CIBC Wood Gundy Reviews | Glassdoor

CIBC Wood Gundy Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CIBC Wood Gundy CEO Victor G. Dodig
Victor G. Dodig
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fat cat IAs get fatter and new hires starve despite more knowledge, competency and credentials(in 3 reviews)

  • "Low pay coupled with the often stressful environment was not worth it for me(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Program coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CIBC Wood Gundy full-time

    Pros

    great place to work definitely

    Cons

    a lot of reorg can happen unexpectedly

    CIBC Wood Gundy2015-08-19
  2. "Overall Great Place To Wrok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Wood Gundy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of room to grow within the corporation, education covered by the firm if wanting to better yourself, close teams within the IA makes for a family environment

    Cons

    Pay Structure in terms of CIBC needs work on, pay from a high paying IA is great however. Technology systems should be updated and work on work life balance addressed and promoted more.

    Advice to Management

    work on promoting work life balance, flex hours etc. fight for staff to have higher base salary compensation as some IAs may not make as much / be as generous, shouldn't be that much of a GAP increase job level to reflect credentials not job title

    CIBC Wood Gundy2019-07-04
  3. "Friendly and Helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Summer Intern 

    I worked at CIBC Wood Gundy

    Pros

    - everyone in the office makes an effort to get to know you even if you are here for a short period of time like I was (4 months) - Open-door policy is always in effect

    Cons

    no real downsides during my time at CIBC WG

    CIBC Wood Gundy2019-06-28
  4. "My Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Risk Effectiveness Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Wood Gundy for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable environment, independent work, easy commute.

    Cons

    Work interesting at first, but then started to get very repetitive relatively quickly. No end in sight for the tasked project. Would be lucky to be a part of multiple projects at once.

    CIBC Wood Gundy2019-07-05
  5. "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CIBC Wood Gundy for less than a year

    Pros

    + Company makes concerted effort to promote a creative environment where creative solutions are welcomed (RARE) . Very nice that it's not a boring corporate culture, rather a place where ideas are encouraged! + Learning a lot about CIBC products and offerings. Interesting employee perks (contests, performance awards, etc.) + Very supportive and positive online corporate environment. (Inter-office Facebook system was...

    Show More

    Cons

    + Online Corporate culture was a stark contrast to the real world office environment, at least where I was stationed. Unfortunately leadership was often negative. Yelling by manager could be heard often whenever an issue arose, making concentration on work difficult. Leadership snapping at employees who offered calm reasonable solutions. + Staff / Management under-prepared for autistic employees (such as myself). Judgement...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Despite my experience, I believe that CIBC does have a great working culture! The company has proven time and again that it is willing to listen and learn, which is incredibly rare. My list of Con's is in reference to what I believe is an anomoly in the corporate structure, not the norm. Just keep going! :)

    CIBC Wood Gundy2019-06-06
  6. "IA role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Wood Gundy full-time

    Pros

    Good people at the firm.

    Cons

    Compensation model needs to change. Fat cat IAs get fatter and new hires starve despite more knowledge, competency and credentials.

    Advice to Management

    make IAs salary based with incentive based bonus

    CIBC Wood Gundy2019-04-29
  7. "Review of company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Wood Gundy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No downsides to this company

    CIBC Wood Gundy2019-04-11
  8. "Senior Branch Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC Wood Gundy full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, dynamic, and a great place to learn skills and the industry

    Cons

    Tough industry, workload is heavy, constant change due to external factors and regulation.

    Advice to Management

    None

    CIBC Wood Gundy2018-10-28
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CIBC Wood Gundy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, exciting, challenging, potential to become Advisor with add'l securities courses

    Cons

    Lots of compliance & regulations, could be stressful

    Advice to Management

    Stay engaged with staff

    CIBC Wood Gundy2018-08-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A very satisfying job with a team that compensated well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CIBC Wood Gundy for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Roles are flexible and highly diverse. Every team has a certain level of autonomy to conduct business their own way within corporate guidelines. This allows for growth and room to try different things. Compensation can be very good if you work for a high producing team (revenues)

    Cons

    Corporate culture is not for everyone. This is a heavily regulated industry which makes a lot of tasks very tedious. Also compensation at the base level is low. If you work for a junior advisor or a lower producing team, your income will be impacted.

    Advice to Management

    The Big Banks are very oldschool in a lot of their processes which I believe creates a generational gap. The expectations nowadays is for convenience and ease of access/use. The onboarding experience here I believe is outdated and tedious. Same with account reporting and online access.

    CIBC Wood Gundy2018-06-27
Found 54 reviews