KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CH2M

Part of Jacobs
Is this your company?

CH2M

Add a Review

CH2M Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 1K reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
466 Ratings
Pros
  • "They understand the work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Great people and good diversity(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tool Install Designer

      Oct 7, 2016 - Tool Install Designer in Lehi, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many different locations across US and World Managers willing to help with personal growth Tons of online training available Average to High pay for industry

      Cons

      Working at Client site, projects are unpredicatble so jobs can be short term Bureaucracy of trying to get certain things accomplished Senior Management in Colorado seemed disconnected from our operations.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not as good a company as I thought prior to working for them

      Jul 2, 2019 - Occupational Health and Safety Specialist in Hanford, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got to see the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and the Tri-cities, WA.

      Cons

      Inefficient. Hours started at 5:45 a.m. to 4 or 4:30 p.m. since they work 4-10 hour days. Workers would come dragging in in the dark, tired, which is not good since they worked with dangerous equipment and hazardous waste. The site was very large and quite far from town, yet the extra travel time was not paid for. Mgmt talked about ethics, but their ethics officer did not seem to know what ethics was. Snow days were not compensated. Overworked mgrs. Inconsistent information or poor planning--some would tell us one thing, but someone else would contradict them the next day. Offices were in many trailers across the site. Windy, with dust blowing often. Poor signage, if any--hard to navigate or find a specific trailer. Roads and lots in poor repair, hazardous waste grounds were placed every which way, building fragments may not have been removed completely. Traffic accidents were high, but senior management did not follow through on employee recommendations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was once a great to company to work for

      Jul 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay if you work on their North Slope operations or in senior management. There are some incredible managers who are committed to supporting and mentoring the employees who report to them - unfortunately there are fewer and fewer of these around. Some positions are given the opportunity to telecommute.

      Cons

      Benefits are not the best - especially PTO and Health Insurance. Compensation is all over the board - based more on who you know then on how well you perform - and I say this as a employee who benefited by knowing the right people so I was paid more than my peers for the same job, time on job, and quality of work. The current senior management team has forgotten what made this company great - the employees - and instead concentrate on making decisions that benefit the management team and not the employees (and thus not the company).

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Hello, thank you for sharing your thoughts on management practices. We also think that our employees are the pillars of our company. We strive to maintain an inclusive, collaborative working environment where all of our employees matter. Your suggestions will be taken into consideration as we continually look for improvements.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      On the Decline

      Jun 4, 2016 - Civil Engineer III in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - large firm with a mix of opportunities for young engineers - work-from-home flexibility, good for parents

      Cons

      - Actual office culture is depressing. Coworkers are generally resigned to be there with a few cheerleaders from corporate. Office culture is a nightmare for millienials - stifling, impersonal, unlikely to be resume-building. - Despite a female CEO, company culture is definitely still an old boys club. Career trajectories for minorities and women seem to stagnate once they reach mid-level. Some diversity at lower levels, but select few minorities in senior management or executive positions. - Benefits are not good, very expensive for employees and continue to get cut every year. Bonuses are non-existent for anyone but senior level, and even they didn't get bonuses last year "due to poor company performance." - Company seems to be slowly sinking. Brought in outside investors to fix bad investments in the oil industry. Sacrificing their brand of innovation to bland, low-hanging fruit projects. The notion of "employee-owned" is meaningless at this point and no one wants company stock.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Global Talent Brand Strategist

      Thanks for your feedback. All companies must evolve and adapt to the marketplace and the stakeholders they serve in order to be competitive. To sustain the greater purpose of CH2M as a global company, the company is evolving too. We encourage you to read the 2015 Summary Annual Report, which explains changes that are contributing to our strong sales and backlog and better long-term prospects for our clients, our people and our company. We also invite you to review the FAQs that explain the minority investment by Apollo. Thanks, Matt

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If only I could give negative stars

      Dec 13, 2013 - Information Technology in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice office surroundings, decent pay

      Cons

      I will have to say that in my numerous years in IT, this is likely the worst place I have ever worked, as well as the only job I have ever had to leave in less than a year. As with most companies, the manager can make or break the job. I was shocked at the amount of favoritism given to long term employees and those who know how to bs with the "boss." New team members are never given the chance to make an impact on the team or shown any appreciation for their work. Work/Life balance is non existent as employees and contractors alike are expected to work 50 plus hours routinely per week, with no chance for flex time or working from home. In addition, senior management does not condone employees talking to them if they have any issues. Strange, I thought the open door policy was just common sense in today's workplace? Many of my fellow employees were dangerously physically and emotionally drained. If you care about your health, family or your mental well being, DO NOT take a job at CH2M!!!!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We are sorry that your experience with the company was not a positive one; however, we do appreciate the time you took to review CH2M HILL. We will send your feedback to Senior Management.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Past Employee

      Dec 9, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work with. Strong talented staff makes the difference as support from management is fleeting. As a simply number to management they are more concerned with themselves than the client projects. But if you can survive on an island working only with the folks around you, you can have fun here. Good work hours as you put in your time and leave.

