KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CH2M

Part of Jacobs
Is this your company?

CH2M

Add a Review

CH2M Employee Reviews about "ch2m hill"

Updated Mar 27, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 of over 1,290 reviews

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
468 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people were great to work with and helped you grow and realize your potential based on where you wanted to go.(in 128 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good and they offer 401K.(in 79 reviews)
  • "There was good pay and they do interesting work.(in 39 reviews)
  • "good work life balance if you are in the right group and most groups are great.(in 36 reviews)
  • "As a whole, the corporate culture and policies are good and innovation is encouraged and rewarded.(in 30 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of CH2M and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "ch2m hill"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Co-op at CH2M

    Feb 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for CH2M as a co-op was a great experience. I got to shadow full time professional engineers on various projects and directly communicated with clients. If you want a great learning environment and a friendly, personable coworker experience, CH2M Hill is the way to go!

    Cons

    Although there were many positives about this position and this company, the only downside would be the degree of work that was assigned to someone in my position. Understandably so, a co-op student who has not graduated from a university yet can only do a limited amount of work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    CH2M Response

    Global Future Talent Manager, Americas

    Thank you for choosing CH for your co-op and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. We pride ourselves on investing in student talent and will take to heart your comments around work assignments as our ultimate goal is to expose students to as much as we can in your time with us that complements your degree studies. Our Global Summer Internship Program is continually ranked as one of the best in the Engineering/Tech fields and we thank students like you who join us and also help us to get better by providing constructive feedback.

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Profit margin and bottom line is their greatest concern

    Mar 27, 2017 - HVAC Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I worked with were generally very good people

    Cons

    When I first started with CH2M Hill (WE were Lockwood Greene and CH2M Hill bought us) it seemed like I great place to work. Then the last of the founders retired and things went down hill. Profit margin became the most important thing and if you were not 100% billable you were out. Loyalty to employees became a joke. It was good and now I'm glad I'm out.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Long time employee

    Oct 30, 2016 -  in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people. The people. The people. Some of the finest minds and dedicated individuals around. Most everyone just wants to do what is right for the clients.

    Cons

    As all consulting firms, CH2M Hill sells hours, not things. If you're not charging to a client, you're costing the company overhead dollars. The stress to be billable can be hard on a person.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    average

    Jan 13, 2016 - Construction Coordinator in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    intel was a great place to work

    Cons

    when intel did not have work, ch2m hill had no work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Less, Less, Less...

    Aug 25, 2015 - Senior Designer V in Corvallis, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paycheck is steady. From a worms eye view, we are lucky to have a job.

    Cons

    The CH2M Hill board members appear to only be looking out for themselves and their bank accounts. After working for this company for over 20 years there has been the slow decline of a once great company to work for. Employees used to have 100% paid health benefits, REAL bonuses, REAL raises, a paid 1 month sabbatical every 7 years. Bonuses used to be minimum 13th month (a full extra month paycheck), now we get a $50 Applebees gift card once a year if we're lucky. Defined 401k employee stock contributions were eliminated and our matching contributions are now reduced for the first time ever (we are getting around 50% matching this year). Raises for longtime employess are far less than cost of living averaging around 1-2%. Our pension plan was eliminated. Less, Less, Less... The management simply does not value its assets which are it's employees. Longevity and seniority mean absolutely nothing whatsoever. Hard work is rarely if ever rewarded or publicly recognized. The disparity between the board member's compensation and the average employee for a "company owned" corporation is 1000 fold. New board members are awarded 25,000 shares to start with. The average long term employee has less than 3,000 shares after 15-20 years. And it would take 13 years for an average employee to match the first year's salary of a newly appointed board member. There is also a massive gap in board member male/female management salary equity. Previous male board members have had a 2-3x compensation package over female board members with longer company history. So either there is a massive inequity among the sexes at the companies highest level or severe corruption of company policies. Simply put, our senior management does not promote a positive example for the rest of us to follow. Talk is cheap, but when it comes down to it, their actions do not match their words. Just look at the difference between board member compensation and ours. Non-employee board members make more than high level employees for attending a few dozen meetings a year. The founders of CH2M Hill are likely rolling over in their graves. They walked among us just like anyone else and treated us as equals. Encouraging us and living a real work example. And they appreciated our work and paid us for it and rewarded our extra efforts graciously and often.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful

    CH2M Response

    Company Representative

    Hello, first let us thank you for being part of our team for over 20 years. We appreciate your feedback. We want to reassure you that we do value our employees – they are a crucial part of our team! That said, we do hear the points you bring up about compensation and benefits. We will share your review with the management team.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Not sure where Company is heading

    Apr 23, 2015 -  in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CH2M Hill was a great place to work when I first started back in 1988. I worked for them and with them for 20 years.

