CH2M "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

CH2M Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 28, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
463 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Traffic accidents were high, but senior management did not follow through on employee recommendations(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Rochelle, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, room for advancement. People willing to help new employees.

    Cons

    Need a little better communication from upper management.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-10-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "CH2M- GE Facilities Services Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A working model of a dysfunctional office where you can learn what type of management to stay away from in your future career.

    Cons

    • Middle management has created a culture of negativity, intimidation, and miscommunication, supported by cronyism and division between employees. • Upper management supports middle management while “working from home” with no clue of the office’s problems, processes or morale, waiting for their next promotion to get them away from this program. • Management is reactionary, with frequent strategy and process changes on non-fact-based whim. • There is high turnover with no training or system of recognition to retain talent. This creates overwhelming workload for the remaining team. • Management has favorites. If you are not in this group, you will be rewarded with this additional, less desirable workload. • Managers sulk, lock themselves in their office and refuse to talk to subordinates after receiving poor performance reviews. • Managers start some meetings with statements such as, “If any of this gets out of this room, you will be terminated.” And end some meetings with statements such as, “And if you don’t like it, you should leave.” • Overall, the opposite of continuous improvement.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-12-27
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Lab Analyst / Administrative Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    OMI was a great company to work for ... before OMI was incorporated into the CH2M fold then it all started going downhill.

    Cons

    No sick leave, lousy raises, the management and staff were totally separate and nearly any or all perks were for the upper management. I could go on ...

    CH2M2017-11-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Technically experienced staff. Challenging and fun projects. Compassionate colleagues.

    Cons

    Negligible mentoring and career development. Client connections and/or being well-connected to someone in upper management seem to be requirements to career advancement. If you are light on work, you are expected to 'donate' your time.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-07-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, CO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of good people and interesting projects.

    Cons

    Disorganized upper management and a few bad projects.

    CH2M2017-03-08
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Once Strong Company Now Struggling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great people to work with Good clients High profile projects Above average pay for my area Good benefits Company founders had a vision that worked well for the first 50 years Previous great company culture

    Cons

    Some middle and upper management promoted beyond skill level Company culture moved from people centered to profit centered Former CEO mismanaged the firm Current CEO seems to be in over her head and doesn't know what to do, hence the multiple reorganizations during her short time in charge Reorganizations every 12-24 months for past decade Lack of clear communication Asking overloaded employees to take on additional work after re-orgs and layoffs Employee bonus/reward/evaluation system is broke

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-02-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The employees at CH2M are excellent. They are smart, friendly and great to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management feels out of touch with how we do business.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-02-01
  8. Helpful (19)

    "Messy and confused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Englewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance - I was able to work from home

    Cons

    Upper management has no clue what is happening with employees or their career growth. They are asking managers to do their day job which is 60+ hours a week and also manage huge teams.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-01-10
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be a great company to work for but not anymore. Occasionally has some interesting and challenging projects Very average compensation and benefits

    Cons

    Very poor profitability due to extremely bloated corporate structure and complicated, archaic, and byzantine internal processes to pursue and book new projects. These processes make it extremely difficult to be competitive with smaller and more nimble competitors. Numerous corporate restructuring efforts that simply shuffle the same upper management around into different org charts with no real changes in operating model. Pays out 401k company match funds in CH2M stock that cannot be sold readily as no one in their right mind will buy it.

    CH2M2016-12-01

    CH2M Response

    April 5, 2017Content Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! Our complex internal processes are one of the main reasons that we’ve transitioned to a new Client-centric Operating Model. By organizing around our clients and by flattening the organization, we’re making things simpler. The Client-centric Operating Model also enables us to better focus on our ultimate goal: solving our clients’ toughest challenges and making a difference in our communities and across the globe. We’re already starting to see signs that it’s working! We hope you’ll consider joining us again someday.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Sad Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not many... The office manager and most all of the folks left here are quality people.

    Cons

    Little work coming in, all of our production work is to be outsourced to Poland or other offices as they have gutted our production capabilities with major layoffs (long term core staff were released). CEO and upper management are disorganized and to busy with inter office videos and little "booklets" to get work. We have monthly reorg charts. Not good.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2016-11-18

    CH2M Response

    April 5, 2017Content Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. We hope you’ll listen to our recording of the Q3 Stockholder Call, where we reported a healthy backlog of $9 billion. We are continuing to win work with our key clients – proof that our Client-centric strategy is working. We also know that to sustain a healthy business, we must be efficient and cost-competitive. We’re focusing our design efforts in strategically located design centers in the US and across the globe, allowing us to achieve greater standardization and consistency, which benefit our clients. We also hope you’ll speak to your manager and actively go after broader opportunities across CH2M. There are many active job postings in our database. This, and our ever-accelerating pace of contracted wins, all point to excellent growth prospects this year and next.

    Continue reading
Found 44 reviews
</>Embed