of college employees, but we also have a great number of... More


  6. "Blessed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is an organization that walks the talk. I’ve worked in Sales for 4 years after I graduated college, and this is the first company I have felt TRULY valued as a person and an employee. CGI goes above and beyond training their employees. I feel at home here, blessed beyond belief because in a world where many change jobs/careers often, I can see myself a part of this organization for 10+ years.

    Cons

    There can be swift changes in new ideas and directions on our focus for the future, sometimes it can be confusing.

    Advice to Management

    I absolutely love our culture-centric and employee-centric values, it reflects in our overall growth and performance. Let’s keep if going!

    CGI Communications Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Recruiter

    "I feel at home here," is one of the best compliments a company can receive from an employee. Thank you for giving CGI a shot, and for realizing the opportunities we provide for all that they are. We... More


  7. "I love my job - and I actually mean it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Rochester, NY
    Current Employee - Sales in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Young and energetic atmosphere, relevant and evolving product lines, high salary potential, and true opportunities for promotion.
    I have been able to payoff student loans, advance in the company with two promotions, and have a great social life, all while owning my own home. Not many 25 year olds are able to say any of those things, and I’m proud to be able to say that CGI has given me the opportunity to be where I am today.

    Cons

    Hard work and the stress of continuing to work hard and at a high level. This type of environment keeps you sharp and constantly growing.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the longstanding (senior) employees at the company are not as willing, or eager enough, to have management roles. On the contrary, many of their younger counterparts do have those qualities. I guess I am saying do not overlook the younger/less experienced employees for promotion and management opportunities due to less time within the company.

  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Rochester, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Personal growth, company vision, atmosphere, product development, employee appreciation, compensation, and flexibility.

    Cons

    With so many avenues technology is opening up it brings excitement and curiosity to companies in this realm. I trust management to make the best decisions for the company, but in the online marketing industry there are some heavy hitters that can change the game overnight regardless of how it would impact companies like us.

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep new product lines and company development such a secret. Some mid level employees around here are brilliant and see things you guys might miss.

    CGI Communications Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Recruiter

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts! We agree, the constant change and evolution that our industry sees day in and day out is very exciting. Your suggestions will be passed along... More


  9. "CGI COMMUNICATION IS A GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity for Advancement
    Competitive Salary
    Good Senior Management
    Bonus's available if you surpass quota's
    Good Sales Training

    Cons

    No Cons. Its a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    CGI Communications Response

    Jul 10, 2018 – Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us! We work hard to provide an environment where employees can find endless opportunities for success, and we hope you find just that!


  10. "Interview Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Rochester, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CGI Communications full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The tour and interview with CGI was nothing short of amazing. I have conducted many interviews and gone through many interviews myself. And by far, this was the most comfortable and exciting environment I have ever been around. From the door man at the elevator, to the receptionist, to the CEO, the second you walk through the doors you can literally feel their success. It was an experience unlike any I have had in over 20 years in sales. If you’re even considering a change of companies...ask(beg if you have to) for an interview with this fine company. This company is absolutely amazing. But the most exciting part is that they don’t believe they are even close to their full potential. That is super exciting to hear from a professional salesman’s perspective. It is an environment I will feel blessed to call home for many years to come.

    Cons

    I was able to see almost every department of the company. And while I am not yet qualified to speak of any cons, what I can say is that nothing was hidden. While meeting more than 15 people with the company in different departments, they were not only happy, but very transparent and willing to help. Which to me was extremely refreshing in today’s “me first” business climate. I can honestly say I learned something new from each individual I met no matter the department. Will this position be easy? Probably not, and I hope it’s not. These people are special, and it’s obvious they give you every tool to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic work and thank you so much for an amazing opportunity for me and my son.

    CGI Communications Response

    Jun 20, 2018 – Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your enthusiastic words! Your excitement is harmonious with the direction CGI is heading in. The future is indeed bright, and we are happy that you are going to endure the... More


Showing 190 of 193 reviews
Reset Filters