    Cons

    From my experience and from even working with them today as a client, CH2M Hill isnt the place it used to be. I am very disappointed with the name/logo change. CH2M Hill always represented the founders names. "Cornell, Howland, Hayes, Maryfield and Hill" Not sure of why you dropped Hill and made the logo lowercase. To me this shows disrespect to the founders. Guess Jacqueline Hinman, thinks her photo as large as it is on the "who we are page" is more important than the history of the Company and the folks that made the company who it is, or was. After the last stock plummet, not sure if this is where I want to be invested anymore.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Jan 2, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CH2M HILL is a great place to work. Friendly environment and they are taking care of people very good. I have the best supervisor ever.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain. Government is one of our biggest client, because of that we need to follow all the tedious and complicated regulation.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Used to be a great place to work

    Dec 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I first worked at CH2M Hill it was one of the best companies I had ever worked for. They treated their employees well and focused on the Yellow Book values from the founders of the company. I worked with a great group of people with flexible hours and a laid back environment.

    Cons

    With the past 2 CEO changes the company has changed a lot. The empoyee focused environment doesn't really exist anymore, it became more like any other company. They pushed back raises to start in April instead of January several years ago. The raises were never very good, 2-3% for a top performer. Several years ago they donated the money set aside for the holiday party to a charity, and the company never had another holiday party after that year.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Human Resources in an Engineering Company

    Sep 12, 2014 - Senior Human Resources Specialist in Bellevue, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Transferred in from a smaller CH2M Hill office in Tennessee. Definitely higher level of energy and flexibility required. Good benefits, committed to continued learning, good opportunities for advancement. Reasonable work-life balance depending on project work cycle. Ethical and fair. Really a great place to work.

    Cons

    The project is all. Managers worked to help employees with work-life balance but also an expectation to complete the work within client time-line and that can mean longer hours. Not outrageous, though.

    1 person found this review helpful

    CH2M Response

    Company Representative

    We’re always happy to hear working at CH2M HILL is rewarding for employees and are especially glad to you’re enjoying the learning and career opportunities we provide. We read every review and also want you to know that your comments about long hours were noted. Thanks for your review.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Potential to be Great!

    Sep 8, 2014 - Proposal Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having the CH2M HILL name on your resume is an instant industry boost. The firm is well respected within the industry. Opportunities exist to take online training on an ongoing basis. If you work hard/prove your abilities, you may be able to telework from home.

    Cons

    Overhead reductions severely handicap training opportunities (I do mine at lunch to avoid using overhead). Tuition reimbursement is very restricted and, therefore, not so helpful. It's a huge company -- sometimes it makes employees feel like 'just a number'. Rewards and Recognition bonus program is limited by managers who don't always pass along the kudos (whether with or without monetary bonus). It can be difficult to get the office supplies needed due to overhead reductions. Project managers are not always trained thoroughly on processes, and there is a significant lack of 'process' documents to guide projects from pursuit to closeout. Sales staff often do not remain involved in pursuits...there is an air of 'here, take this' and then they are gone. Continuity and consistency are serious challenges lately, and it is trickling down into every department. It can be very difficult to find out proper chains of leadership/management to know who to go to for direction. Human resource, IT, and payroll issues are routed through online or 1-800 type call centers, making it impersonal and challenging to get urgent needs taken care of. There is an expectation that, if your project manager is 24/7/365, you should be, too. Work/life balances are achieved in some offices and not others. There is no consistency from office to office in perks, benefits, communications, expectations, etc. Some of the issues described here are long-standing, and I do believe the current CEO may be working to change them.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    CH2M Response

    Company Representative

    Thank you for taking time to share your comments about CH2M HILL. Thanks for your 10 years of service to our company. Please know we do read and take every review seriously. It's our goal to make CH2M HILL a great workplace for all of our employees and your comments regarding lack of personal interaction with HR, work-life balance, morale and the need for clearer lines of communications will be forwarded to the appropriate teams and senior management. We would also like to thank you for the vote of confidence to our current CEO.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with CH2M Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

or

CH2M Photos

+ Add Photo
CH2M photo of: The Oakland-San Francisco, Bay Bridge, was 'the office' for some of our team members
CH2M photo of: The Lobby of our London Office
CH2M photo of: CH2M's Toronto staff, friends and families at the Lake Simcoe Conservation Foundation’s restoration day – it was hard work, but a ton of fun!
CH2M photo of: CH2M team at the Qatar Sports Day Cricket Tournament
CH2M photo of: Thames Tideway Tunnel Project Team
CH2M photo of: Some of our Richmond, VA team celebrating our brand update
CH2M photo of: Our team set out to build an administrative facility to provide Bagram Airfield (BAF), Afghanistan with a command and control facility for the Coalition Headquarter
See All Photos