CGN Global Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

CGN Global Consultant Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
CGN Global President & Founding Partner  Seshadri Guha
Seshadri Guha
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good Place to Grow Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - There are challenging projects and very smart team members - Provides great experience and some chance for professional development - A lot of opportunity to bring your ideas forward and make change

    Cons

    - Inconsistent leadership starts internal initiatives but does not follow through - Work/life balance can be challenging while working on projects with tight timelines

    CGN Global2019-11-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to build your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s easy to connect with everyone. As a small firm you have the ability to own your career and development

    Cons

    Onboarding can be improved. Give new employees a few days to get acclimated before immediately assigning them to a project. Travel is consistent with typical consulting companies

    Advice to Management

    Delegate strategic projects to younger leaders. Be more consistent events and networking opportunities.

    CGN Global2019-11-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Positive and Educational Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Summer Consulting in Chicago, IL

    I worked at CGN Global for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to learn a lot in a short amount of time

    Cons

    Very small Chicago office, so not too much face to face interactions

    CGN Global2019-11-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Team to work

    Cons

    Not great pay masters and no value for educational qualifications

    CGN Global2019-09-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Pay cuts are very common. I have witnessed 4 so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to call yourself a management consultant. You receive a paycheck regularly. Office is in downtown Chicago

    Cons

    There were multiple rounds of pay cuts in 2011 - 2013. Because CGN is a firm that is incapable of learning from their mistakes, there were 2 rounds of pay cuts in 2016! Ask any one who has worked during this time frame at CGN to get an inside scoop. Management may deny on the response to this review but my pay slip speaks the truth. :) CGN does not offer any training or internal/ external courses and certifications. There is no HR staff in the Chicago office. Annual appraisals are conducted only by the reporting manager. You have no room to negotiate the outcome. CGN Global still has majority of its revenues from one client. The CEO and senior partners have made empty promises to me and when I emailed and called them multiple times to take action, he failed to respond. What cowards! Dirty politics. The longer you stay at CGN Global, the more obsolete you get. Get out while you still can. It is likely that pay cuts are around the corner

    Show More
    CGN Global2019-07-14
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Tons of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There was a lot of opportunity to learn quick and fast. Family-like work environment. Was able to work with a bunch of very smart people both internally and client facing.

    Cons

    No direction from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Diversify. Need to have more transparency within the different levels of management.

    CGN Global2019-05-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for.

    Cons

    it is a Cyclical business.

    Advice to Management

    diversify

    CGN Global2019-04-18
  8. "Overview of Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global for less than a year

    Pros

    Flat Organization. Everyone is willing to help new interns. Able to learn a lot if you reach out.

    Cons

    Interns usually can not travel to the client site

    CGN Global2018-09-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CGN Global for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and work challenging work.

    Cons

    None, I really enjoyed my time there.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in marketing.

    CGN Global2018-09-05
  10. "Senior consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Peoria, IL

    I worked at CGN Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can face real critical supply chain issues

    Cons

    Give some training to new joins

    CGN Global2018-01-09
Found 43 reviews