      Cons

      each employee is simply a number to the firm. little care as to how the employees feel or think. What makes the senior leadership look good is the only concern nor the welfare of the employees and staff. If senior management looks good, regardless if it requires selling out staff, then everything must be perfect.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on being a company that puts our employees first. We strive to recognize each of our team members for their hard work and dedication to each of our projects. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company - Fell on Hard Times

      Apr 22, 2010 -  in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and benefits package were above average Mature company with defined processes, policies and procedures

      Cons

      Work life balance needs to be improved Need to recognize and replace poor management earlier communication between senior management and worker level needs to be improved

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Falling apart

      Feb 14, 2017 - Vice Pesient 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people who want to do their best. Staff is absolutely committed to it's clients. Not only do staff want to do their best, but they are absolutely many of the best in the world in their respective disciplines. There is no doubt about this.

      Cons

      The CEO and senior management team have changed the heart and soul of the company. The new structure is really an EPC model that marginalizes the value of people and their relationships with clients and each other. Management says the opposite but that's just them trying to put a good spin on the restructure. Senior management is simply too far away from actually serving our clients and have followed the advice and direction from a relative newcomer to CH2M to lead BD activities and take her direction in restructuring the company to look like Jacobs. Unfortunately, Jacobs is principally an EPC firm not a consulting firm like CH. Senior leadership stresses how our restructuring is leading the market and the CH is the only firm using this new model. There's a good reason that no other consulting company follows this model. It's not new - it's just the wrong model for a consulting business. As a result of these changes, many top technical staff and managers have left and many, many more are weeks to a couple of months away from leaving. Leadership was "surprised" to see folks leaving in droves - literally. If our leadership really understood our clients and our business, this shouldn't have been a surprise to anyone.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      GE program went from good to bad very fast.....

      Aug 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are really fun and knowledgable. Decent pay for an easy job.

      Cons

      Where do I start? Everyone besides senior management are miserable. This program has had 17 out of 60 people leave in 2015 alone. There are probably 10 more trying to leave and actively interviewing. Employee morale is at an all time low and everyone knows it. Rumors fly around on a daily basis and numerous employees talk of walking out every day. There are talks of imposing a mandatory 50 hr work week in order to get work done. Process and policy changes are made constantly and with no collaboration with other departments, causing a backlog of work and confused employees.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Hello, thanks for sharing your thoughts regarding the workplace morale in Cincinnati with us. We are working very hard in trying to accommodate our team members’ needs throughout the company. We’ve heard your suggestions on process and policy development, and we’ll share these comments with the appropriate team.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Less, Less, Less...

      Aug 25, 2015 - Senior Designer V in Corvallis, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paycheck is steady. From a worms eye view, we are lucky to have a job.

      Cons

      The CH2M Hill board members appear to only be looking out for themselves and their bank accounts. After working for this company for over 20 years there has been the slow decline of a once great company to work for. Employees used to have 100% paid health benefits, REAL bonuses, REAL raises, a paid 1 month sabbatical every 7 years. Bonuses used to be minimum 13th month (a full extra month paycheck), now we get a $50 Applebees gift card once a year if we're lucky. Defined 401k employee stock contributions were eliminated and our matching contributions are now reduced for the first time ever (we are getting around 50% matching this year). Raises for longtime employess are far less than cost of living averaging around 1-2%. Our pension plan was eliminated. Less, Less, Less... The management simply does not value its assets which are it's employees. Longevity and seniority mean absolutely nothing whatsoever. Hard work is rarely if ever rewarded or publicly recognized. The disparity between the board member's compensation and the average employee for a "company owned" corporation is 1000 fold. New board members are awarded 25,000 shares to start with. The average long term employee has less than 3,000 shares after 15-20 years. And it would take 13 years for an average employee to match the first year's salary of a newly appointed board member. There is also a massive gap in board member male/female management salary equity. Previous male board members have had a 2-3x compensation package over female board members with longer company history. So either there is a massive inequity among the sexes at the companies highest level or severe corruption of company policies. Simply put, our senior management does not promote a positive example for the rest of us to follow. Talk is cheap, but when it comes down to it, their actions do not match their words. Just look at the difference between board member compensation and ours. Non-employee board members make more than high level employees for attending a few dozen meetings a year. The founders of CH2M Hill are likely rolling over in their graves. They walked among us just like anyone else and treated us as equals. Encouraging us and living a real work example. And they appreciated our work and paid us for it and rewarded our extra efforts graciously and often.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful

      CH2M Response

      Company Representative

      Hello, first let us thank you for being part of our team for over 20 years. We appreciate your feedback. We want to reassure you that we do value our employees – they are a crucial part of our team! That said, we do hear the points you bring up about compensation and benefits. We will share your review with the management team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CH2M Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CH2M? Share Your Experiences

    CH2M logo
    or