CHI St. Alexius Health Reviews | Glassdoor

CHI St. Alexius Health Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
CHI St. Alexius Health CEO Kurt Schley (no image)
Kurt Schley
7 Ratings
  1. "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management are flexible to your needs and schedule.

    Cons

    They cost cut with Environmental Services so most of the time its dusty and floors are dirty.

    CHI St. Alexius Health2019-07-21
  2. "over all, good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Williston, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co workers Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Low pay considering the high cost of living in the area

    Advice to Management

    Hire more permanent staff.

    CHI St. Alexius Health2019-04-13
  3. "Make the difficult changes and move forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bismarck, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CHI St. Alexius Health full-time

    Pros

    Generally nice people to work with. The good people are being beaten down. They can only take so much. Grapevine says performance of hospital is not good.

    Cons

    Upper management (non clinical) is weak. Acted arrogant and “above it all.”

    Advice to Management

    Top management needs a fresh start. Keep the decent ones and clean house of the others who are not good nor respected. Not making a decision is a decision itself. I was a lowly employee and my bosses boss never said hello to me and acted like I did not exist.

    CHI St. Alexius Health2019-01-23
  4. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health full-time

    Pros

    Has a good, friendly work environment.

    Cons

    The starting wage is on the lower end.

    CHI St. Alexius Health2019-01-03
  5. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Bismarck, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CHI St. Alexius Health part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has a nice cafe, thats all.

    Cons

    Since CHI took over, patient safety plunged. Do not care about employees or their voice

    CHI St. Alexius Health2018-12-08
  6. "Registered Nurse, Charge Emergency Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health full-time

    Pros

    Local hospital, small community, friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Poor compensation, struggling with staffing

    Advice to Management

    Compensatethw employees you have and you will retain staff to fix the staffing shortage

    CHI St. Alexius Health2018-06-14
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health for less than a year

    Pros

    great coworkers and friendly work environment

    Cons

    significant amount of change within organization to fall in line with CHI policy and protocols

    CHI St. Alexius Health2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "We were much better off before CHI bought out St. Alexius"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the best docs, nurses, and CNA's work here. Work hours are flexible. You can wear any kind of scrubs you want. You get to meet lots of new people every day and provide care to all kinds of patients. A fast paced environment where you get to see new things every day.

    Cons

    Ever since we went corporate and CHI took over, the quality hasn't been as good as before. In order to "save money" they cut employee wages and laid off a bunch of people, while at the same time spending money on new computer programs and other things that weren't a priority. More people are quitting than are being hired, and they are not advertising for any job openings, even though we so desperately need more... nurses and CNA's to replace the ones we've lost. Also, they take FOREVER with the hiring process; you literally have to call HR every day until you get results, otherwise they will never get back to you. Probably another sneaky thing they do to "save money."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Do not cut employee wages just to "cut costs." There are other ways to do it that do not garnish the wages of those who are already struggling to make ends meet. We deserve every penny back that you took from us, if not more. 2. Speed up the hiring process and post job advertisements. If you are going to drive employees away by cutting their wages, at least replace them in a timely fashion. It is unprofessional... to make people wait so long to hear back, or not hear back at all. 3. Don't spend money on useless items that aren't a priority. All this talk of cutting costs, and we find that you spend money on needless items, such as new computer programs, new food packaging in the kitchen, and new thermometers (when the other ones work just fine.) Here's a hint: let's cut out this spending and leave employee paychecks and benefits alone, and I guarantee you'll save more money that way!

    Show More
    CHI St. Alexius Health2018-03-13
  9. "Good paying job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse Aid in Turtle Lake, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CHI St. Alexius Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making a difference with people

    Cons

    not so good work environment

    CHI St. Alexius Health2017-09-28
  10. "Easy Part-Time Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CHI St. Alexius Health part-time

    Pros

    Close location to populated city, easy hours, minimum labor

    Cons

    Biased management, lack of hours, tenure matters too much

    Advice to Management

    Listen to work force, don't let employees have too much influence

    CHI St. Alexius Health2017-09-14
Found 28 reviews